Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Finding Library resources
Below are subject headings to help you search in the online catalog:
- "health communication"This is a keyword phase search in the online catalog.
- health communicationThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
Communication skills for the health care professional: context, concepts, practice, and evidence by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781284141429Publication Date: 3rd ed.Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional is a comprehensive guide to improving patient outcomes through relationship building and the use of information technology to foster communication between patients, families, and health providers.The author examines the context for communication in an evolving health care system and provides the foundations for understanding human and therapeutic communication. ...
Health communication in the new media landscape by Call Number: Matthews Fuller Stacks R 118 .H434 2009ISBN: 9780826101228This is a timely discussion of using new information technologies and media for communicating diverse health information to diverse audiences.
The knowledgeable patient: communication and participation in health by Call Number: Matthews Fuller Stacks R 727.4 .K56 2011ISBN: 9781444337174Learn how to place communication and participation at the heart of evidence-based healthcare. The Knowledgeable Patient: Communication and Participation in Health sits at the forefront of the challenging, changing 21st century landscape.
Mass media and health: examining media impact on individuals and the health environment by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96 .H43 W35 2017ISBN: 9781138925601Mass Media and Health: Examining Media Impact on Individuals and the Health Environment covers media health influences from a variety of angles, including the impact on individual and public health, the intentionality of these effects, and the nature of the outcomes. ...
The Routledge handbook of health communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003043379Publication Date: 3rd ed.This new edition of The Routledge Handbook of Health Communication provides students and scholars with a comprehensive survey of the subject's key research foundations and trends, authored by the discipline's leading scholars. The third edition has been completely updated and reorganized to guide both new researchers and experienced scholars through the most critical and contemporary topics in health communication today. ...
Advance care planning: communicating about matters of life and death by Call Number: Matthews Fuller Stacks R 118 .A38 2014ISBN: 9780826110213Advance Care Planning is a rich, insightful book of interest to a broad range or disciplines. It raises questions about why, in spite of so much knowledge and effort, we have not progressed in more effective and extensive use of ACP.
English and reflective writing skills in medicine: a guide for medical students and doctors by Call Number: Matthews Fuller Stacks R 119 .H36 2011ISBN: 9781846194627Reflective writing is an established and integral part of undergraduate medical curricula, and also features in postgraduate medical education and revalidation. This book guides and teaches medical students - and all medical and paramedical staff - through the process of writing reflective essays and less formal reflective pieces clearly, concisely, and accurately.
Health communication in the 21st century by Call Number: Baker-Berry R 118 .W755 2008ISBN: 9781405155946An extensive overview offering insight into both the current thinking and some lesser researched topics in the field of health communications.
How to present at meetings by Call Number: Matthews Fuller Stacks R 118 .H69 2012ISBN: 9780470654583How to Present at Meetings gives you practical advice on all aspects, and more.
The role of emotions in preventative health communication by Call Number: Baker-Berry RA 427.8 .M97 2015ISBN: 9780739191477The Role of Emotions in Preventative Health Communication takes a social scientific approach to understanding how emotions shape audience reactions to preventative health messages.
- Health communication byCall Number: Electronic journalHealth Communication seeks to improve practical communication between caregivers and patients and between institutions and the public, providing an outlet for scholarly intercourse between medical and social sciences. ...
Bulletin of the World Health OrganizationCall Number: Electronic journalThe Bulletin of the World Health Organization is a fully open-access journal of public health with a special focus on low and middle-income countries.
Journal of communication in healthcareCall Number: Electronic journalDiscusses the practice and new thinking in how to communicate medical information to patients, staff, the public and media.
Journal of health communicationCall Number: Electronic journalThis journal covers research in social marketing, shared decision-making, communication, psychology, government, and health education in the United States and the world.
