Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
A definition for Speech
1. (spoken language) The ‘spoken word’: the medium of oral communication, based on the production, transmission, and reception of vocal sound. Traditionally speech was regarded as the primary mode of human language (and communication)—writing being seen as derivative (see also phonocentrism)—but this bias has been challenged (famously by Derrida). See also speech communication.
2. Something spoken; an utterance.
3. A formal utterance for a particular purpose.
4. A single utterance by an actor in a drama.
5. The act of speaking.
6. A particular style of speaking.
7. The dialect or language of a particular region or group.
See also DISCOURSE.
Chandler, D., & Munday, R. (2020). "Speech." In A Dictionary of Media and Communication. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 22 Feb. 2022
Introduction
The Speech component of the Institute for Writing and Rhetoric at Dartmouth College reflects Speech at its best. They've created a forum for dynamic conversations to push their thinking about Speech and other forms of communication. You'll find this spirit of curiosity and enthusiasm reflected in how they talk about, think about, write about, and do Speech. You'll also see their commitment to Speech through their thoughtfully designed courses that help students to become more confident, more effective, more informed communicators.
For more information about Speech courses at Dartmouth, click here.
[Source, Speech at Dartmouth, 02/21/2022]
Finding Library resources
In the library, you can find all of the following ranges on Baker Level 4. There are more, but check the online catalog for more call numbers.
- Public speaking - call number range PN 4121 through PN 4129.
- Rhetoric - call number range PN 171.4 through PN 229.
- Collections of speeches - call number range PN 6121 through PN 6129.
- Communication - call number range P 87 through P 96.
Useful subject headings for searching in the online catalog include the following:
- speeches, addresses, etc., americanYou can insert another nationality in place of American.
American voices: an encyclopedia of contemporary American orators by Call Number: Baker-Berry PS 408 .A47 2005ISBN: 9780313327902Contemporary public speaking remains an important part of our national life and a substantial force in shaping current events. Many of America's most important moments and issues, such as wars, scandals, election campaigns, September 11, 2001, have been defined by oratory. Here, over 50 essays cover a substantial and interesting group of major American social, political, economic, and cultural figures from the 1960s to the present. Each entry explains the biographical forces that shaped a speaker and his or her rhetorical approach, focuses mainly on a discussion of the orator's major speeches within the context of historical events, and concludes with an appraisal of the speaker and his or her contribution to American political and social life. ...
Born to talk: an introduction to speech and language development by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 118 .H85 2006ISBN: 9780205453313Publication Date: 4th ed.Written for a broad audience, this book walks through each stage of toddler language development, considers how each aspect of language affects all other aspects, and introduces the speech sound system studied by phonology. An appendix reviews the anatomical and physiological bases of speech, language, and hearing. ...
The handbook of rhetoric and public address by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4096 .H36 2010ISBN: 9781405178136The Handbook of Rhetoric and Public Address is a state-of-the-art companion to the field that showcases both the historical traditions and the future possibilities for public address scholarship in the twenty-first century. Focuses on public address as both a subject matter and a critical perspective. ...
Reengaging the prospects of rhetoric: current conversations and contemporary challenges by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4061 .R44 2010ISBN: 9780415873093Reengaging the Prospects of Rhetoric reanimates the debate over the function and scope of rhetoric. Providing a contemporary response to the volume The Prospect of Rhetoric (1971), this volume reconceptualizes that classic work to address the challenges facing the study of rhetoric today. ...
Speech production and perception by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 95 .T32 2006ISBN: 9781403917331This book aims to develop a framework for a fully explanatory theory of speech production and speech perception. It emphasises the difference between static models (primarily descriptive) and dynamic models that attempt to show how the basic linguistics and phonetics are related in an actual human speaker/listener.
To find speeches from a specific person, you can use the subject heading:
- oratoryWhat you will get is a list of resources of speeches for individuals and their style of public speaking.
The ethics and politics of speech: communication and rhetoric in the twentieth century by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 95.4 .U6 G35 2009ISBN: 9780809329489This title explores the historical implications of politics and ethics in communication studies. In The Ethics and Politics of Speech, Pat J. Gehrke provides an accessible yet intensive history of the speech communication discipline during the twentieth century. Drawing on several previously unpublished or unexamined sources - including essays, conference proceedings, and archival documents - Gehrke traces the evolution of communication studies and the dilemmas that often have faced academics in this field. ...
From megaphones to microphones: speeches of American women, 1920-1960 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PS 663 .W65 F76 2003ISBN: 9780275977726Until recently, scholars assumed that women stopped speaking after they won the vote in 1920 and did not reenter political life until the second wave of feminism began in the 1960s. Nothing could be further from the truth. While national attention did dissipate after 1920, women did not retreat from political and civic life. Rather, after winning the vote, women's public activism shifted from a single-issue agenda to the myriad social problems and public issues that faced the nation. As such, women began to take their place in the public square as political actors in their own rights rather than strictly campaigning for a women's issue. ...
