Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Finding articles & journals
Articles and other writings about television legal programs can be found in many publications. Our collection does not include a magazine or journal title which looks exclusively at legal programs on television. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the screen.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this TV genre.
Hein online law journal libraryCall Number: Electronic resourceThis is a full text searchable database of legal periodicals.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
In the Library's collections
Perry Mason anyone? How about Ally McBeal? This page highlights lawyer and legal shows. See the list of subject headings below to search the online catalog.
- legal television programsCall number range is PN 1992.8 .J87 located on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Encyclopedia of television law shows: factual and fictional series about judges, lawyers and the courtroom, 1948-2008 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780786438280When media coverage of courtroom trials came under intense fire in the aftermath of the infamous New Jersey v. Hauptmann lawsuit (a.k.a. the Lindbergh kidnapping case), a new wave of fictionalized courtroom programming rose to satiate the public's appetite for legal drama. This book is an alphabetical examination of the nearly 200 shows telecast in the U.S. from 1948 through 2008 involving courtrooms, lawyers and judges, complete with cast and production credits, air dates, detailed synopses and background information. ...
The television crime fighters factbook: over 9,800 details from 301 programs, 1937-2003 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .D48 T47 2004ISBN: 9780786415335Did you know that detective Adrian Monk (Monk) is afraid of milk? That Pinky's real first name on The Roaring '20s is Delaware? That on Charlie's Angels, Sabrina was the only Angel who was never seen in a bikini or swimsuit? These are only a few of the more than 9,800 facts readers will find in this work, which presents detailed information on 134 syndicated and cable series broadcast from 1948 to 2003, plus six experimental programs broadcast from 1937 to 1946 and 204 unsold pilots broadcast from 1948 to 1996, that featured the work of television's law enforcers who risk their lives to solve crimes and bring criminals to justice. ...
A transnational study of law and justice on TV by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .J87 T73 2016ISBN: 9781509905683This collection examines law and justice on television in different countries around the world. It provides a benchmark for further study of the nature and extent of television coverage of justice in fictional, reality and documentary forms. It does this by drawing on empirical work from a range of scholars in different jurisdictions. Each chapter looks at the raw data of how much justice material viewers were able to access in the multi-channel world of 2014 looking at three phases- apprehension (police), adjudication (lawyers), and disposition (prison/punishment). ...
Selected book titles
Courting failure: women and the law in twentieth-century literature by Call Number: Baker-Berry PS 228 .L39 M33 2007ISBN: 9781931968485For the past twenty years, the law and literature movement has been gaining ground. More recently, a feminist perspective has enriched the field. With Courting Failure: Women and the Law in Twentieth-Century Literature, Heidi Slettedahl Macpherson adds a compelling voice to the discussion. Courting Failure critically explores the representation of women, fictional and historical, in conflict with the law. ...
Justice performed: courtroom TV shows and the theaters of popular law by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1990.9 .C67 K69 2015ISBN: 9781472527844Justice Performed: Courtroom TV Shows and the Theaters of Popular Law is the first study of the reality TV genre to trace its theatrical legacy, connecting the phenomenon of the daytime TV shows to a long history of theatrical trials staged to educate audiences in pedagogies of citizenship.
Law and justice as seen on tv by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .J87 R37 2003ISBN: 9780814775615Law and Justice as Seen on TV examines the impact, significance, and social and political problems raised by the enormous onslaught of law-related television programming, both fiction and nonfiction, in the years since the rise of live televised trials as major media events. The book weaves together the various strands--media history and analysis, legal history and policy, and the national turn to the political right in the last decades--which gave birth to this trend and has kept it thriving and growing, by leaps and bounds, to the present day. ...
Selected programs
Find more legal shows in the Library's collections.
Arrest & trial by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8485ISBN: 9780741116888Television series that combined elements of police procedural and courtroom drama. In the first half of each episode, Sgt. Nick Anderson of the LAPD tracked down and arrested a suspect. In the second half, Defense Attorney John Egan fought to exonerate the accused.
Damages. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #6499ISBN: 9781435900950Patty Hewes is the nation's most revered and most reviled litigator, and her bright, ambitious protégée Ellen Parsons becomes embroiled in a class action lawsuit targeting Arthur Frobisher, one of the country's wealthiest CEOs. As Patty battles Frobisher and his attorney, Ellen learns what it takes to win at all costs.
The exonerated by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8239ISBN: 9781569946503... The Exonerated began its journey over the summer of 2000, when authors Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen traveled across the United States, interviewing 40 of the (then) 89 former death row prisoners. They went as far south as Texas and Miami, as far north as Chicago and just about everywhere in between to meet the people whose stories appear in The Exonerated... .
How to get away with murder. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #19018Each year, Annalise chooses a handful of top law students to assist her with her high-profile, albeit morally ambiguous, court cases. But the lines between defending and committing murder soon begin to blur when Annalise and her students become intimately involved in a sordid homicide that could destroy them all.
Law & order. Season 2 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4454ISBN: 9780783277622New York City Detective Mike Logan and Sergeant Paul Cerreta are working the streets of the 31st precinct in relentless pursuit of criminals. Once the criminals are caught by Logan and Cerreta, it is up to Executive ADA Ben Stone and his assistant ADA Paul Robinette to bring them to justice.
Murder one. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12455Theodore Hoffman is a prominent defense attorney in a prestigious Los Angeles law firm. After successfully defending the wealthy but suspicious Richard Cross in a lurid murder trial, he is now involved in the defense of Neil Avedon. Neil is a famous young actor who has had severe drug and alcohol problems and was subsequently charged with the murder, after Cross was acquitted. This single case will run an entire television season (interspersed with bits from other cases that the firm is involved in).
Perry Mason. Season 3, volume 2 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7895ISBN: 9781415743782Perry Mason, along with help from his secretary Della Street and investigator Paul Drake, takes on the cases that seem impossible to win.
The public defender. Volume 1 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9276Bart Matthews takes on clients that cannot afford expensive legal counsel. Young or old, innocent or guilty, the law comes first to the stoic and driven public defender.
Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature in Television? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.