Communication

Drawing from the study of human reasoning, Argumentation describes different types of arguments and explains how they influence beliefs and behaviour. Raymond Nickerson identifies many of the fallacies, biases, and other flaws often found in arguments as well as 'stratagems' (schemes, illogical and alogical tactics) that people regularly use to persuade others. ...

The Encyclopedia of Communication Theory provides students and researchers with a comprehensive two-volume overview of contemporary communication theory. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also meta-theory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts. ...

Rhetoric is often seen as a synonym for shallow, deceptive language, and therefore as something negative. But if it is viewed in more neutral terms, as the ‘art of persuasion’, it is clear that we are all forced to engage with it at some level, if only because we are constantly exposed to the rhetoric of others. Rhetoric: A Very Short Introduction explores the purpose of rhetoric and shows that it is the foundation-stone of civil society, and an essential part of democracy. ...

This handbook provides readers with logical, comprehensive summaries of research in a wide range of areas related to persuasion. From a topical standpoint, this handbook takes an interdisciplinary approach, covering issues that will be of interest to interpersonal and mass communication researchers as well as to psychologists and public health practitioners. ...

These days, we all need the ability to argue a case effectively in writing. Drawing on his long experience as a leading copywriter, Lindsay Camp shows how it's done-whether the 'end product' is a glossy magazine ad, a new business proposal, a page for the company website, or just a hasty email to your boss. Engaging, entertaining and-as you'd expect-highly persuasive, Can I Change Your Mind? will change the way you think about the words you use for ever. ...

This accessible introductory textbook looks at the modern relationship between politicians, the press and the public through the language they employ, with extensive coverage of key topics including: 'spin', 'spin control' and 'image' politics models of persuasion: authority, contrast, association pseudo-logical and 'post-truth' arguments political interviewing: difficult questions, difficult answers metaphors and metonymy rhetorical figures humour, irony and satire Extracts from speeches, soundbites, newspapers and blogs, interviews, press conferences, election slogans, social media and satires are used to provide the reader with the tools to discover the beliefs, character and hidden strategies of the would-be persuader, as well as the counter-strategies of their targets. ...

Metaliteracy is especially well suited as a tool for ensuring that learners can successfully navigate the proliferation of fake news, questionable content, and outright denialism of facts in today's information morass. Indeed, it is starkly evident that the competencies, knowledge, and personal attributes specific to metaliterate individuals are critical; digital literacy and traditional conceptions of information literacy are insufficient for the significant challenges we currently face. This book examines the newest version of the Metaliteracy Goals and Learning Objectives, including the four domains of metaliterate learning, as well as the relationship between metaliteracy and the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. ...

In modern politics as well as in historical times, character attacks abound. Words and images, like symbolic and psychological weapons, have sullied or destroyed numerous reputations. People mobilize significant material and psychological resources to defend themselves against such attacks. How does character assassination "work," and when does it not? Why do many targets fall so easily when they are under character attack? How can one prevent attacks and defend against them? The Routledge Handbook of Character Assassination and Reputation Management offers the first comprehensive examination of character assassination. ...

Researchers have long been interested in identifying factors that might explain the success or failure of persuasive attempts. Academic study of persuasion dates back to at least ancient Greece, as Aristotle (among others) wrote about the persuasive power of various message features. This early research evolved into a field of inquiry known as rhetorical studies or rhetoric, which focuses on determining the available methods of persuasion in any situation. Social scientific study of persuasion, the focus of the present bibliography, developed in the early 1900s. ...

The failure of realizing attitudinal or behavioral change by persuasive attempts is often attributed to bad message design, inappropriate use of communication strategies, or detrimental characteristics of the source. However, it has been acknowledged more and more that message receivers may also play an important role in accounting for the absence of attitudinal and behavioral change. Upon exposure to a persuasive message, people may experience psychological reactance because persuasive messages are perceived as a threat to freedom. ...

This is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.

PsycINFO is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. Citations include journal articles, book chapters and technical reports.

A scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.

The online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.