Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Introduction
This page highlights resources for Social Media.
Finding library resource(s)
The resources for Social Media are scattered throughout the collections. A good starting point is using the subject headings below to begin your research.
- cultural industriesThe Cultural Industries includes the book trade, motion picture industry, broadcasting and music.
The culture of connectivity: a critical history of social media by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199970780Social media has come to deeply penetrate our lives: Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and many other platforms define many of our daily habits of communication and creative production. The Culture of Connectivity studies the rise of social media in the first decade of the twenty-first century up until 2012, providing both a historical and a critical analysis of the emergence of major platforms in the context of a rapidly changing ecosystem of connective media.
The participatory cultures handbook by Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 851 .P363 2013ISBN: 9781136306693How did we get from Hollywood to YouTube? What makes Wikipedia so different from a traditional encyclopedia? Has blogging dismantled journalism as we know it? Our media landscape has undergone a seismic shift as digital technology has fostered the rise of "participatory culture," in which knowledge is originated, created, distributed, and evaluated in radically new ways. The Participatory Cultures Handbook is an indispensable, interdisciplinary guide to this rapidly changing terrain. ...
Routledge handbook of sport and new media by Call Number: Baker-Berry GV 742 .R68 2014ISBN: 9780415532761New media technologies have become a central part of the sports media landscape. Sports fans use new media to watch games, discuss sports transactions, form fan-based communities, and secure minutiae about their favorite players and teams. ...
Social media: principles and applications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781498520904This book examines principles and applications of social media in inter- personal, mass-mediated, educational, organizational, and political settings.
Writing on the wall: social media, the first 2,000 years by Call Number: Baker-Berry HM 1206 .S72 2013ISBN: 9781620402832Papyrus rolls and Twitter have much in common, as each was their generation's signature means of "instant" communication. Indeed, as Tom Standage reveals in his scintillating new book, social media is anything but a new phenomenon. ...
Blockbusters: hit-making, risk-taking, and the big business of entertainment by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96 .E25 E53 2013ISBN: 9780805094336Why the future of popular culture will revolve around ever bigger bets on entertainment products, by one of Harvard Business School's most popular professors What's behind the phenomenal success of entertainment businesses such as Warner Bros., Marvel Entertainment, and the NFL--along with such stars as Jay-Z, Lady Gaga, and LeBron James?
Keeping up the Kardashian brand: celebrity, materialism, and sexuality by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .K445 M33 2014ISBN: 9780739177150The Kardashian family is a contemporary cultural touchstone, recognizable throughout the world connoting warrantless celebrity, voluptuous beauty, and social media savviness. ...
Networked anthropology: a primer for ethnographers by Call Number: Baker-Berry GN 13.5 .C65 2015ISBN: 9780415821759The advent of social media offers anthropologists exciting opportunities to extend their research to communities in fresh ways. At the same time, these technological developments open up anthropological fieldwork to different hazards. ...
The social machine: designs for living online by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262027014Computers were first conceived as "thinking machines," but in the twenty-first century they have become social machines, online places where people meet friends, play games, and collaborate on projects. ...
You can use a variety of indexes to find relevant articles. You can search a single database such as Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) or use a multi-disciplinary index such as Academic Search Complete.
"Interactive and Social Media" from Communication ResearchCall Number: Electronic journalPublication Date: July 2018 (45, 5)This is a special issue from the journal.
Journal of new communications research by Call Number: Electronic journalThis journal conducts advanced study on the tools, technologies and emerging modes of communication.
Transformative works and cultures: TWCCall Number: Electronic journal (OA)TWC publishes articles about transformative works, broadly conceived; articles about media studies; and articles about the fan community.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
Business source complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index searches a variety of scholarly and popular business publications including the Business of Media.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
al-Maydān = The square by Call Number: Jones Media CenterFrom the 2011 overthrow of a 30-year dictator, through military rule, and culminating with the forced military removal of the Muslim Brotherhood president in the summer of 2013, we follow a group of Egyptian activists as they battle leaders and regimes, and risk their lives to build a new society of conscience. The Egyptian Revolution has been an ongoing roller coaster. Through the news, we only get a glimpse of the bloodiest battle, an election, or a million man march. At the beginning of August 2013, we witnessed the second president deposed within the space of three years. The Square is a truly immersive experience, transporting the viewer deeply into the intense emotional drama and personal stories behind the news.
Men, women & children by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18494The story of a group of high school teenagers and their parents as they attempt to navigate the many ways the internet has changed their relationships, their communication, their self-image, and their love lives. As each character and each relationship is tested, and shows the variety of roads people choose; some tragic, some hopeful.
Digital nation by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9856ISBN: 9781608831944Within a single generation, digital media and the World Wide Web have transformed virtually every aspect of modern culture, from the way we learn and work to the ways in which we socialize and even conduct war. But is the technology moving faster than we can adapt to it? And is our 24/7 wired world causing us to lose as much as we've gained? In Digital Nation: Life on the Virtual Frontier, FRONTLINE presents an in-depth exploration of what it means to be human in a 21st-century digital world.
Generation like by Call Number: Streaming videoFRONTLINE correspondent Douglas Rushkoff explores how the perennial teen quest for identity and connection has migrated to social media, and exposes the game of cat-and-mouse that corporations are playing with these young consumers.
Internet resource(s)
- Social Media from Wikipedia
Social media are computer-mediated tools that allow people or companies to create, share, or exchange information, career interests,[1] ideas, and pictures/videos in virtual communities and networks. ... - The Society for New Communications ResearchThe Society for New Communications Research of The Conference Board (SNCR) is dedicated to the advanced study of the latest developments in new and emerging communications tools and technologies, including digital, social media, and mobile, and their effect on business, media, health, law, culture, and society.
- Social Media TodaySocial Media Today is an online community and resource for professionals in marketing, social business, communication, customer experience, content marketing and digital strategy, or any other discipline where a thorough understanding of social media is mission-critical.
- Social Media WeekSocial Media Week is a leading news platform and worldwide conference that curates and shares the best ideas, innovations and insights into how social media and technology are changing business, society and culture around the world.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Communication? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.