Skip to main content

Film Genres: Silent films

This guide highlights library resources for some of the more popular film genres.

Finding library resources for silent films

The Jones Media Center has a collection of silent films for viewing. To find them, you can do a subject search for "silent films." The first heading with over 180 entries contains most of the titles in the collection. Other subject headings are listed below.

If you want to find silent films from other countries, scroll down the list to see silent films followed by a country name. The entries under those headings are films produced in that country. However, don't overlook the list under the first heading. That list also contains foreign produced silent films.

To find books about silent films, look at the subject headings that contain "history and criticism." These books will discuss silent films in general or those produced in different countries.

Introductory reading(s)

Selected book titles

Finding articles & journals

Articles and other writings about movies can be found in many publications. Our collection has 2 journals which look at silent films. They are listed below. Other film journals within our collection will cover silent films. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find relevant articles. You can also use the SUMMON box below.

About?

Dartmouth Users: Using Summon from off-campus? You'll need VPN for access to full-text.

A Selected list of silent films

More silent films in the collections.

Internet resource(s)