Finding journal articles and titles
You can find articles on media literacy in a variety of places. You can start your search in CMMC or use the search box at the top of the page.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
Internet resource(s)
- Media Literacy Now
The mission of Media Literacy Now is to drive policy change in every state and at the national level to ensure all K-12 students receive comprehensive media literacy education and skills, now and in the future. - National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)
As the leading voice for media literacy education, NAMLE aims to make media literacy highly valued and widely practiced as an essential life skill. They envision a day when everyone, in our nation and around the world, possess the ability to access, analyze, evaluate, create, and act using all forms of communication. Media literacy education refers to the practices necessary to foster these skills. They define both education and media broadly. ... - News and media literacy from Common Sense Media
Media literacy is the ability to identify different types of media and understand the messages they're sending. ... - News Literacy Project
The News Literacy Project, a nonpartisan national education nonprofit, provides programs and resources for educators and the public to teach, learn and share the abilities needed to be smart, active consumers of news and information and equal and engaged participants in a democracy.
Keeping up with Communications journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Communication? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Introduction - defining "media literacy"
People's ability to use media in a critical and beneficiary manner has been referred to as media literacy. The concept of media literacy is hot, as demonstrated by 49,000 article hits in Google Scholar, and has been studied in a wide range of disciplines. Whereas scholars in the fields of cultural studies, media studies, and literary analysis generally take an interpretative perspective, aiming to unravel how media literacy affects people's media uses and gratifications through observation and interviews, scholars in the fields of communication science, educational science, and psychology seem more involved with effects research, wanting to find out, by means of surveys and experiments, whether increasing people's knowledge of media can reduce negative media outcomes or even create positive consequences. ...
Opree, S.J. (2017). Media literacy. In The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects (eds P. Rössler, C.A. Hoffner and L. Zoonen)
In the library's collections
You can use the following subject heading(s) to find resources in our library's collections:
Introductory reading(s)
The international encyclopedia of media effects by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118784044The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects presents a comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. ...
Media literacy: a reader by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96 .M4 M45 2007ISBN: 9780820486680Media Literacy: A Reader produces a critical understanding of media culture designed to help students develop the ability to interpret media as well as understand the ways they themselves consume and affectively (emotionally) invest in media. Such an appreciation encourages both critical thinking and self-analysis, as students begin to realize that everyday decisions are not necessarily made freely and rationally. ...
Radical information literacy: reclaiming the political heart of the IL movement by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781780634296What would a synthetic theory of Digital, Media and Information Literacy (DMIL) look like? Radical Information Literacy presents, for the first time, a theory of DMIL that synthesizes the diversity of perspectives and positions on DMIL, both in the classroom and the workplace, and within the informal learning processes of society. ...
The Routledge companion on media education, copyright, and fair use by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138638891Media literacy educators rely on the ability to make use of copyrighted materials from mass media, digital media and popular culture for both analysis and production activities. Whether they work in higher education, elementary and secondary schools, or in informal learning settings in libraries, community and non-profit organizations, educators know that the practice of media literacy depends on a robust interpretation of copyright and fair use. With chapters written by leading scholars and practitioners from the fields of media studies, education, writing and rhetoric, law and society, library and information studies, and the digital humanities, this companion provides a scholarly and professional context for understanding the ways in which new conceptualizations of copyright and fair use are shaping the pedagogical practices of media literacy.
Seven skills of media literacy by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96 .M4 P688 2019ISBN: 9781544378565In Seven Skills of Media Literacy W. James Potter provides readers with the practical guidance they need to make substantial improvements on seven major skills required to increase their media literacy. For each of these seven skills, Potter provides easy-to-follow algorithms and heuristics that structure the process of using the skill. ...
Selected book titles
Critical media literacy and fake news in post-truth America by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004365377This edited collection is not a response to the 2016 United States Presidential Election so much as it is a response to the issues highlighted through that single event and since when incredibly smart, sophisticated, and intelligent members of our society were confused by misinformation campaigns. While media literacy and critical media literacy are ideas with long histories in formal education, including K-12 students and higher education, the need for increased attention to these issues has never reached a flash point like the present. The essays collected here are confrontations of post-truth, fake news, mainstream media, and traditional approaches to formal schooling. ...
Youth media matters: participatory cultures and literacies in education by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780816691869In an information age of youth social movements, Youth Media Matters examines how young people are using new media technologies to tell stories about themselves and their social worlds. They do so through joint efforts in a range of educational settings and media environments, including high school classrooms, youth media organizations, and social media sites. Korina M. Jocson draws on various theories to show how educators can harness the power of youth media to provide new opportunities for meaningful learning and "do-it-together production." ...
Fact vs. fiction: teaching critical skills in the age of fake news by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781564847041The advent of the 24-hour news cycle, citizen journalism and an increased reliance on social media as a trusted news source have had a profound effect not only on how we get our news, but also on how we evaluate sources of information, share that information and interact with others in online communities. When these issues are coupled with the "fake news" industry that intentionally spreads false stories designed to go viral, educators are left facing a new and challenging landscape. This book will help them address these new realities. Fact vs. Fiction provides educators with tools and resources to help students discern fact from fiction in the information they access not only at school, but on the devices they carry in their pockets and backpacks.
Images in social media: categorization and organization of images and their collections by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781681730790This book focuses on the methodologies, organization, and communication of digital image collection research that utilizes social media content. ("Image" is here understood as a cultural, conventional, and commercial--stock photo--representation.) The lecture offers expert views that provide different interpretations of images and their potential implementations. ...
Other library resource(s)
Fake news from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841Fake news has been the subject of a rapid research response, from a range of fields, given its impact on multiple sectors, the public sphere, and everyday life. The most prominent areas and disciplines contributing research and academic writing on fake news have been journalism, media and cultural studies, media literacy, politics, technology, and education. Whilst the concept is part of a broader concern with misinformation, the term “fake news” came to widespread public attention during the 2016 US presidential election. ...- Media credibility from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841Audience perceptions regarding the credibility of news media have been studied using several concepts, including “media credibility,” “trust in media,” “media skepticism,” and “media cynicism.” In general, researchers interested in the credibility concept are concerned with audience perceptions of news media, not with the actual credibility of journalists. Early research on media credibility conducted at Yale in the 1950s manipulated the credibility of communicators and measured the impact of this manipulation on audience persuasion. ...
- Media literacy from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841Thousands of books, articles, and web pages have been published about media literacy by authors all over the world. These authors are concerned citizens, parents, consumer activists, educators, and scholars from almost every field of study across academia. Given the wide-ranging backgrounds of these authors, it should be no surprise that there are many visions of what media literacy is and how it can best be achieved. ...
- Resisting persuasion from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The failure of realizing attitudinal or behavioral change by persuasive attempts is often attributed to bad message design, inappropriate use of communication strategies, or detrimental characteristics of the source. However, it has been acknowledged more and more that message receivers may also play an important role in accounting for the absence of attitudinal and behavioral change. Upon exposure to a persuasive message, people may experience psychological reactance because persuasive messages are perceived as a threat to freedom. ...
