Reference Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Political advertising from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The study of political advertising encompasses research on how political candidates, parties, and interest groups use mass media messages to persuade voters, policymakers, and the general public that their viewpoint excels that of all the opposition. Political advertising constitutes the dominant form of communication for candidates in the United States and is an important promotional format in democracies around the world. ...- Political marketing from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841The first use of the term political marketing has been attributed to political scientist Stanley Kelley in his book on Professional Public Relations and Political Power (Kelley 1956, cited under Core Texts, p. 53), in which he describes the growing importance of “the public relations man” (p. vii) in political campaigns. Thus, Kelley’s book was also an early account of the rise of the new profession of political consultants and the increasing differentiation of campaign tasks. However, it took another ten to fifteen years until political marketing became gradually acknowledged as a new perspective in the field, and marketing experts such as Philip Kotler promoted the incorporation of the marketing of organizations, persons, and ideas into marketing thought and theory. ...
In the library's collections
Introductory reading(s)
The international encyclopedia of political communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118290750The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication is the definitive single-source reference work on the subject, with state-of-the-art and in-depth scholarly reflection on the key issues within political communication from leading international experts.
The persuasive power of campaign advertising by Call Number: Baker-Berry JK 2281 .R54 2011ISBN: 9781439903339The Persuasive Power of Campaign Advertising offers a comprehensive overview of political advertisements and their changing role in the Internet age. Travis Ridout and Michael Franz examine how these ads function in various kinds of campaigns and how voters are influenced by them. The authors particularly study where ads are placed, asserting that television advertising will still be relevant despite the growth of advertising on the Internet. ...
Political advertising in the United States by Call Number: Baker-Berry JF 2112 .A4 F68 2016ISBN: 9780813349756Political advertising is as important as ever--ad spending records are broken each election cycle, and the volume of ads aired continues to increase. Political Advertising in the United States is a comprehensive survey of the political advertising landscape and its influence on voters. The authors draw from the latest data to analyze how campaign finance laws have affected the sponsorship and content of political advertising, how "big data" has allowed for more sophisticated targeting, and how the Internet and social media has changed the distribution of ads. ...
Routledge handbook of political advertising by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138908307This Handbook provides the most comprehensive overview of the role of electoral advertising on television and new forms of advertising in countries from all parts of the world currently available. Thematic chapters address advertising effects, negative ads, the perspective of practitioners and gender role. ...
The SAGE handbook of political advertising by Call Number: Baker-Berry JF 2112 .A4 S24 2006ISBN: 9781847874399This authoritative and comprehensive survey of political communication draws together a team of the world's leading scholars to provide a state-of-the-art review that sets the agenda for future study. ...
Selected book title(s)
Political communication in Canada by Call Number: Baker-Berry JA 85.2 .C3 P635 2014ISBN: 9780774827768Changes in technology and media consumption are transforming the way people communicate about politics. Are they also changing the way politicians communicate to the public? Political Communication in Canada examines the way political parties, politicians, interest groups, the media, and citizens are using new tactics, tools, and channels to disseminate information, and also investigates the implications of these changes. ...
Posters, propaganda, and persuasion in election campaigns around the world and through history by Call Number: Baker-Berry JF 2112 .A4 S45 2008ISBN: 9780820486161How effective are election campaign posters? Providing a unique political history, this book traces the impact that these posters - as well as broadsides, banners, and billboards - have had around the world over the last two centuries. It focuses on the use of this campaign material in the United States, as well as in France, Great Britain, Germany, South Africa, Japan, Mexico, and many other countries. ...
Truth in advertising?: verbal, visual, and aural lies in political advertisng and how they affect the electorate by Call Number: Baker-Berry JF 2112 .A4 A55 2018ISBN: 9781498531597This book represents the first systematic effort to examine (1) the factual accuracy of the claims made in an entire political advertising campaign, (2) the visuals and sound cues used in that advertising and their relationship with the tone and accuracy of ads, and (3) the impact of the accuracy of claims on what people know and how they vote in a real campaign. ...
Political commercial collections
- The living room candidate: presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2008 byCall Number: Electronic resourceThe Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2008 is an online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired.
Finding scholarly articles and journal titles
You can find articles on political advertising in many publications. We do have a journal which specializes in political communication, Political Communication. We also have an article index which looks at all types of communication, CMMC. You can start your research there or use an index such as Web of Science. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Political communication by Call Number: Electronic journalA research journal dedicated to communication & politics.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
Worldwide political science abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceWorldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law, political geography, and public administration/policy. ...
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s) for political communication
- Campaign Legal CenterThe Campaign Legal Center is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization which works in the areas of campaign finance and elections, political communication and government ethics. The Legal Center also participates in generating and shaping our nation's policy debate about money in politics, disclosure, political advertising, and enforcement issues before the Congress, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), Federal Election Commission (FEC) and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
- Center for Responsive Politics (Opensecrets.org)They run the opensecrets.org site which tracks money spent in U. S. politics.
- Common CauseCommon Cause is a nonpartisan, nonprofit advocacy group founded in 1970 by John Gardner as a vehicle for citizens to make their voices heard in the political process and hold their elected leaders accountable to the public interest.
- The History of Televised Presidential Debates - C-SPAN
Professor John Splaine discussed the history of presidential debates in the television age and screened video examples as he led a discussion on the history and evolution of televised political debates. - Julian P. Kanter Political Commercial ArchiveThis archive at the University of Oklahoma is a repository for political radio and television commercials. The major purpose of the archive is to preserve these historically valuable materials and to make them available for scholarly and professional use.
- Political Advertising Resource Center (PARC)PARC is a nonpartisan informational Web site that analyzes the television advertisements used in local, state, and national political campaigns. Both candidate-based and issue ads are analyzed. It looks to have ended in 2016.
- Political Communication Lab at Stanford UniversityThe Political Communication Lab is a research group who work on large-scale content analysis of news and elite rhetoric, experimental studies of political polarization, and cross-national investigations — spanning more than fourteen countries — of public opposition to immigration.
- Recommendations to Journalists Covering the Pre- and Post-inauguration PeriodAs we count down to Election Day in the U.S., November 3, 2020, we find ourselves at a dangerous moment for democracy. As scholarly experts in politics and media, we draw on research from our field to offer practical, nonpartisan, evidence-based recommendations to journalists covering the 2020 U.S. presidential election. ...
- Wesleyan Media ProjectThe Wesleyan Media Project was established in 2010 to track advertising in federal elections, and it is a successor to the Wisconsin Advertising Project, which tracked political advertising between 1998 and 2008. ...
- Wisconsin Advertising Project from the Election Research Center (UW-M)WiscADs undertook research initiatives to show how candidates, political parties and special interest groups communicate with voters. They started with the 75 largest media markets and expanded to the largest 100 markets.