Communication research by Call Number: Electronic journalThis is a themed issue on Health and Environmental Communication.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
PubMed by Call Number: Electronic resourceProvides bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature, including biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Health communication from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The area of health communication research and theory focuses primarily on the application of communication theory, concepts, and strategies in the service of enhancing public health, and understanding how such processes work. The approaches are numerous and represent significant scholarship across bio-psycho-social levels of analysis. Research can range from how individuals cognitively and emotionally process individual health-related messages to social and cultural contexts that influence how health campaigns are implemented. It can include targeted messaging through mass media or interpersonal communication between patient and health-care provider. ...
Health communication: from theory to practice by Call Number: Matthews Fuller Stacks R 118 .S33 2014ISBN: 9781118122198Publication Date: 2nd ed.Health Communication: From Theory to Practice provides a comprehensive introduction to theory, intervention design, current issues, and special topics in health communication. The book also represents a hands-on guide to program development, implementation, and evaluation. ...Health literacy: a prescription to end confusion by
Call Number: Matthews Fuller Library CD-ROM RA 440.5 .I578 2004Includes video presentation of the Institute of Medicine's report Health literacy: a prescription to end confusion with all of its findings and recommendations
Mass media images and impact on health: a sourcebook by Call Number: Library Depository RA 440.5 .S5 1993ISBN: 9780313278006This basic sourcebook shows how mass media, and particularly TV, present images that are dangerous to our health and advocates needed reforms. Nancy Signorielli describes the world of television today which has become a major source of information for people around the world--for children especially--and examines how media deal with health and how their messages affect our beliefs and behavior. ...
Wild Science: reading feminism, medicine, and the media by Call Number: Library Depository RA 418.5 .M4 W54 2000ISBN: 9780415204316Wild Science investigates the world-wide boom in 'health culture'. While self-help health books and medical dramas are popular around the globe, we are bombarded with daily media images of DNA research, and news reports about cloning, the fight against AIDS, cancer and depression. With popular culture now the principal means through which the non-scientific population encounters science why do certain images of science get promoted above others? Contributors examine the public meanings of science, revealing the frictions and contradictions within popular representations of what medicine can and should do. ...
- Clear Communication from The Institutes of Health (NIH)
The Clear Communication Initiative has 2 goals: Providing information in the form and with the content that is accessible to specific audiences based on cultural respect and incorporating plain language approaches and new technologies. - Gateway to Health Communication & Social Marketing Practive (CDC)
CDC's Gateway to Communication and Social Marketing Practice provides resources to help build your health communication or social marketing campaigns and programs. - Health Communication from the National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)
The NPIN can provide you with ideas and resources to maximize the impact of your prevention initiatives. - Health Literacy and Communication from the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)
Health communication and health literacy are deeply connected. Both are central to ODPHP’s mission and efforts to improve the health of all Americans.
Internet resource(s)
- Center for Health Communication - Harvard ChanHarvard T.H Chan School of Public Health’s Center for Health Communication equips public health leaders to credibly communicate health information to an increasingly skeptical and fragmented world. ...
- Communicating for Health from the World Health Organization (WHO)
Effective, integrated and coordinated communications are integral to achieve WHO’s goal of building a healthier future and deliver on WHO’s mission to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable. - Health Communication from Health People 2030
Effective health communication is critical to health and well-being. Healthy People 2030 focuses on improving health communication so that people can easily understand and act on health information. ... - Health Communication Gateway
This is a one-stop shop for health communicators. Whether you work in public health at a federal level, a state or local level, or in the healthcare arena, we will ensure you have the best we have to offer. ... - Rural Health Information Hub - Health Communication
Health communication includes verbal and written strategies to influence and empower individuals, populations, and communities to make healthier choices. Health communication often integrates components of multiple theories and models to promote positive changes in attitudes and behaviors. ... - Society for Health Communication
The Society is a member-driven organization bridging the gap between public health, healthcare, digital health, academia, and research. By breaking down the silos and connecting health professionals at all levels, they're building a powerful, connected community. By uniting their members, they're building a unified voice to shape and advance the field of health communication. They are an international organization, based in the USA, serving members from all countries. ...
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Communication? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.