Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Industrial, educational, instructional television and video by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286For as long as television has been a darling of the commercial entertainment industries, it has been an object of interest for educators and businesses. The same can’t be said for media studies, which has long focused on the former mode—the domestic medium and the popular art—at the expense of the latter. This article corrals sources written in the 2010s from within the field, as well as research from scholars in education, sociology, management, and training. It begins with analyses of nontheatrical film used to train workers, educate students, promote capitalism, complete work processes, and other applications that television would take up beginning in the 1940s. It then addresses resources that would be equally helpful to scholars of educational and industrial television: useful television theory, archives, and trade publications. ...- Sesame Street from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Since its 1969 premiere, Sesame Street has become one of the most iconic programs in television history. Through its forty-eight seasons (and counting), and more than 4,400 episodes, it has linked the cultural experiences of generations of Americans of diverse backgrounds through enduring characters, memorable songs, celebrity guests, humorous stories, and sketches that emphasize the fun and imaginative possibilities of learning. Sesame Street’s popularity and longevity alone render it worthy of study, but its importance to American culture and society reaches far beyond the television screen. ...
In the Library's collections
This page highlights resources about television specifically geared to children. It not only includes animated works but scripted live action as well. Resources for children and television and children's television are located in several places in the collections. The main 2 areas include HQ 784 .T4 and PN 1992.8 .C64. The following are relevant subject headings for searching the online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
Children and television: a global perspective by Call Number: Baker-Berry HQ 784 .T4 L35 2007ISBN: 9781405144193This book offers an integrative view on children and television from the accumulated global literature in this field of the last 50 years, drawing on a diverse spectrum of research. combining both the American and European traditions. Children and Television features an international approach, balancing the need to contextualize television in children's lives in their unique cultural spaces, as well as searching for universal understandings that hold true for children around the world. ...
Media and the American child by Call Number: Baker-Berry HQ 784 .T4 C69 2007ISBN: 9780123725424Media and the American Child summarizes the research on all forms of media on children, looking at how much time they spend with media everyday, television programming and its impact on children, how advertising has changed to appeal directly to children and the effects on children and the consumer behavior of parents, the relationship between media use and scholastic achievement, the influence of violence in media on anti-social behavior, and the role of media in influencing attitudes on body image, sex and work roles, fashion, & lifestyle. ...
Television, childhood, and the home: a history of the making of the child television audience in Britain by Call Number: Baker-Berry HQ 784 .T4 O89 2002ISBN: 9780198742609Television audiences, as with other media audiences, are virtual entities. They have an existence, not immediately visible, but one that drives research, investment in programmes, public concern, and government policy. More than any other audience, the child television audience has generated more debate, anxiety, and action. What harm does television do children? Should parents restrict their children's viewing? Is children's television becoming too commercialized? How can we make programmes for very young children? This book, the first academic study of its kind, uncovers a history of the child television audience. ...
Selected book titles
Use the online catalog to find more titles on television and children or on children's television programs.
'Dear BBC': children, television storytelling and the public sphere by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .C46 D37 2001ISBN: 9780521785600Drawing on the diverse views of over 1,300 children in the UK between the ages of 6 and 12, Dear BBC discusses key controversies in the public sphere about children's relationship with the media, especially television drama. Máire Messenger Davies draws on material gathered from an audience research project commissioned by the BBC, based on surveys, structured discussions with children and interviews with programme makers and policy makers. ...
Hi there, boys and girls!: America's local children's TV shows by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .C64 H65 2001ISBN: 9781578063963Whatever happened to Bozo the Clown, to Aunt Norma, to Solomon C. Whiskers, those television celebrities who hammed it up between cartoons and contests during local kids' shows? In Hi There, Boys and Girls! America's Local Children's TV Programs, Tim Hollis tracks down the story of every known local children's TV show from markets across the United States. ...
Imagination and play in the electronic age by Call Number: Baker-Berry BF 717 .S5145 2005ISBN: 9780674017450TV, video games, and computers are easily accessible to 21st century children, but what impact do they have on creativity and imagination? In this book, the authors look at the cognitive and moral potential - and concern - created by electronic media.
