Television Studies

Big Media, Big Money is a lively and scathing critique of the contemporary communications industry, examining how media ownership and the profit-making motive affect the messages we receive in alarming ways. Through close readings of recent news events and critical examination of corporate influence, Bettig and Hall conclude that current interconnections among media, big business, government, and education pose a serious threat to democratic communications. ...

In this updated and expanded edition of Economics and Financing of Media Companies, Robert G. Picard employs business concepts and analyses to explore the operations and activities of media firms and the forces and issues affecting them. Picard has added new examples and new data, and he covers such emerging areas as the economics of digital media. ...

In this updated ultimate filmmaker's guide, Louise Levison gives you easy-to-use steps for writing an investor-winning business plan for a feature film, including: A comprehensive explanations for each of the eight sections of a plan; full financial section with text and tables; a sample business plan; a companion website with additional information for various chapters and detailed financial instructions ...

Understanding the economic paradigms at work in media industries and markets is vitally important for the analysis of the media system as a whole. The changing dynamics of media production, distribution and consumption are stretching the capacity of established economic paradigms.

Fairs, festivals and competitive events play a crucial role in the creative industries; yet their significance has been largely overlooked. This book explores the role of such events through a series of studies that include some of the most iconic fairs and festivals in the world.

The Oxford Handbook of Creative Industries brings together many of the world's leading scholars in the application of creativity in economics, business and management, law, policy studies, organization studies and psychology. Creative industries research has become a regular theme in academic journals and conferences across these subjects and is also an important agenda for governments throughout the world, while business people from established companies and entrepreneurs revaluate and innovate their models in creative industries. ...

Bringing together 49 chapters from leading experts in media industries research, this major collection offers an authoritative overview of the current state of scholarship while setting out proposals for expanding, re-thinking and innovating the field. Media industries occupy a central place in modern societies, producing, circulating, and presenting the multitude of cultural forms and experiences we encounter in our daily lives. ...

The purpose of the Handbook of Media Management and Business is to connect research and industry practice. It provides a strategic guide for aspiring and current media professionals for solving media management issues in a convergent environment. ...

The Twenty-First-Century Media Industry: Economic and Managerial Implications in the Age of New Media examines the role that new media technologies are having on the traditional media industry from a media management perspective. Consumer behaviors and consumer expectations are being shaped by new media technologies. They now expect information on-demand and on-the-go as well as at their finger-tips via the Internet. In order to stay relevant, traditional media managers and practitioners are adapting to these consumer demands and expectations by developing new business models and new business philosophies to stay competitive. ...

Media ownership and concentration has major implications for politics, business, culture, regulation, and innovation. It is also a highly contentious subject of public debate in many countries around the world.

Why the future of popular culture will revolve around ever bigger bets on entertainment products, by one of Harvard Business School's most popular professors What's behind the phenomenal success of entertainment businesses such as Warner Bros., Marvel Entertainment, and the NFL--along with such stars as Jay-Z, Lady Gaga, and LeBron James?

Handbook of Media Economics provides valuable information on a unique field that has its own theories, evidence, and policies. Understanding the media is important for society, and while new technologies are altering the media, they are also affecting our understanding of their economics.

This book is a critical study of the political economy of communications in India. It explores the ways in which contexts, structures, policies and processes at national and international levels shape media structures and explores how a political economy-inspired approach can be used to understand both media dominance and resistance. It deals with a variety of issues that are key to understanding the political economy of communication--from intellectual property to audio-visual trade and media ownership, liberalisation, privatisation, and media politics.

This title focuses on trends in broadcasting and cable, congressional actions, licensing, ratings and people of note in the industry.

This title search gives you journals of television industry profiles from different countries.

The librarians at Feldberg Business & Engineering Library have put a research guide together that focuses on "Company Research." You can use these resources to find information on public and private companies throughout the world.

Be aware: Not all Business resources are available to everyone on campus.

The rapidly burgeoning popularity of cinema at the beginning of the 20th century favored industrialized modes of creativity organized around large production studios that could churn out a steady stream of narrative feature films. By the mid-1910s, a handful of Hollywood studios became leaders in the production, distribution, and exhibition of popular commercial movies. In order to serve incessant demand for new titles, the studios relied on a set of conventions that allowed them to regularize production and realize workplace efficiencies. This entailed a socialized mode of creativity that would later be adopted by radio and television broadcasters. ...

Scholarship on media economics applies economic principles and theories to the study of organizations and industries engaged in communication. The traditional mass media—newspapers, television, film, magazines, books, and radio—have been the focus of much of the scholarship that media economists have produced. But the field also encompasses telecommunications and digital communications, along with associated industries such as advertising. ...

The librarians at Feldberg Business & Engineering Library have put a research guide together that focuses on "Media, Entertainment & Sports."

Be aware: Not all Business resources are available to everyone on campus.

This documentary chronicles the transformation of The New York Times newsroom and the inner workings of the Media Desk, as the Internet redefines the media industry by surpassing print as the main source of news. At the heart of the film is the burning question on the minds of everyone who cares about a rigorous American press, Times lover or not: what will happen if the fast-moving future of media leaves behind the fact-based, original reporting that helps to define our society? This up-close look at factors and actors that produce the "daily miracle" of a great news organization is a nuanced portrait of journalists continuing to produce extraordinary work under increasingly difficult circumstances.

Business information on a variety of media companies around the world.

The business of media includes economics and research, and studies in the field examine numerous aspects of economics in the industry. The statement has increased in its impact in the digital economy, in which the digitization of data has had a profound effect on the operations of media organizations. The old commercial model based on two primary revenue streams of advertising and paid subscriptions has been usurped by a plethora of entry points in the digital arena. ...

Variety Intelligence Platform is a database that offers analysis, commentary, and data around different topics impacting the media industry.

The once relatively stable television industry has undergone significant changes in recent years driven by a range of technological, political, economic and cultural factors. The dis-aggregation of television content from television distribution platforms has changed the industry significantly. ...

Media Industries is a peer-reviewed, multi-media, open-access online journal that supports critical studies of media industries and institutions worldwide.

This journal covers the economic aspects of mass media and the economic policy issues affecting media worldwide.

IEP is an international journal that aims to publish peer-reviewed policy-oriented research about the production, distribution and use of information, including these subjects: the economics of the telecommunications, mass media, and other information industries, the economics of innovation and intellectual property, ...

This is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.

This index searches a variety of scholarly and popular business publications including the Business of Media.

A scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.

The online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.