Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Doctor Who from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286As a television program (and now multimedia experience) with over fifty years of history, Doctor Who has reflected an ever-changing media culture. First aired by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) on 23 November 1963, the British program is now seen in over ninety countries and held the record for the largest ever simulcast of a TV drama when the Fiftieth Anniversary special was shown in movie theaters across the world in 2013. Doctor Who depicts the adventures of a time-traveling alien known as “The Doctor” who travels across all of time and space with various companions in a blue Police Box (the TARDIS—Time and Relative Dimension in Space) that is bigger on the inside. ...
Finding Doctor Who programs ...
Books about the Doctor Who series have their own call number range. It is PN 1992.77 .D6273 to PN 1992.77 .D275 . Otherwise, you can use the subject headings below to find resources.
Introductory reading(s)
Find more books on Doctor Who in the library's online catalog.
Doctor Who: a history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780762791880Airing the day after JFK's assassination, the first episode, "An Unearthly Child," humbly launched one of the entertainment world's first super-brands. We begin with a look at the programming of the day and the original pitch documents for this family show before delving into the Daleks, which almost didn't make the cut. After three years, 1st Doctor William Hartnell left, prompting the BBC to recast their hit rather than ending it, giving us the first "regeneration" and making television history. ...
Doctor Who in time and space: essays on themes, characters, history and fandom, 1963-2012 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780786465491This collection of essays addresses a broad range of topics in the BBC science fiction television series 'Doctor Who,' both old (1963-1989) and new (2005-present).
Inside the Tardis: the worlds of Doctor Who: a cultural history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .D6273 C43 2006ISBN: 9781845111632With the successful twenty-first century revival of an old favourite for a new generation of viewers, this is the time to look afresh at one of the great classics of British television. Doctor Who enjoys the distinction of being the longest-running science fiction series in the world. The adventures of everyone's favourite "Time Lord" and his many companions, as they battle it out with Daleks, Cybermen and many more intergalactic menaces, have become an indelible part of popular culture. In this new study of a television institution - the first to draw extensively on the full riches of the "BBC Written Archives." ...
Selected book title(s)
Doctor Who, the eleventh hour: a critical celebration of the Matt Smith and Steven Moffat era by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .D6273 D63 2014ISBN: 9781780760193During 2013, 'Doctor Who,' the world's longest running science fiction show, celebrates its 50th birthday. Published to celebrate the Doctor's anniversary, this book provides a valuable record of the Matt Smith Doctor, who arrived in 2010 and is set to bow out in this year's Christmas special. This first book devoted solely to the Steven Moffat/Matt Smith era is written by experts on the Doctor.
Doctor Who: the doctor's lives and times by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.77 .D6275 G67 2014ISBN: 9780062293107This is the story of an impossible life--of a man who borrowed a spaceship, travelled through time and continually saved the universe--as told by the Doctor's friends, by his enemies, and by the man himself. Letters, journals, trial records, secret government files and the occasional bit of tabloid journalism reveal the never-before-told story of Gallifrey's last Time Lord.
New Dimensions of Doctor Who: adventures in space, time and television by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781845118662The Doctor may have regenerated on many occasions, but so too has 'Doctor Who.' Moving with the times, the show has evolved across fifty years. New Dimensions of Doctor Who brings together experts on the Doctors, on TV brands, bioethics, trans media, and cultural icons to explore contemporary developments in the series' music, design and representations of technology, plus issues of show runner authority and star authorship.
Finding scholarly journal articles
Articles and other writings about Doctor Who can be found in many publications. To find these resources, you can search in Film & Television Literature Index or use the search box at the top of the page.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
The Doctor Who universe of Programs in the Library's collections
Find more Doctor Who in the Library's collections.
Doctor Who. The beginningCall Number: Jones Media DVD #4871ISBN: 9781419825743The first three stories from the longest running science fiction series.
Doctor Who. The complete first series by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5413ISBN: 9781419827266In the new Doctor Who series, London shop assistant Rose Tyler embarks on adventures through time and space with a mysterious alien known as "The Doctor," encountering strange lifeforms and protecting the Earth from alien invaders.
Doctor Who: the five doctors: special edition by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5148ISBN: 9780790763323Someone is taking the Doctor's past selves out of time and space and placing them in a vast wilderness - a battle arena with a sinister tower at the center. The various regenerations of the Doctor team up with the Doctor's arch-enemy, the Master, to discover the traitorous Time-Lord who is behind this evil scheme.
Doctor Who. The day of the doctor by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #17833In 2013, something terrible is awakening in London's National Gallery; in 1562, a murderous plot is afoot in Elizabethan England; and somewhere in space an ancient battle reaches its devastating conclusion. All of reality is at stake as the Doctor's own dangerous past comes back to haunt him.
Internet resource(s)
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature in Television? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.