Television Genres

Contemporary Documentary offers a rich survey of the rapidly expanding landscape of documentary film, television, video, and new media. The collection of original essays addresses the emerging forms, popular genres, and innovative approaches of the digital era. The anthology highlights geographically and thematically diverse examples of documentaries that have expanded the scope and impact of non-fiction cinema and captured the attention of global audiences over the past three decades. ...

This book provides a guide and an introduction to television documentary. It examines questions such as What is documentary?, and looks at the ways in which documentaries are produced and how they are received.

This second edition brings together many new contributions both from academics and filmmakers, reflecting shifts both in documentary production itself, and in ways of discussing it. Once again, the emphasis has been on clear and provocative writing, sympathetic to the practical challenges of documentary film-making but making connections with a range of work in media and communications analysis.With its wide range of contributors and the international scope of its agenda, New Challenges for Documentary will be essential reading for general filmmakers and documentary students both of academic and practical inclinations.

A very important record of a once vital aspect of American television

The second of two volumes which, when taken together, provide a comprehensive overview of network television news documentary, news magazine and special news programming broadcast over ABC, CBS, and NBC from the 1950s through the 1980s.

A re-examination of Canadian documentary television and how it has evolved over time. Since the inception of Canadian television in the early 1950s, documentary television, consistently a favourite among viewers, has been misunderstood and often maligned by its critics. More popular, and arguably more innovative, than its cinematic counterpart or than dramatic Canadian television, Canadian documentary television has decisively shaped the form and function of public service television in this country. David Hogarth traces its history back to its roots in radio in the 1930s and 1940s and examines the variety of forms of documentary television that developed in the decades that followed, focusing on news magazines, science programs, historical essays, docudramas, and vérité investigations. ...

The traditional documentary programming of network television's bygone era has given way to the recent explosion of ratings-driven, personality-based news magazine programming. While ostensibly conforming to a high standard of public service, these magazines, as even some of their producers admit, must succumb to the forces of public appetite and profit maximization in order to be competitive. This study examines this phenomenon of the electronic magazine and shows how the soft news programs affect the public's view of American politics and culture. ...

Looking at the recent crises of confidence in public service broadcasting and the controversy surrounding docusoaps, his major new study provides a foundational study of ethics and the documentary. This accessible but comprehensive treatment will be an important contribution to academic debates over the role of the media and to the ongoing debates in the documentary community.

Seven Up was made as a one-off documentary by Granada's flagship current affairs series World in Action in 1964. It featured fourteen seven-year-olds who were interviewed about their lives and what they wanted to be when they grew up. The children were selected to provide a representative cross-section of British society, and the program's intention was to test the Jesuit maxim - "give me a child until he is seven and I will give you the man" - in the context of the British belief in the overriding and determining importance of class origins. ...

Despite the increasing number of popular and celebrated sports documentaries in contemporary culture, such as ESPN's 30 for 30 series, there has been little scholarly engagement with this genre. Sports documentaries, like all films, do not merely showcase objective reality but rather construct specific versions of sporting culture that serve distinct economic, industrial, institutional, historical, and sociopolitical ends ripe for criticism, contextualization, and exploration. Sporting Realities brings together a diverse group of scholars to probe the sports documentary's cultural meanings, aesthetic practices, industrial and commercial dimensions, and political contours across historical, social, medium-specific, and geographic contexts. ...

The topics of Visual Ethnography cross visual anthropology, anthropology of media, digital and visual cultures, museography, contemporary art, photography, film studies, cultural studies, anthropology of the senses, anthropological theory.

Visual Anthropology Review presents research on visual studies, broadly conceived. Within its scope, the journal encompasses both the study of visual aspects of human behavior and the use of visual media in anthropological research, representation and teaching.

This index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

The online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.

In celebration of the ESPN's 30th anniversary, ESPN Films presents 30 for 30, a critically acclaimed series of films from some of today's finest directors. From Barry Levinson & Peter Berg to Steve James, Brett Morgen and Ice Cube, each filmmaker brings their unique perspective to an extraordinary sports story from the last 30 years.

Kings ransom -- The band that wouldn't die -- Small potatoes: who killed the USFL? -- Muhammad & Larry -- Without Bias -- The legend of Jimmy the Greek -- The U -- Winning time: Reggie Miller vs. the New York Knicks -- Guru of go -- No crossover: the trial of Allen Iverson -- Silly little game -- Run Ricky run -- The 16th man -- Straight outta L.A. -- June 17th, 1994.

Presents a history of cancer, from ancient times to the present day. Includes stories of contemporary patients and examines the latest scientific research which might indicate that we are on the brink of a lasting cure.

Looks at American history through data and measurement, revealing how the lives of everyday Americans have changed over the last century. Includes commentary by Theodore Caplow, a professor of sociology, and Bruce Geelhoed of Ball State University's Center for Middletown Studies.

A history of Warner Brothers from 1904 to 1993, including clips and commentary about modern and classic Warner Bros. films, with bloopers, screen tests, etc.

Welcome to Earth: Population 0. If humans vanish from the face of the earth, what happens to the world we leave behind? Another amazing glimpse of what that might look like. Expert engineers, biologists, geologists and archeologists create scenarios while CGI effects present haunting views of our planet's future. What will happen to our iconic structures? What creatures will take our place?

On April 24, 1924 the movies changed forever. The studio opened and soon assembled the most stars. MGM reigns as Hollywood's class act and legendary entertainment empire. Full of memorable film clips, rare interviews, behind-the-scenes footage and insider information, this is a mother lode for film fans. Profiles perfectionist moguls, glamorous and charismatic actors, innovative filmmakers and landmark movies. Experience the dramatic and romantic fire, singing and dancing magic, and sweeping epic adventure of Hollywood's greatest studio.

From the award-winning producers of 30 for 30, this exceptional set celebrating the 40th anniversary of Title IX features nine documentary films about women in sports , directed by an extraordinarily diverse group of female filmmakers.

Nunavut, 13-part dramatic television series brings to life the people, setting and continuing story of how Inuit in the Igloolik region of the Canadian Arctic lived on the land in the 40s. Following the lives of five fictional families played by contemporary Inuit, the series takes us through the different seasons of the Arctic year.

Documentary about Zionism from its inception in 1897 to the establishment of the State of Israel in 1948.