Internet resource(s)
- List of anti-war films from Wikipedia
Anti-war films are films which may criticize armed conflicts in a general sense to illustrate that war is futile and a loss for all sides involved, while others focus on acts within a specific war, such as poison gas use or genocidal killing of civilians. ...
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
A short discussion about anti-war films
... World War I was a crucible of war film production. During that war the main combatants—France, Germany, and Britain—produced a number of (often staged or partly staged) actualities, including The Battle of the Somme (UK, 1916), as well as a cycle of propagandist feature films (see propaganda). Peter Jackson’s They Shall Not Grow Old (UK/New Zealand, 2018), a compilation film marking the centenary of the end of World War I, reworks this material to poignant effect. In the US, D.W. Griffith’s Hearts of the World (1918) was sponsored by the British government and used actual footage from the front: its dramatic battle sequences and jingoistic sentiment would shape the genre as it developed further. Following the lead of Abel Gance’s J’accuse/I Accuse (France, 1919), All Quiet on the Western Front (Lewis Milestone, US, 1930) depicted the horrors of the trenches and reflected on the social causes of war, making it one of the very few examples of the genre (alongside La grande illusion/The Grand Illusion (Jean Renoir, France, 1937)) that can justifiably claim the title antiwar film. ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). War film. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 9 May. 2023
Finding library resources for ani-war films
Introductory reading(s)
A companion to the war film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W3 C66 2016ISBN: 9781118288894A Companion to the War Film contains 27 original essays that examine all aspects of the genre, from the traditional war film, to the new global nature of conflicts, and the diverse formats that war stories assume in today's digital culture. Includes new works from experienced and emerging scholars that expand the scope of the genre by applying fresh theoretical approaches and archival resources to the study of the war film Moves beyond the limited confines of "the combat film" to cover home-front films, international and foreign language films, and a range of conflicts and time periods. ...
Selected book title(s)
For no reason at all: thechanging narrative of the First World War in American film by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781496836946The years following the signing of the Armistice saw a transformation of traditional attitudes regarding military conflict as America attempted to digest the enormity and futility of the First World War. During these years popular film culture in the United States created new ways of addressing the impact of the war on both individuals and society. Filmmakers with direct experience of combat created works that promoted their own ideas about the depiction of wartime service-ideas that frequently conflicted with established, heroic tropes for the portrayal of warfare on film. ...Hansen eiga kara no koe: ano jidai ni modoranai tame ni by
Call Number: Baker-Berry Japan PN 1995.9 .A56 Y36 2017ISBN: 9784863291621This book discusses anti-war films from Japan.
Hollywood's World War I: motion picture images by Call Number: Baker-Berry D 522.23 .H65 1997ISBN: 9780879727567In this study of feature films and documentaries, Hollywood's World War I traces America's changing views over five decades, as filmmakers have focused on a crisis that still reverberates in our civic and spiritual lives.
Why we fought: America's wars in film and history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .W3 W53 2008ISBN: 9780813191911Film moves audiences like no other medium; both documentaries and feature films are especially remarkable for their ability to influence viewers. James Brady remarked that he joined the Marines to fight in Korea after seeing a John Wayne film, demonstrating how a motion picture can change the course of a human life -- in this case, launching the career of a major historian and novelist. In Why We Fought: America's Wars in Film and History, editors Peter C. Rollins and John E. O'Connor explore the complexities of war films, describing the ways in which such productions interpret history and illuminate American values, politics, and culture. This comprehensive volume covers representations of war in film from the American Revolution in the 18th century to today's global War on Terror. ...
World War II, film, and history by Call Number: Baker-Berry D 743.23 .W67 1996ISBN: 9780195099676The immediacy and perceived truth of the visual image, as well as film and television's ability to propel viewers back into the past, place the genre of the historical film in a special category. War films--including antiwar films--have established the prevailing public image of war in the twentieth century. For American audiences, the dominant image of trench warfare in World War I has been provided by feature films such as All Quiet on the Western Front and Paths of Glory. The image of combat in the Second World War has been shaped by films like Sands of Iwo Jima and The Longest Day. And despite claims for the alleged impact of widespread television coverage of the Vietnam War, it is actually films such as Apocalypse Now and Platoon which have provided the most powerful images of what is seen as the "reality" of that much disputed conflict. ...
Other library resource(s)
The Vietnam experience: a concise encyclopedia of American literature, songs, and films by Call Number: Baker-Berry DS 557.73 .H55 1998ISBN: 9780313301834The Vietnam War was one of the most painful and divisive events in American history. The conflict, which ultimately took the lives of 58,000 Americans and more than three million Vietnamese, became a subject of bitter and impassioned debate. The most dramatic, and frequently the most enduring, efforts to define and articulate America's ill-fated involvement in Vietnam emerged from popular culture. American journalists, novelists, playwrights, poets, songwriters, and filmmakers, many of them eyewitnesses, have created powerful, heartfelt works documenting their thoughts and beliefs about the war. By examining those works, this book provides readers with a fascinating resource that explores America's ongoing struggle to assess the war and its legacies. ...
War film from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286War films first appeared in 1898, a few years after the birth of the motion picture. Their subject was the Spanish-American War, which began shortly after the sinking of the USS Maine. From the beginning they proved a sensational draw for audiences who wanted information about the first major international conflict they and the country were experiencing. War films have remained a consistent attraction for viewers. ...
Selected film title(s)
Find more anti-war film titles through your favorite list online.
All quiet on the western front by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4192ISBN: 9780783230436A group of young World War I German recruits pass from idealism to disillusionment with war.
Grave of the fireflies = Hotaru no haka by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #624ISBN: 9781562197292Two orphans in war-time Kobe, Japan, face fire-bombs, hunger, homelessness, and despair as the war and their lives come to an end.
Paths of glory by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1133ISBN: 9780792841401The French General Staff, safely behind the lines, sends orders for what amounts to a suicide mission. To cover up their fatal blunder, three soldiers are arrested and made scapegoats. Captures the spirit of Humphrey Cobb's novel in presenting a harsh attack on the futility of war in general and World War I in particular. A blistering indictment of military politics.
Иди и смотри = Come and see by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16914The experiences of a young boy coming of age during the German occupation of Byelorussia during the Great Patriotic War.
