Finding Library resources
Criticism of media can be found using different searches in the online catalog. Works are scattered throughout the call number range P 87 to P 96. The following are some of the subject headings and keywords used in the online catalog:
- media criticismThis is a keyword search.
Electronic media criticism: applied perspectives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415995368Publication Date: 3rd ed.Electronic Media Criticism introduces readers to a variety of critical approaches to audio and video discourse on radio, television and the Internet. The book applies key aesthetic, sociological, philosophical, psychological, structural and economic principles to arrive at a comprehensive evaluation of both programming and advertising content. It includes numerous critiques to illustrate the ways in which critical expression can be structured, providing readers with feasible and flexible tools for focused and rational analysis of electronic media product as well as enhanced understanding of the role and essential ingredients of criticism itself. ...
Encyclopedia of international media and communications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780123876706Everyone agrees that we're living in the Information Age. How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. ...
Media analysis techniques by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 91 .B43 2012ISBN: 9781412987769Publication Date: 4th ed.In Media Analysis Techniques, Arthur Asa Berger provides students with a clearly written, user-friendly, hands-on guide to media research methods and techniques. The book empowers readers to make their own analyses of the media rather than just accept how others interpret the media.
Feeling normal: sexuality and media criticism in the digital age by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253024473The explosion of cable networks, cinema distributors, and mobile media companies explicitly designed for sexual minorities in the contemporary moment has made media culture a major factor in what it feels like to be a queer person. F. Hollis Griffin demonstrates how cities offer a way of thinking about that phenomenon. By examining urban centers in tandem with advertiser-supported newspapers, New Queer Cinema and B-movies, queer-targeted television, and mobile apps, Griffin illustrates how new forms of LGBT media are less "new" than we often believe. He connects cities and LGBT media through the experiences they can make available to people, which Griffin articulates as feelings, emotions, and affects. ...
Radical mass media criticism: a cultural genealogy by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 91.25 .R32 2006ISBN: 9781551642468Since the beginning of the media age, there have been thinkers who have reacted against the increasing power of the mass media and perceived its ever more pervasive role in historical development. This book examines those early mass media critics, and their controversial writings, and links them with their contemporaries to demonstrate the relevance of their legacy for today''s debates on media power and media ethics. ...
Raymond Williams by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 6073 .I4329 Z848 2006ISBN: 9780742530997Raymond Williams, a Welsh media critic and one of the founding thinkers behind the popular field of cultural studies, believed that the traditional focus of biographies on individuals isolated these people from their communities. For this reason, Alan O'Connor looks at Williams and his time period, one of social change and crisis in Wales and England. ...
Skewed: a critical thinker's guide to media bias by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4888 .O25 A875 2016ISBN: 9781633881655In a media landscape dominated by advocacy news networks pushing competing points of view, how can the average person uncover the truth about any particular issue? This book will show you how to separate the facts from the agenda-driven spin and selective presentation often used by such news sources as Fox and MSNBC.
Strategies for media reform: international perspectives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780823271641Media reform plays an increasingly important role in the struggle for social justice. As battles are fought over the future of investigative journalism, media ownership, spectrum management, speech rights, broadband access, network neutrality, the surveillance apparatus, and digital literacy, what effective strategies can be used in the pursuit of effective media reform? Strategies for Media Reform focuses on theorizing media democratization and evaluating specific projects for media reform. ...
True enough: learning to live in a post-fact society by Call Number: Baker-Berry BJ 1421 .M299 2008ISBN: 9780470050101Why has punditry lately overtaken news? Why do lies seem to linger so long in the cultural subconscious even after they've been thoroughly discredited? And why, when more people than ever before are documenting the truth with laptops and digital cameras, does fact-free spin and propaganda seem to work so well? True Enough explores leading controversies of national politics, foreign affairs, science, and business, explaining how Americans have begun to organize themselves into echo chambers that harbor diametrically different facts; not merely opinions; from those of the larger culture.
You can find articles on media criticism in many publications. You can search in Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) to find articles.
Bitch: feminist response to pop culture by Call Number: Electronic journalBitch: Feminist Response to Pop Culture is an independent, award-winning magazine offering smart pop culture analysis, profiles of feminist culture-makers, and beautiful illustrations. ...
Critical studies in media communications by Call Number: Electronic journalCritical Studies in Media Communications (CSMC) publishes original scholarship in mediated and mass communication from a cultural studies and/or critical perspective. It particularly welcomes submissions that enrich debates among various critical traditions, methodological and analytical approaches, and theoretical standpoints.
MediaTropes by Call Number: Electronic journalMediaTropes is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary eJournal devoted to the study of media and mediation. Responding to the challenges of our changing and increasingly interconnected world, this eJournal addresses questions, problems, and issues at the intersection of culture and technology, broadly construed.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Broadcast blues by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15858Documentary on media policies since the Clinton administration which have enabled conservative radio stations to monopolize the airwaves. Targets Clear Channel stations. Criticizes the FCC for lack of oversight.
C-SPAN: adventures in democracy by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #10105 discs 1-4A series of four panel discussions that examine how C-SPAN has impacted American media culture.
Fake news from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841Fake news has been the subject of a rapid research response, from a range of fields, given its impact on multiple sectors, the public sphere, and everyday life. The most prominent areas and disciplines contributing research and academic writing on fake news have been journalism, media and cultural studies, media literacy, politics, technology, and education. Whilst the concept is part of a broader concern with misinformation, the term “fake news” came to widespread public attention during the 2016 US presidential election. ...- Media literacy from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841Thousands of books, articles, and web pages have been published about media literacy by authors all over the world. These authors are concerned citizens, parents, consumer activists, educators, and scholars from almost every field of study across academia. Given the wide-ranging backgrounds of these authors, it should be no surprise that there are many visions of what media literacy is and how it can best be achieved. ...
This is a select list of television shows that critique media.
- Beat the Press
Emily Rooney moderated a lively discussion examining the media and how news organizations covered the week's big stories. - Beat the Press Podcast
Beat the Press challenges the new norms of objectivity in journalism, political wokeness and boundaries of opinion. Each show takes the listener behind the scenes of the world's biggest and most influential media outlets, featuring journalists making a difference, a tenured panel of media critics and absurd and unusual moments that capture the public's opinion. ... - Mediabuzz from FOX News
This media program analyzes the coverage of a wide range of topics, including technology, social media, politics, culture and sports. Their panelists debate the week’s hottest press issues and top journalists join them for in-depth interviews. - Reliable sources - CNN
Reliable Sources examines the media world -- telling the story behind the story -- how news and pop culture get made.
Internet resource(s)
- Media Research CenterThe Media Research Center is committed to neutralizing left-wing bias in the news media and popular culture and influence how millions of Americans perceive "so-called" objective reporting.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Communication? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.