Finding articles & journals
Articles and other writings about children's television can be found in many publications. Our collection does not include a magazine or journal title which looks exclusively at children's television. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the Summon box below.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
PsycINFO by Call Number: Electronic resourcePsycINFO is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. Citations include journal articles, book chapters and technical reports.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Government document(s) on Children and Television
- Rethinking the Children's Television Act for a digital media age byCall Number: Electronic resource
- ProQuest Congressional byCall Number: Electronic resourceProQuest Congressional indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. It provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. It includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. ...
Selected program titles
Find more children's programs in the online catalog.
The best of The Electric Company by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4641ISBN: 9780738933566A cultural phenomenon in the '70s, this wildly popular educational television show with big laughs had a bigger message: teaching children basic reading and grammar skills with the emphasis on fun.
Carole & Paula in the Magic Garden by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8262Carole and Paula invite you into their garden, where genuine friendship and real make-believe delight children. A fresh approach to the music, games, stories, lessons, inspirations, irrepressible fun and memories that children have always loved. Filled with playful dialogue, zany characters, gentle personal moments, sweet harmonies and engaging rapport.
A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7850ISBN: 9781419869259In A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving, Peppermint Patty and friends show up at Charlie Brown's on Thanksgiving unexpectedly. Chuck, with the help of Linus, Snoopy, and Woodstock, shows them the true meaning of Thanksgiving.
Doc McStuffins. Mobile clinic by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #19029When toys are hurt or sick, the Doc Mobile will get there quick with everything needed, including on-site cuddles, to fix them good as new. Ride with Doc and her trusty team as they rescue Dress-Up Daisy from a tree. ...
Gigantor. Part 1, Episodes 1-26 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1987ISBN: 9781566059022When terrorist groups, evil criminals and hostile aliens become too powerful for Earth’s armed forces, the virtually-indestructible robot is built to combat them. Commanded by Jimmy Sparks through a remote control, Gigantor must battle to save the world from a never-ending assault by ruthless villains.
Hiya, kids!!: a '50s Saturday morning by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12701ISBN: 9781603990776A collection of 21 of the favorite Saturday morning kids' shows from the '50s such as Howdy Doody, Lassie, and The Roy Rogers Show.
Jonny Quest. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2345ISBN: 9781560398639Jonny's father is a scientist, the sort who travels to exotic locations and faces a host of sinister villains, gun-wielding thugs, and fearsome monsters. Not only does Jonny go along on these escapades, but so do his tutor-bodyguard, Roger T. "Race" Bannon, his mystical adopted brother, Hadji, and his dog, Bandit.
Pee-Wee's playhouse. 1 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2721Enter the magical world of Pee-Wee's Playhouse and meet Pee-Wee and all the gang, including Miss Yvonne, Cowboy Curtis, Reba the Mail Lady, Jambi the Genie, and the King of Cartoons.
Phineas and Ferb. The daze of summer by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8789ISBN: 9780788891694Phineas and Ferb are two stepbrothers who find inventive things to do on each day of their summer vacation. They journey around the world and take on new adventures, such as building a roller coaster out of materials you would find in your everyday home like popsicle sticks, indoor plumbing, etc. Unbeknownst to them, their pet platypus, Perry, leads a double life as a secret agent.
Pinky and the Brain. Vol. 1 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4866ISBN: 9781419829031The misadventures of the world's most famous lab mice on DVD for the first time! Brain, who is bound and determined to take over the world, and his less-than-brilliant sidekick, Pinky, star in 22 hilarious episodes.
Sofia the first. Once upon a princess by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18994Set in the storybook world of Enchancia, we meet Sofia, an average girl whose life suddenly transforms when her mother marries the king and she becomes a princess. Sofia must learn to navigate the extraordinary life of royalty while holding onto her own hopes and dreams.
Wonder showzen. Season two by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15140ISBN: 9781415725054Features eight episodes of Wonder Showzen, a parody of educational television programs for children.
Internet resource(s)
- TelevIZIonThe German language journal TelevIZIon also publishes an annual English language edition. They specialize in researching children and television.
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature in Television? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.