Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Finding Library resources
The call number ranges for Communication in Politics are JF 2112 (Berry Level 4), HE 8700.75 through HE 8700.76 (Berry Level 3) and JA 84 through JA 85 (Berry Level 4). You will find most of these items in Baker/Berry Library on the indicated levels. There may be other relevant material in the Feldberg Business & Engineering Library. Always check the online catalog.
Useful subject headings with which to search the online catalog:
Encyclopedia of political communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412917995Political communication began with the earliest studies of democratic discourse by Aristotle and Plato. However, modern political communication relies on an interdisciplinary base which draws on concepts from communication, political science, journalism, sociology, psychology, history, rhetoric, and others.
Handbook of political communication research by Call Number: Baker-Berry JA 85 .H36 2004ISBN: 9780805837742The Handbook of Political Communication Research is a benchmark volume, defining the most important and significant thrusts of contemporary research and theory in political communication.
The international encyclopedia of political communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118290750The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication is the definitive single-source reference work on the subject, with state-of-the-art and in-depth scholarly reflection on the key issues within political communication from leading international experts.
The Oxford handbook of political communication by Call Number: Baker-Berry JA 85 .P6527 2017ISBN: 9780199793471As a field of rich theoretical development and practical application, political communication has expanded over the past fifty years. Since its development shaped by the turmoil of the World Wars and suspicion of new technologies such as film and radio, the discipline has become a hybrid field largely devoted to connecting the dots between political rhetoric, politicians and leaders, voters' opinions, and media exposure to better understand how any one aspect can affects the others. The Oxford Handbook of Political Communication provides contexts for viewing the field of political communication, examines political discourse, media, and considers political communication's evolution inside the altered political communication landscape. ...
The SAGE handbook of political advertising by Call Number: Baker-Berry JF 2112 .A4 S24 2006ISBN: 9781847874399This authoritative and comprehensive survey of political communication draws together a team of the world's leading scholars to provide a state-of-the-art review that sets the agenda for future study. ...
Campaigning to the new American electorate: advertising to Latino voters by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780804768955Presuming that a strong relationship exists between one's identity and political behavior, American politicians have long targeted immigrant and ethnic communities based on their shared ethnic or racial identity. But to what extent do political campaign messages impact voters' actual decisions and behaviors? This new book is one of the first to examine and compare the campaign efforts used to target Latinos with those directed at the rest of the electorate. Specifically, it focuses on televised Spanish and English-language advertising developed for the 2000 and 2004 presidential elections, as well as for dozens of congressional and statewide contests from 2000-2004. ...
Music as a platform for political communication by Call Number: Baker-Berry ML 3916 .M8737 2017ISBN: 9781522519867Artistic expression is a longstanding aspect of mankind and our society. While art can simply be appreciated for aesthetic artistic value, it can be utilized for other various multidisciplinary purposes. Music as a Platform for Political Communication is a comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly perspectives on delivering political messages to society through musical platforms and venues. Highlighting innovative research topics on an international scale, such as electron campaigns, social justice, and protests, this book is ideally designed for academics, professionals, practitioners, graduate students, and researchers interested in discovering how musical expression is shaping the realm of political communication.
On message: television advertising by the presidential candidates in election 2008 by Call Number: Baker-Berry JK 526 2008 .D68 2010ISBN: 9780739147900On Message explores how the twelve leading presidential candidates of Election 2008, six in each party, used the major themes of televised political advertising-images, issues, and attacks-to create campaign narratives justifying their election. ...
Political advertising in the United States by Call Number: Baker-Berry JF 2112 .A4 F68 2016ISBN: 9780813349756Political advertising is as important as ever--ad spending records are broken each election cycle, and the volume of ads aired continues to increase. Political Advertising in the United States is a comprehensive survey of the political advertising landscape and its influence on voters. The authors draw from the latest data to analyze how campaign finance laws have affected the sponsorship and content of political advertising, how "big data" has allowed for more sophisticated targeting, and how the Internet and social media has changed the distribution of ads. ...
When politicians attack: party cohesion in the media by Call Number: Baker-Berry JF 2112 .A4 G76 2010ISBN: 9780521842099Fostering a positive brand name is the chief benefit parties provide for their members. They do this both by coordinating their activities in the legislative process and by communicating with voters. Whereas political scientists have generally focused on the former, dismissing partisan communication as cheap talk, this book argues that a party's ability to coordinate its communication has important implications for the study of politics. The macro-level institutional setting of a party's communication heavily influences that party's prospects for cohesive communication. Paradoxically, unified government presents the greatest challenge to unified communication within the president's party. ...
You can find political communication literature in many publications. You can use a specific, subject index such as Communication & Mass Media Commplete (CMMC) to find articles. Listed below are a couple of relevant journals. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Political communication by Call Number: Electronic journalA research journal dedicated to communication & politics.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
Worldwide political science abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceWorldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law, political geography, and public administration/policy. ...
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
- The living room candidate: presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2008 byCall Number: Electronic resourceThe Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2008 is an online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired.
- Presidential Campaign Finance
The Federal Election Commission's site has a section dedicated to who gives what money to whom. You can search their database and download data. - Political Programming (FCC)
These pages from the Federal Communications Commission provides a definition about political advertising and the rules and regulations for political advertising.
Internet resource(s) for political communication
- Campaign Legal CenterThe Campaign Legal Center is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization which works in the areas of campaign finance and elections, political communication and government ethics. The Legal Center also participates in generating and shaping our nation's policy debate about money in politics, disclosure, political advertising, and enforcement issues before the Congress, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), Federal Election Commission (FEC) and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
- Center for Responsive Politics (Opensecrets.org)They run the opensecrets.org site which tracks money spent in U. S. politics.
- Common CauseCommon Cause is a nonpartisan, nonprofit advocacy group founded in 1970 by John Gardner as a vehicle for citizens to make their voices heard in the political process and hold their elected leaders accountable to the public interest.
- The History of Televised Presidential Debates - C-SPAN
Professor John Splaine discussed the history of presidential debates in the television age and screened video examples as he led a discussion on the history and evolution of televised political debates. - Julian P. Kanter Political Commercial ArchiveThis archive at the University of Oklahoma is a repository for political radio and television commercials. The major purpose of the archive is to preserve these historically valuable materials and to make them available for scholarly and professional use.
- Political Advertising Resource Center (PARC)PARC is a nonpartisan informational Web site that analyzes the television advertisements used in local, state, and national political campaigns. Both candidate-based and issue ads are analyzed. It looks to have ended in 2016.
- Political Communication Lab at Stanford UniversityThe Political Communication Lab is a research group who work on large-scale content analysis of news and elite rhetoric, experimental studies of political polarization, and cross-national investigations — spanning more than fourteen countries — of public opposition to immigration.
- Recommendations to Journalists Covering the Pre- and Post-inauguration PeriodAs we count down to Election Day in the U.S., November 3, 2020, we find ourselves at a dangerous moment for democracy. As scholarly experts in politics and media, we draw on research from our field to offer practical, nonpartisan, evidence-based recommendations to journalists covering the 2020 U.S. presidential election. ...
- Wesleyan Media ProjectThe Wesleyan Media Project was established in 2010 to track advertising in federal elections, and it is a successor to the Wisconsin Advertising Project, which tracked political advertising between 1998 and 2008. ...
- Wisconsin Advertising Project from the Election Research Center (UW-M)WiscADs undertook research initiatives to show how candidates, political parties and special interest groups communicate with voters. They started with the 75 largest media markets and expanded to the largest 100 markets.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Communication? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.