Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
In the Library's collections
Books about Television follow those on Radio in the stacks. These subject headings and call numbers will lead you to most of the books about Television and Television broadcasting in the collection.
- televisionBooks about what is actually broadcast, the history and criticism are shelved in PN 1992 through PN 1992.925 on Baker Level 4.
- television broadcastingBooks on the Television broadcasting industry are in the call number range HE 8700 through HE 8700.9 on Berry Level 3.
- "television studies"This is a keyword search.
Introductory reading(s)
A companion to television by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.5 .C615 2005ISBN: 9781405100946A Companion to Television is a magisterial collection of 31 original essays that charter the field of television studies over the past century Explores a diverse range of topics and theories that have led to television's current incarnation, and predict its likely future. ...
An introduction to television studies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415598170Publication Date: 3rd ed.In this comprehensive textbook Jonathan Bignell provides students with a framework for understanding the key concepts and main approaches to Television Studies, including audience research, television history and broadcasting policy, and the analytical study of individual programmes. ...
The SAGE handbook of television studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.5 .S24 2015ISBN: 9780761947417Bringing together a truly international spread of contributors from across the UK, US, South America, Mexico and Australia, this Handbook charts the field of television studies from issues of ownership and regulation through to reception and consumption. ...
A study of modern television: thinking inside the box by Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.4 .C75 2006ISBN: 9780333964095This essential text provides an account of the complex character of modern television. Covering issues ranging from television's historical development to its impact on culture and society in general, the text provides an analysis of television's strengths and limitations. The book's scope and clarity make it ideal for all media students.
The television reader: critical perspectives in Canadian and US television studies by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.3 .C3 T44 2012ISBN: 9780195446876Filled with exciting, contemporary readings from top Canadian and American scholars, this comprehensive overview of critical perspectives in television studies tunes students in to the many economic, social, political, and technological influences that shape television production and consumption on both sides of the border.
Television studies: a short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781509531790Publication Date: 2nd ed.Television Studies provides an overview of the origins, central ideas, and intellectual traditions of this exciting field. What have been the primary areas of inquiry in television studies? Why and how did these areas develop? How have scholars studied them? How are they developing? What have been the discipline's key works? This book answers these questions by tracing the history of television studies right up to the digital present, surveying emerging scholarship, and addressing new questions about the field's relationship with the digital. ...
Television studies: the basics by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.5 .M55 2010ISBN: 9780415774239Television Studies: The Basics is a lively introduction to the study of a powerful medium. It examines the major theories and debates surrounding production and reception over the years and considers both the role and future of television. ...
Tele-visions: an introduction to studying television by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.45 .T45 2006ISBN: 9781844570867Tele-Visions: An Introduction to Studying Television Studies has been specifically designed to offer a comprehensive, authoritative, accessible and lively introduction to the subject of television studies. Written by many of the leading international figures in the field, it covers all the major issues, debates, key terms, histories and methodologies that go to make up this exciting new area of expertise. ...
Selected book title(s)
To see what else is listed in the online catalog, do a subject search for "television."
Cult television by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.5 .C85 2004ISBN: 9780816638307A television series is tagged with the label "cult" by the media, advertisers, and network executives when it is considered edgy or offbeat, when it appeals to nostalgia, or when it is considered emblematic of a particular subculture. By these criteria, almost any series could be described as cult. Yet certain programs exert an uncanny power over their fans, encouraging them to immerse themselves within a fictional world. In Cult Television, leading scholars examine such shows as The X-Files; The Avengers; Doctor Who, Babylon Five; Star Trek; Xena, Warrior Princess; and Buffy the Vampire Slayer to determine the defining characteristics of cult television and map the contours of this phenomenon within the larger scope of popular culture. ...
Filmed television drama, 1952-1958 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.65 .H39 2002ISBN: 9780786411320This work examines the change from live to filmed television dramas during the period 1952-1958 and the characteristics and programs that are most associated with filmed television drama. Along with many technical changes that had to be made in the industry in order to convert live television to filmed television came an interesting social one. ...
From daytime to primetime: the history of American television programs by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.3 .U5 R64 2005ISBN: 9780313319723The 20th century might be accurately described as the television century. Perhaps no technological invention in recent history has so vastly affected the American public. An involving mixture of scholarship and nostalgia, this volume offers an intelligent examination of the many ways that American society has shaped_and been shaped by_television. Roman provides thematic chapters on all of television's major genres. James Roman, author of Love, Light, and a Dream: Television's Past, Present, and Future (Greenwood, 1996), traces the evolution of American television programming from its beginnings as an experimental spinoff of radio broadcasting to its current role as an omnipresent and, some would say, omnipotent force of media and culture.
Nickelodeon nation: the history, politics, and economics of America's only TV channel for kids by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .N55 N53 2004ISBN: 9780814736517Nickelodeon is the highest rated daytime channel in the country, and its cultural influence has grown at an astounding pace. Why are Nickelodeon shows so popular? How are they developed and marketed? And where do they fit in the economic picture of the children's media industry? Nickelodeon Nation, the first major study of the only TV channel just for children, investigates these questions. ...
Bibliographies on Television
A bibliography is a compilation of resources on a topic. The bibliography can be comprehensive or selective. A comprehensive bibliography tries to find every resource on the topic ever produced. A selective one tries to find the most important and informative resources.
For more bibliographies about television, do the following keyword search in the online catalog, "television AND bibliography."
- Black women in television: an illustrated history and bibliography byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .A34 H55 1990
Children and television: fifty years of research by Call Number: Baker-Berry & Jones Media HQ 784 .T4 C512 2007ISBN: 9780805841381This seminal volume is a comprehensive review of the literature on children's television, covering fifty years of academic research on children and television. The work includes studies of content, effects, and policy, and offers research conducted by social scientists and cultural studies scholars. The research questions represented here consider the content of programming, children's responses to television, regulation concerning children's television policies, issues of advertising, and concerns about sex and race stereotyping, often voicing concerns that children's entertainment be held to a higher standard. ...- A comprehensive bibliography of music for film and television byCall Number: Baker-Berry ML 128 .M7 W47 1985ISBN: 9780899900278
- Ethnic and racial images in American film and television: historical essays and bibliography byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z 5784 .M9 W65 1987ISBN: 9780824087333
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.