Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Internet resource(s)
- The Made-For-Television MovieTheir mission is to post all 6 seasons of The ABC Movie of the Week anthology. The ground-breaking series aired from 1969 to 1976, catapulting the fledgling network to high ratings. Too many television movies have been forgotten. ...
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
A short definition for made-for-tv movies
A television film, alternatively known as a television movie, made-for-TV film/movie, telemovie or TV film/movie, is a feature-length film that is produced and originally distributed by or to a television network, in contrast to theatrical films made for initial showing in movie theaters, and direct-to-video films made for initial release on home video formats. In certain cases, such films may also be referred to and shown as a miniseries, which typically indicates a film that has been divided into multiple parts or a series that contains a predetermined, limited number of episodes. ...
[Source: Wikipedia, 05/11/2023]
Finding library resources for tv movies
You can use the subject headings below to start your search in the online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
The ABC movie of the week by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780810891562Table of Contents: Season one: an expensive experiment -- Season two: ratings and relevance -- Season three: from Brian's song to the night stalker-something for everyone -- Season four: feeding the beast twice a week -- Season five: every night of the week: TV movie saturation -- Season six: diminishing returns -- Epilogue -- Appendix I- A chronological list of the movie of the week -- Appendix II- An alphabetical filmography -- Appendix III- List of movie of the week pilot films -- Appendix IV- A comment on available sources.
Big pictures on the small screen: made-for-TV movies and anthology dramas by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .F5 M335 2007ISBN: 9780275992835In the years immediately following World War II, NBC's legendary David Sarnoff and his cross-town equal, CBS's William S. Paley, decided that American television would be identified with quality live drama surrounded by news, light entertainment (in the form of variety and quiz shows), and family-oriented series generally spun off from radio. That initial vision eroded over the years and decades, but the dramatic part of this equation endured well into the 1960s, when, with NBC's Project 120 (which commissioned movies expressly for television in 120-minute doses), the genres known as Movies Made for Television and the miniseries emerged. ...
Movies made for television, 1964-2004 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .F5 M337 2005 v.1-5ISBN: 9780810851740Television historian Alvin H. Marill has compiled a comprehensive listing of every film made for television since the first was broadcast in 1964. Each entry cites the film's original network, airdate, length of broadcast, extensive production credits (director, writer, producer, composer, director of photography, and editor), and a complete cast (and character) listing, as well as a brief summary. Five volumes including complete actor and director indexes.
Epic television miniseries: a critical history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .F5 D42 2010ISBN: 9780786441495To paraphrase silent movie queen Norma Desmond in Billy Wilder's classic 1950 film Sunset Boulevard, "The epic miniseries are big! It's television that got small!" This is especially true when one compares such iconic epic miniseries as Rich Man, Poor Man (1976), Roots (1977), Holocaust (1978), Shogun (1980), The Winds of War (1983), War and Remembrance (1988-89) and Angels in America (2003) to today's ordinary television programming. This work traces the historical trajectory of the epic miniseries and delves into the character archetypes and themes that recur in the genre, giving close critical attention to more than 40 miniseries. A filmography is included.
Selected book title(s)
Cavalcarono insieme: 50 anni di cinema e televisione in Italia by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.63 .C38 2004ISBN: 9788837032395
Encyclopedia of television film directors by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.4 .A2 R63 2009ISBN: 9780810863781From live productions of the 1950s like Requiem for a Heavyweight to big budget mini-series like Band of Brothers, long-form television programs have been helmed by some of the most creative and accomplished names in directing. Encyclopedia of Television Film Directors brings attention to the directors of these productions, citing every director of stand alone long-form television programs: made for TV movies, movie-length pilots, mini-series, and feature-length anthology programs, as well as drama, comedy, and musical specials of more than 60 minutes. ...
Movies made for television: the telefeature and the mini-series, 1964-1984 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .F5 M35 1984ISBN: 9780918432605
The year in television, 2008: a catalog of new and continuing series, miniseries, specials and TV movies by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .S4 T485 2009ISBN: 9780786443918In 2008, the broadcast networks, cable channels and syndication produced nearly 1,100 new and continuing entertainment programs - the most original productions in one year since the medium first took hold in 1948. This reference book covers all the first run entertainment programs broadcast over the airwaves and on cable from January 1 through December 31, 2008, including series, specials, miniseries, made-for-television movies, pilot films, Internet series and specialized series (those broadcast on gay and lesbian channels). ...
Other library resource(s)
Pioneers of television. Season 3Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16560ISBN: 9781608838370This season includes an episode on "Primetime Soaps" and mini-series.
Finding scholarly articles and journal title(s)
Television & new media by Call Number: Electronic journalTelevision & New Media (TVNM), explores the fields of television and new media studies as they focus on the historical, ethnographic, political-economic, technological, and textual dimensions of media in social contexts.
Television quarterly by Call Number: Electronic journalTelevision Quarterly featured in depth articles about the TV medium. This coverage is from 1994-2008.
Television quarterly by Call Number: Electronic journalTelevision Quarterly featured in depth articles about the TV medium. This coverage is from 1962-2008. [From the site World Radio History].
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected television show title(s)
Find mini-series in the online catalog. And find made-for-tv movies in the online catalog.