Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Finding articles & journals
Articles and other writings about medical shows on television publications. Our collection does not include a magazine or journal title which looks exclusively at medical shows on television. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this TV genre.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Hollywood, Health and Society
Hollywood, Health & Society (HH&S) is a program of the USC Annenberg Norman Lear Center that provides the entertainment industry with accurate and up-to-date information for storylines on health, safety, and security.
In the Library's collections
To find books and other resources about medical programs on TV, use the subject heading medical television programs.
- medical television programsCall number range is PN 1992.8 .M43.
- psychotherapy AND dramaThis keyword search brings up shows such as Necessary Roughness and In Treatment.
Selected book title(s)
Body trauma TV: the new hospital dramas by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .M43 J33 2003ISBN: 9780851708812An exploration of the stylistic, aesthetic and thematic impact of hospital drama. This book argues that "new" medical dramas offer a different landscape from their predecessors, and they tend to disturb rather than reassure. The medical profession are often depicted as being forced to confront new management , ethical labyrinths, and noxious patients. The historical development of the "new" medical drama is also explored, along with the implications of, and anxieties within, the depiction of modern healthcare. Lastly the book looks at the parallels between cultural fascination with the body as either sick or perfect and the attractions of a genre that seems to revel in the juxtaposition of morbidity and glamour.
Cultural sutures: medicine and media by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822385530Medicine and the media exist in a unique symbiosis. Increasingly, health-care consumers turn to media sources--from news reports to Web sites to TV shows--for information about diseases, treatments, pharmacology, and important health issues. And just as the media scour the medical terrain for news stories and plot lines, those in the health-care industry use the media to publicize legitimate stories and advance particular agendas. The essays in Cultural Sutures delineate this deeply collaborative process by scrutinizing a broad range of interconnections between medicine and the media in print journalism, advertisements, fiction films, television shows, documentaries, and computer technology. ...
Doctors only: the evolving image of the American physician by Call Number: Library Depository R 690 .M294 1988ISBN: 9780313234651Some of the problems facing the American medical profession today stem from an underlying cultural phenomenon--the evolution of the image of the doctor as an omnipotent and infallible individual. It is an image that is held by both doctors and patients alike. The behavior elicited by patient's awe, asserts Malmsheimer, becomes counterproductive when doctors are no longer able to admit their mistakes and limitations because their patients, conditioned to an ideal image, demand continuous proof of a doctor's infallibility. This volume examines the origins and evolution of the distorted and highly evocative image of American doctor from a variety of perspectives--sociological, historical, literary, cultural, and in light of modern communications theory. ...
Playing doctor: television, storytelling, and medical power by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .M43 T8 2010ISBN: 9780472027576Publication Date: New & expanded ed.Playing Doctor is an engaging and highly perceptive history of the medical TV series from its inception to the present day. Turow offers an inside look at the creation of iconic doctor shows as well as a detailed history of the programs, an analysis of changing public perceptions of doctors and medicine, and an insightful commentary on how medical dramas have both exploited and shaped these perceptions. ...
Prescription TV: therapeutic discourse in the hospital and at home by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822394747Tracing the history of television as a therapeutic device, Joy V. Fuqua describes how TVs came to make hospitals seem more like home and, later, "medicalized" the modern home. She examines the introduction of television into the private hospital room in the late 1940s and 1950s and then moves forward several decades to consider the direct-to-consumer prescription drug commercials legalized in 1997. Fuqua explains how, as hospital administrators and designers sought ways of making the hospital a more inviting, personalized space, TV sets came to figure in the architecture and layout of health care facilities. ...
Articles from Film & Television Index
Loading ...
Selected medical shows
Find more medical shows in the Library's collections.
ER. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #13855The work and lives of a group of emergency room doctors in Chicago.
House M.D. Season one by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3002ISBN: 9781417070329Hugh Laurie stars as the brilliant but sarcastic Dr. Gregory House, a maverick physician who is devoid of bedside manner. Dr. House thrives on the challenge of solving medical puzzles that other doctors give up on.
Huff. Season one by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #13267ISBN: 9781404976146A very successful psychiatrist is thrown in turmoil when a 15-year-old patient commits suicide in his office. He is also suffering a midlife crisis and he is being forced to reevaluate his entire life.
Marcus Welby, M.D. Season oneCall Number: Jones Media DVD #15514Marcus Welby is a kind family practitioner who tackles many sensitive and controversial health and social issues that are still topical today. He is helped by his young assistant Dr. Steven Kiley, and secretary/nurse Consuelo Lopez. This set includes "A Matter of Humanities" the two hour TV-movie pilot.
Medic by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8703Follows the personal and professional lives of the doctors and surgeons in a Los Angeles hospital. Sixteen episodes from U.S. television's first doctor drama to center on the skills and technology of medicine, filmed with cooperation from the Los Angeles Country Medical Association in actual hospitals and clinics.
Medical center. The complete 1st season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15526The head of surgery may be 'knife happy,' a runaway refuses to seek parental permission for a life-saving procedure, a research scientist ignores the side effects of his miracle cure for Hodgkin's disease. These are just some of the problems facing doctor and resident heartthrob Joseph Gannon and Chief of Staff Paul Lochner.
Mercy: the complete series by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15141Nurse Veronica Flanagan Callahan has just returned to Mercy Hospital from a tour in Iraq and knows more about medicine than all of the residents combined. She works with fellow nurses Sonia Jimenez, who turns the heads of everyone in the hospital, and Chloe Payne, a naive newcomer who learns to deal with the difficulties of working in a challenging and sometimes unsettling profession.
Nip/tuck. the complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4419ISBN: 9781419882371Sean McNamara and Christian Troy are two plastic surgeons running a partnership in Miami, Florida with different views on life. Sean is a weak family man who distances himself with work to avoid a dysfunctional home life that includes his wife Julie, and his rebelious teenage son Matt. Christian is an arrogant, narcissistc, unethical, ladies man who worships wine, women, and the all mighty dollar. He is just slick enough to do just about anything to get what he wants, including telling bold-face lies, cheating, stealing, blackmail, seduction, and even committing murder.
Nurse Jackie. Season one by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16179Jackie Peyton is a sharp-tongued and quick-witted nurse who is trying to survive the chaotic grind of saving lives in a hectic New York City hospital. Jackie's a woman of substance who knows how to handle it all. With a white lie here, a bent rule there, and a steady dose of pain relievers for her chronic back pain, Jackie does whatever it takes to get the job done.
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature in Television? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.