Television Genres

A complete guide to 50 years of superheroes on screen. Each entry includes cast and credits, a format guide, individual episode descriptions, cross references, critical commentaries, as well as notations about arch-villains, gadgets, powers, and headquarters.

This is a detailed examination, from creation to cancellation of 58 science fiction television series produced between 1990 and 2004, from The X-Files to Star Trek. A chapter on each series includes production information; a history of the series; critical commentary; and interviews with key people.

Though science fiction certainly existed prior to the surge of television in the 1950s, the genre quickly established roots in the new medium and flourished in subsequent decades. In Channeling the Future: Essays on Science Fiction and Fantasy Television, Lincoln Geraghty has assembled a collection of essays that focuses on the disparate visions of the past, present, and future offered by science fiction and fantasy television since the 1950s and that continue into the present day. These essays not only shine new light on often overlooked and forgotten series but also examine the 'look' of science fiction and fantasy television, determining how iconography, location and landscape, special effects, set design, props, and costumes contribute to the creation of future and alternate worlds. ...

From The Prisoner in the 1960s to the more recent Heroes and Lost, a group of television series with strong elements of fantasy have achieved cult status. Focusing on eight such series, this work analyzes their respective innovations and influences. Assessing the strategies used to promote "cult" appeal, it also appraises increased opportunities for interaction between series creators and fans and evaluates how television fantasy has utilized transmedia storytelling. ...

A new collection on women in American television in the 90s uncovers a cultural obsession with tough yet sexy heroines in mythical pasts, the "girl power" present, and utopic futures. Xena, Buffy, Sabrina, and a host of other characters have become household words, as well as icons of pop culture 'feminism.' Their popularity makes for successful programming, however, how much does this trend truly represent a contemporary feminist breakthrough? And what does it mean for feminism in the next few decades? Fantasy Girls: Navigating the New Universe of Science Fiction and Fantasy Television seeks to explore as well as challenge the power and the promises of this recent media phenomenon. ...

Essays in this work examine treatments of history in science fiction and fantasy television programs from a variety of disciplinary and methodological perspectives. Some essays approach science fiction and fantasy television as primary evidence, demonstrating how such programs consciously or unconsciously elucidate persistent concerns and enduring ideals of a past era and place. Other essays study television as secondary evidence, investigating how popular media construct and communicate narratives about past events.

This index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

The online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.

Don't let anybody tell you there's no future in a life of crime, because some rackets can last forever. A mafia turf war is raging on the mean streets of the Big Apple, a place where regular Joes bounce between back door booze joints and the breadline.

A man-beast living under the streets of New York City saves and befriends a wealthy and shallow attorney after she is beaten and left for dead. From the moment these two cross paths, they share a strong psychic bond, and though they live in separate worlds, their love continues to grow without measure.

1934. The Dustbowl. The last great age of magic. In a time of titanic sandstorms, vile plagues, drought and pestilence - signs of God's fury and harbingers of the Apocalypse - the final conflict between good and evil is about to begin. The battle will take place in the heartland of an empire called America, where a traveling carnival harboring Ben Hawkins, a troubled healer, will clash with an evangelical ministry led by Borther Justin Crowe.

Harry Dresden is a private detective who also happens to be a real wizard. Although he tries to be a regular guy, Harry finds himself helping the Chicago police solve inexplicable crimes and battle dark forces that lurk around the city streets. Harry deals in all matters of supernatural threats.

This drama series is inspired by the classic Grimm's Fairy Tales. Portland homicide Detective Nick Burkhardt discovers he is descended from an elite line of criminal profilers known as 'Grimms', charged with keeping balance between humanity and the mythological creatures.

FBI Agent Audrey Parker travels to the small town of Haven, Maine to solve the murder of a local ex-con. Soon she discovers that Haven is a refuge for people with supernatural powers, and it's up to her to unlock the town's mysterious secrets, including the hidden truth about her own past.

Ned is a young man with a very special gift. As a boy, Ned discovered that he could return the dead briefly back to life with just one touch. Now a pie maker, Ned puts his ability to use, not only touching dead fruit and making it ripe with everlasting flavor, but working with a private investigator to crack murder cases by getting the dead to name their killers. But Ned's life is complicated when he brings his childhood sweetheart back to life and keeps her alive. Life would be perfect except if Ned ever touches her again, she'll go back to being dead, this time for good.

Season two of Wonder Woman introduces her to a new America with nuclear power and computers. Teamed with Steve Trevor, son of Major Trevor, she takes the name Diana Prince and takes on all kinds of danger in the fight for America's safety.