Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Internet resource(s)
- The Best Television Shows with Religious Themes from RankerWhether you are Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Hindu, Buddhist or anything else, you will be pleased to see there are plenty of television shows with religious themes. Religion is a critical component of many people's lives, and numerous shows dive into various aspects of people's beliefs. ...
- Humanitas Prizes
Humanitas honors and empowers film and television writers whose work explores the human condition in a nuanced, meaningful way. Humanitas also recognizes that each human being is a world to be discovered. They celebrate the stories that explore the human experience because the act of acknowledging our common humanity is transformational. - The Hollywood PriestWhen Father Elwood “Bud” Kieser arrived in Los Angeles in 1957, he had no idea of the adventure that awaited him. After being encouraged by the entertainment professionals attending his parish, Fr. Bud begins a forty-year career as a television and film producer. In addition to the long-running series Insight and the 1989 film Romero, Fr. Bud also establishes the Humanitas Prize, one of the most prestigious awards in Hollywood. ...
- Insight
Insight was an American religious-themed weekly anthology series that aired in syndication from October 1960 to 1983. Produced by Paulist Productions in Los Angeles, the series presented half-hour dramas illuminating the contemporary search for meaning, freedom, and love. Insight was an anthology series, using an eclectic set of story telling forms including comedy, melodrama, and fantasy to explore moral dilemmas. The series was created by Fr. Ellwood E. "Bud" Kieser, the founder of Paulist Productions. ... - Religion & Ethics NewsweeklyReligion & Ethics Newsweekly has set itself apart from the mainstream media by providing distinctive, cutting-edge news coverage and analysis of national and international events in the ever-changing religious world.
Introductory reading(s)
The church on TV: portrayals of priests, pastors and nuns on American television series by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781441141095The book enables readers to understand the representation of the church on television, how this compares to actual historical accounts of the church in the same era, and why popular culture depicts the church as it does. It examines TV's depiction of church leaders and the issues they faced over time.
Religious television: controversies and conclusions by Call Number: Baker-Berry BV 656.3 .R42 1990ISBN: 9780893916435This volume addresses the various and highly topical controversies surrounding religious television by examining its history, structure, content, viewership, and social impact. It represents a compilation of original essays written by the world's leading scholars, regulators, authorities, and watchdogs of religious television. ...
Selected book title(s)
Colored television: American religion gone global by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780804796989The presence of women and African Americans not simply as viewers, but also as televangelists and station owners in their own right has dramatically changed the face of American religious broadcasting in recent decades. Colored Television looks at the influence of these ministries beyond the United States, where complex gospels of prosperity and gospels of sexual redemption mutually inform one another while offering hopeful yet socially contested narratives of personal uplift. ...
Divine programming: negotiating Christianity in American dramatic television production, 1996-2016 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190054373From the mid-90s to the present, television drama with religious content has come to reflect the growing cultural divide between white middle-America and concentrated urban elites. As the author argues in this book, by 2016, television narratives of white Christianity had become entirely disconnected from the religion they were meant to represent. Programming labeled "family-friendly" became a euphemism for white, middlebrow America, and developing audience niches became increasingly significant to serial dramatic television. Utilizing original case studies and interviews, Divine Programming investigates the development, writing, producing, marketing, and positioning of key series including 7th Heaven, Friday Night Lights, Rectify, Supernatural, Jane the Virgin, Daredevil, and Preacher. ...
PTL: the rise and fall of Jim and Tammy Faye Bakker's evangelical empire by Call Number: Baker-Berry BV 656.3 .W54 2017ISBN: 9780199379712In 1974 Jim and Tammy Bakker launched their television show, the PTL Club, from a former furniture store in Charlotte, N.C. with half a dozen friends. By 1987 they stood at the center of a ministry empire that included their own satellite network, a 2300-acre theme park visited by six million people a year, and millions of adoring fans. The Bakkers led a life of conspicuous consumption perfectly aligned with the prosperity gospel they preached. They bought vacation homes, traveled first-class with an entourage and proclaimed that God wanted everyone to be healthy and wealthy. ...
Televised redemption: Black religious media and racial empowerment by Call Number: Baker-Berry BR 563 .N4 R68 2016ISBN: 9781479876037How Black Christians, Muslims, and Jews have used media to prove their equality, not only in the eyes of God but in society. The institutional structures of white supremacy--slavery, Jim Crow laws, convict leasing, and mass incarceration--require a commonsense belief that black people lack the moral and intellectual capacities of white people. It is through this lens of belief that racial exclusions have been justified and reproduced in the United States. Televised Redemption argues that African American religious media has long played a key role in humanizing the race by unabashedly claiming that blacks are endowed by God with the same gifts of goodness and reason as whites--if not more, thereby legitimizing black Americans' rights to citizenship. ...
Other library resource(s)
Religion and the media from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841Churches and other religious organizations have always conducted or commissioned media research addressing their interests. Scholarly journals have always published occasional articles dealing with religion and media. However, as a distinct area for scholarly inquiry, religion and media owes its origin in the United States to a confluence of events during the late 1970s that made religion important in a way it had not been since the 1925 Scopes trial. ...
Finding scholarly journal articles and titles
Publications about religious programming on television can be found in a variety of publications. You can start your search with ATLA Religion Database, Film & Television Literature Index or another of the databases listed below. You can also search using the box at the top of the page.
ATLA religion database by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is a searchable database of citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the fields of religious and theological studies. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this TV genre.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Media history digital library by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
The Collection feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected television show titles
Find more religious television programs in the online catalog.
The Bible. the epic miniseries by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16109Breathtaking in scope and scale, The Bible features powerful performances, exotic locales and dazzling visual effects that breathe spectacular life into the dramatic tales of faith and courage from Genesis through Revelation.
Carnivàle. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5370ISBN: 97807831283821934. The Dustbowl. The last great age of magic. In a time of titanic sandstorms, vile plagues, drought and pestilence - signs of God's fury and harbingers of the Apocalypse - the final conflict between good and evil is about to begin. The battle will take place in the heartland of an empire called America, where a traveling carnival harboring Ben Hawkins, a troubled healer, will clash with an evangelical ministry led by Borther Justin Crowe.
The chosen. Season one by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #23627For the first time ever, the greatest story ever told is being presented as a multi-season show. Digging deeper into the backstories and context of the people and events of the gospels, Season One of the #1 highest crowd-funded media project of all time introduces you to people such as Simon Peter, Nicodemus, Mary Magdalene, Matthew, and of course, Jesus in a way never before seen on film.
Good omens by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #24633In the beginning and eleven years ago, two immortal beings decide that it might not be time to start an Apocalypse. Having followed the wrong boy for years, Aziraphale and Crowley must now try to locate the whereabouts of the real Antichrist. Perhaps the story of Agnes Nutter and her famous prophecies will hold the answer?
Joan of Arcadia. The first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16390ISBN: 9781415708767Joan Girardi an average 16-year-old is going through the growing pains typical of an teenager. But after she and her family relocate to Arcadia, her life gets especially interesting when God starts paying her visits.
Purgatory by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16825ISBN: 9780780647336Wild Bill Hickock, Doc Holiday, Jesse James, Billy the Kid and more deceased greats of the untamed West get a last chance to undo their violent pasts in a mysterious town that's West of the Pecos and south of Eternity.
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.