Gesture and thought by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 117 .M359 2005ISBN: 9780226514628Gesturing is such an integral yet unconscious part of communication that we are mostly oblivious to it. But if you observe anyone in conversation, you are likely to see his or her fingers, hands, and arms in some form of spontaneous motion. Why? David McNeill, a pioneer in the ongoing study of the relationship between gesture and language, set about answering this question over twenty-five years ago. In Gesture and Thought he brings together years of this research, arguing that gesturing, an act which has been popularly understood as an accessory to speech, is actually a dialectical component of language. ...
Phonetics: transcription, production, acoustics, and perception by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 221 .R37 2009ISBN: 9780631232261Providing a comprehensive overview of the four primary areas of phonetics, Phonetics: Transcription, Production, Acoustics, and Perception is an ideal guide to the complete study of speech and sound. An accessible but in-depth introductory book on the basic concepts of phonetics. ...
The president's words: speeches and speechwriting in the modern White House by Call Number: Baker-Berry E 176.1 .P9725 2010ISBN: 9780700617395When Ronald Reagan invoked "a shining city on a hill" or George H. W. Bush "a thousand points of light," their words were engraved on the public's consciousness as signatures to their personal beliefs and a catalysts for political action. Such iconic phrases in presidential speeches are often the creation of presidential speechwriters, who are entrusted with framing a message consistent with each administration's broad goals and reflecting each president's personality and rhetorical skills. This book takes a closer look at presidential speeches over the course of six administrations. ...
Communication research by Call Number: Electronic journalCommunication Research publishes articles that explore the processes, antecedents, and consequences of communication in a broad range of societal systems.
Quarterly journal of speech by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Quarterly Journal of Speech (QJS) welcomes the full array of scholarship produced under rhetoric’s broad purview, including work that advances and enriches longstanding traditions in rhetorical theory and criticism, as well as research and writing that maps new frontiers. ...
The Southern communication journal by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Southern Communication Journal publishes original scholarship that makes significant contributions to understanding the processes and consequences of human communication. ...
Text and performance quarterly: TPQ by Call Number: Electronic journalText and Performance (TPQ) publishes original scholarship that explores and advances the study of performance as a social, critical, communicative practice; as a theoretical lens; as a critical method; as a technology of representation and expression; and as a hermeneutic. ...
Vital speeches of the day by Call Number: Electronic journalText of speeches on a wide range of political topics from 1934 to the present.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Commonwealth public address: essays in criticism by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4055 .C66 M35 2007ISBN: 9781932705768Until recent years oratory was considered a fundamental component of the literature of a nation, and a liberal education implied a knowledge of the great speakers and their principal speeches no less than of the important poems, plays and prose works. For some time, however, the study of literature has been reduced in many places to just two genres: poetry and prose fiction; but of late literary studies have expanded considerably, to include speeches, children's and juvenile literature, historiography, diaries and journals, memoirs, letters, science and fantasy fiction -- even graffiti and inscriptions. Increasingly, papers on Commonwealth speakers are heard at national and international conferences and found in scholarly journals, and the speeches of famous persons are studied with the same intensity as their imaginative works. As a result, rhetorical theories and communication studies have developed rapidly in order to better evaluate speeches, or public address. ...- The handbook of rhetoric and public address by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4096 .H36 2010ISBN: 9781405178136The Handbook of Rhetoric and Public Address is a state-of-the-art companion to the field that showcases both the historical traditions and the future possibilities for public address scholarship in the twenty-first century. Focuses on public address as both a subject matter and a critical perspective. ...
Words that shook the world: 100 years of unforgettable speeches and events by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6122 .G75 2002 textISBN: 9780735202962A selection of 20th century speeches with accompanying audio in the Jones Media Center.
Find more audio of speeches in our collections.
Anthology of public speeches by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6122 .P5The Greek period.--The Roman period.--The Patristic period.--The Mediaeval period.--The reformation period.--The French revolutionary period.--The British period.--The American period.--The world war period.
Great American women's speeches by Call Number: Jones Media Phono tape #1923ISBN: 9780694515868When they spoke in public, these famous American Women--Susan B. Anthony, Lucretia Mott, Lucy Stone and others--did far more than call for their rights. They committed a political act that challenged the very roots of established sex prejudice. Read by Eileen Heckart, Claudia McNeil, Mildred Natwick.
Lend me your ears: great speeches in history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6122 .L4 2004ISBN: 9780393059311Publication Date: 3rd ed.; updated and expandedLend Me Your Ears contains more than two hundred outstanding moments of oratory. This third edition is selected, arranged, and introduced by William Safire, who honed his skills as a presidential speechwriter. He is considered by many to be America's most influential political columnist and most elegant explicator of our language. ...
Internet resources
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Communication? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.