Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Prime time drama from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286The category of prime-time drama varies based on content forms popular around the globe. The term “prime-time” derives from the time these dramas are aired—typically the mid-evening hours, in which the viewing audience is the largest, and consequently allows commercial television systems to charge the highest advertising rates. It most commonly distinguishes scripted narrative television forms whose stories may be organized episodically and serially, and in early television history the anthology drama or single-play format was common.
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature in Television? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
In the Library's collections
To find books and other resources about television dramas, use the subject heading television plays. When you do a search for television drama, the catalog tells you that we use television plays. However, that subject heading seems to be a little dated. Contemporary dramas seem to use more specific subject headings such as television cop shows or medical television shows. So use the catalog to find resources for specific types of shows. This subject heading also includes works adapted for television from other formats.
- television playsCall number ranges are scattered throughout the PN's and other P's. Check the catalog for the call number and location.
Introductory reading(s)
- American television drama: the experimental years byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.3 .U5 H38 1986ISBN: 9780817302764
Popular television drama: critical perspectives by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.65 .P66 2005ISBN: 9780719069338Popular Television Drama: Critical Perspectives is a collection of essays examining landmark programmes of the last forty years, from Doctor Who to The Office, and from The Demon Headmaster to Queer As Folk. Contributions from prominent academics focus on the full range of popular genres, from sitcoms to science fiction, gothic horror and children's drama, and challenge received wisdom by reconsidering how British television drama can be analysed. ...
Television drama series programming: a comprehensive chronicle by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. PN 1992.3 .U5 G46 v.1-3, 5-6ISBN: 9780810813304The overview blends a thorough discussion of individual series and specials with a political, sociological, and psychological examination of the whole range of powerful images conveyed. A "Days and Times" section covers virtually all that was of dramatic import on and off the major networks and cable. Following are sections on series initiated previously; series inaugurated during the current period; series not previously chronicled; and a cumulative index of series titles.
Selected book title(s)
Beyond representation: television drama and the politics and aesthetics of identity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780719074585Beyond Representation poses the question as to whether over the last thirty years there have been signs of 'progress' or 'progressiveness' in the representation of 'marginalised' or subaltern identity categories within television drama in Britain and the US. In doing so, it interrogates some of the key assumptions concerning the relationship between aesthetics and the politics of identity that have influenced and informed television drama criticism during this period. ...
Filmed television drama, 1952-1958 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.65 .H39 2002ISBN: 9780786411320This work examines the change from live to filmed television dramas during the period 1952-1958 and the characteristics and programs that are most associated with filmed television drama. Along with many technical changes that had to be made in the industry in order to convert live television to filmed television came an interesting social one. ...
Play for today: the evolution of television drama by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.65 .S5 2000ISBN: 9780719056871Publication Date: New ed.Since it was published in 1975, Play for Today has become a leading introduction to writing and producing drama on television. Irene Shubik, in a unique survey of British television in its Golden Age, describes the role of the producer in the making of an original television play, from initial discussions with writers to broadcast. In tracing the rise of television drama in the context of her own career, she details the intellectual, financial and technical problems of productions, and includes a fascinating chapter on the effect of reactions from critics and viewers. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journals
Articles and other writings about television dramas can be found in many publications. Our collection does not include a magazine or journal title which looks exclusively at dramas on television. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this TV genre.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected drama shows
Find more television dramas in the library's collections.
The Barbara Stanwyck show. Volume twoCall Number: Jones Media DVD #10907ISBN: 9781417232901This collection showcases 12 previously unavailable dramas, restored and re-mastered, from the memorable series.
Dekalog = The Decalogue by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #243Ten films, each based on one of the Ten Commandments.
Family. The complete first and second seasonsCall Number: Jones Media DVD #12382ISBN: 9781424822942Family follows the saga of the Lawrence family of Pasadena, California--parents Kate and Doug, and their three children: young divorced mother Nancy, high school dropout Willie, and young teenage daughter Buddy.
The golden age of television by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9274ISBN: 9781604651782Features television plays from 1953-1958 and includes Marty (1953); Patterns (1955); No Time for Sergeants (1955); A Wind From the South (1955); Requiem for a Heavyweight (1956); Bang the Drum Slowly (1956); The Comedian (1957); and Days of Wine and Roses (1958).
Kʻwaegŏl Chʻunhyang = Happy girl Choon-hyang by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #10679 discs 1-6"Sassy Girl, Choon-hyang" is the 2005 interpretation of the "Legend of Choon-hyang". The story begins when Lee Mong-ryong is transferred from Seoul to a high school in Namwon, North Jeolla Province. Chun-hyang does her best to help Mong-ryong, her first love and the son of the Namwon Police Station chief, to enter a prestigious university. However, after meeting with Mong-ryong's first love, Chae-rin, Mong-ryong's love toward Chun-hyang is shattered, although Chun-hyang's love remains unwavering. One day, Byeon Hak-do, CEO of a famous entertainment company, appears in her life. He exudes confidence that he can make any woman fall for him. But as Chun-hyang shows no interest in him, his self-esteem is damaged profoundly. Byeon Hak-do is determined to make her love him.
The philanthropist: the complete series by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12212He can have whatever he wants, but he just wants to help. He's Teddy Rist: billionaire playboy, rebel with a cause, and the charming and unlikely hero. Eight inspiring episodes about a vigilante philanthropist who, after a tragic personal loss, decides to use his money and power to help people in need. Traveling around the globe to some of the planet's human rights 'hot spots,' Teddy will put his own life on the line in order to save others.
Resurrection Blvd. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2108ISBN: 9780792199052In this award winning Showtime series, three generations of the Santiago family have forged their legacy in boxing. They share both triumph and tragedy as they fight for the American Dream.
Steambath by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2149Controversial comedy about 12 characters in a steambath which turns out to be a waiting room between this world and the next.
The twilight zone. Vol. 6 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1192 disc 6Passersby: On the road home from the Civil War, a Confederate soldier stops at a house. He and the owner, a recent widow, discover that all who pass the house are dead, including themselves -- The Grave: Before dying, the notorious Pinto Sykes puts a curse on hired-gun Conny Miller, swearing to kill Miller if he ever sets foot on his grave -- Deaths-Head revisited: A former Nazi SS captain returns to the ruins of a concentration where is he judged by his long-dead victims -- The Last rites of Jeff Myrtlebank: Jeff comes back to life at his funeral and the townspeople try to force him to leave town.
Internet resource(s)
- Best TV Dramas from RankerThe best dramas of all time are the ones that make you feel connected to characters you will never meet in real life to the point where you obsess about their exploits as much as your own. ...
- The Best TV Dramas of All Time from ComplexRanking the best TV dramas of all time is certainly no easy feat, especially considering the speed at which we are consistently getting new contenders for this list. From Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon to more traditional broadcast and cable networks, television programming is now more prolific than ever. ...
- List of serial drama television series
A serial is a television show which has a continuous plot that unfolds in sequential episode-by-episode fashion. Serials are, more often than not, shows that possess narrative complexity.[1] They typically follow many story arcs that span entire television seasons, or even in some cases, the entire run of the series.
