Teaching Resources for Engineering

Welcome to Teaching Resources for Engineering. In this guide, I have gathered together information and resources to help you with your courses. While there is a separate department at Dartmouth for learning design, this is a collection of resources to help you fill out your course plans with open education resources, maximize library resources and databases, and work with a librarian to best support your students.

-Jentry

The library is always here to help, but I often find that folks may not know what the library can do for them. Most of us know that the library has books and provides access to journal articles, but did you know that we can help with selecting open education resources or that we excel at structured searches?

Topics a librarian can help you with:

• Search strategies and construction
• Literature review training, construction, consultation
• Database selection & troubleshooting
• Finding and selecting sources
• Citation management
• Open Education Resources
• Research Data Management & Data Management Plans
• Patent and Standard searches
• Locating data sets
• Research metrics
• Research IDs/Author Profiles

If you would like a librarian to come to your class, we can provide workshops that run the gamut from a general introduction to the library, all the way to a subject specific session looking at a database and everything in between. Even if you don't feel like there is time to have a librarian come to class to teach, we're happy to come by and introduce ourselves, or work with you on a library guide specific to your course. The library maintains a general guide for engineering, but also guides specific to program areas and courses.

Explore our workshop offerings if you would like to request a specific structured workshop.

Feldberg Library is located in the Murdough building, directly behind the Irving Institute.

Guides are maintained for each program area outlined by Thayer. We recommend bookmarking the links of the guides you access most for easy access.

• Biological & Chemical Engineering
• Biomedical Engineering
• Electrical & Computer Engineering
• Energy Engineering
• Engineering & Design
• Materials Engineering
• Mechanical/Operations/Systems Engineering

These are the course guides available for Fall 2023. If you are looking for past course guides, they are still accessible via direct link but are not searchable. If you would like to access a past course guide, please email us.

• ENGS 21: Introduction to Engineering
• ENGS 33: Solid Mechanics
• ENGS 89/90: Engineering Design Methodology & Projects
• ENGM 178: Technology Assessment

Why use browser extensions?

In short there are a number of articles & ebooks that we have access to through a platform like EBSCO, but not via the direct link to the publisher. Instead of you taking the time to use the library search to determine if access is available, both Lean Library & LibKey Nomad redirect you from that publisher page to the access point available through the library. LeanLibrary works more broadly, while LibKey Nomad works on items with a DOI. Extensions help you get the information you need faster with less effort. Additionally, the extensions can redirect you to submit an interlibrary loan request for materials we do not have. Another benefit: LibKey Nomad is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted!

Pop-ups are no-one's favorite, but what if I gave you a pop-up extension that will give you directions to full-text articles, ebooks, and more through the Dartmouth Library for any academic site? Allow me to introduce Lean Library. This plug-in works with Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Opera, and Safari. While the tool may be of assistance when on the Dartmouth network, it will be especially helpful when you aren't.

Step 1: Download and install the extension: https://download.leanlibrary.com/DartmouthLibrary

Step 2: Select Dartmouth College

Step 3: Start searching! Lean Library will let you know when you are on a website that the library has access to and will help you navigate access to the full text of articles, or direct you to create an interlibrary loan request when appropriate.

Step 4: Login with your Dartmouth Single Sign-On

***Please note that Dartmouth Library is actively working on implementation of this new tool and there may be hiccups. If you encounter a problem, please let us know.

Install Lean Library on your browser

Do you get frustrated when you can't get access to an article? We do! That's why we have set up LibKey Nomad to provide a link to an article's full text! Simply install the extension in your browser, and access articles from publisher websites at the click of a button. Nomad works with Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Brave, Vivaldi & Safari. LibKey is also directly linked to RetractionWatch, and will let you know if the article you are examining has been retracted!

Install LibKey Nomad on your browser