Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Find New Books on Communication in the Library's Collections
Find new titles about Communication in the library's collections.
Resources in Communication Studies
Here is the Oxford Bibliography Online for Communication and some encyclopedias from the International Communication Association (ICA).
Communication from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The study of communication is a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. The extensive nature of communication means that efforts to study it span multiple epistemologies and methodologies. Also, given the changing media landscape, scholars and professionals must constantly consider new content, technologies, processes and effects, and theories of communication. The overlapping domains of communication make it challenging to stay informed about every applicable area.
Encyclopedia of new media: an essential reference to communication and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780761923824From Amazon.com to virtual communities, the Encyclopedia of New Media presents more than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Each subject is examined in depth in a single, coherent article and the Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive, A-Z reference on the ongoing revolution in communications. ...
The international encyclopedia of communication theory and philosophy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118290736The International Encyclopedia of Communication Theory and Philosophy is the definitive single-source reference work on the subject, with state-of-the-art and in-depth scholarly reflection on key issues from leading international experts. ...
The international encyclopedia of digital communication and society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118290743The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society offers critical assessments of theoretical and applied research on digitally-mediated communication, a central area of study in the 21st century. Unique for its emphasis on digital media and communication and for its use of business and management perspectives, in addition to cultural, developmental, political and sociological perspectives.
The international encyclopedia of interpersonal communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118306055The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication presents a comprehensive overview of the theories, concepts and processes that interpersonal communication researchers use to explain a wide variety of social interaction phenomena.
The international encyclopedia of political communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118290750The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication is the definitive single-source reference work on the subject, with state-of-the-art and in-depth scholarly reflection on the key issues within political communication from leading international experts.
Finding Library Resources
- Communication from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The study of communication is a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. The extensive nature of communication means that efforts to study it span multiple epistemologies and methodologies. Also, given the changing media landscape, scholars and professionals must constantly consider new content, technologies, processes and effects, and theories of communication. The overlapping domains of communication make it challenging to stay informed about every applicable area.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
A dictionary of media and communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198841838Publication Date: 3rd ed.This authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication. This new edition is particularly focused on expanding coverage of social media terms, to reflect its increasing prominence to media and communication studies as a whole. ...
Encyclopedia of communication theory by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. P 87.5 .E496 2009 v. 1-2ISBN: 9781412959377The Encyclopedia of Communication Theory provides students and researchers with a comprehensive two-volume overview of contemporary communication theory. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also meta-theory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts. ...
Media studies and mass communication in International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2nd ed.This links directly to the section on Media Media and Mass Communication.
Books and other items on Communications are generally shelved in P 87 through P 96. Communications within specific subjects are shelved with that subject. Communication as a subject heading covers many subjects. If you do a subject search for Mass media, you will find over 1,900 different items. You can narrow your search by country or place. You can also narrow a search by a specific aspect such as social aspects. Take a look at the list of headings and the narrower search terms. You can also try some of the following subject headings:
- persuasion (rhetoric)The addition of "rhetoric" distinguishes this subject heading from other meanings for "persuasion."
This alert service lets you get the Table of Contents (TOC) from many different journal titles without having to search each one individually. If we have a subscription to that journal, you can get the full text of articles.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Communication? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.