Film Studies Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
The animated century by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2784Professors Elderberry and Horace introduce clips from 160 animated films from 26 countries. They discuss the most significant animated films of the past 100 years.
Animation & the animated film from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286For many years, animation received minimal recognition as a significant form of cinematic and artistic expression. A seemingly irrevocable process of marginalization and dismissal has been arrested, however, by the enduring presence of animation festivals worldwide, the rise of animation studies in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and the exponential rise in animation production in all sectors of media, culture, and the arts.
Computer animation celebration by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #73ISBN: 9781573308960A collection of computer-animated short films.
Dartmouth Animation (Facebook)Call Number: Electronic resourceEach year, students creating animation projects screen them for the Dartmouth Community. This is there Facebook page.- John Whitney Sr. byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #9920Robert Gardner interviews John Whitney and fellow animator Eric Martin on the inaugural episode of "Screening Room" in 1972. "Abstract computer animator, inventor and digital pioneer John Whitney Sr. (1917-1995) is widely considered the 'father of computer graphics.'
Norman McLarenCall Number: Jones Media DVD #3394 discs 1-2, bookExplores the creative process and techniques of Norman McLaren, artist, cinematographer and animator; includes excerpts from McLaren's film vaults, interviews and narration.- Student Animation Work (Film & Media Studies)Call Number: Electronic resourceYou can see examples of students' animation work on the department's web site.
- William Kentridge: drawing the passing: documentaryCall Number: Jones Media Video tape #3493In November 1998, filmmaker Reinhard Wulf and art historian Maria Anna Tappeiner visited Kentridge's Johannesburg studio to film the artist at work. The resulting documentary records Kentridge in the final stages of animating Stereoscope. It includes excerpts from the finished film, plus Kentridge's reflections on his work and the process of making it.
Internet resource(s)
- Animation from the National Film Board of Canada (NFB)
Their Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. - Association International du Film d'Animation (ASIFA)
The official site of the International Animated Film Association. It was founded in 1960 in Annecy (France) by the most famous animation artists of that time (like Norman McLaren & many others). The goal of ASIFA International is to promote cultural understanding through the art of animation. - Best Animated Short Films from Short of the WeekThey want to discover and promote the greatest and most innovative storytellers from around the world.
- The Big Cartoon Database (BCDB)The BCDB Is a Giant Directory of Cartoon Episode Guides, Cast and Crew Information, Animated Film Lists, Cartoon Character Registry and Cartoon Pictures.
- Don Markstein's Toonopedia
The author's attempt to gather and share information and observations about the toon world — a "toon" being anything that's done in cartoon form, such as animated films, comic books, etc. - Ottawa International Animation FestivalThe aim of the festival is to foster the development and growth of animation talent found within our country and region. Our animators and animation companies are among the most creative and successful in the world. The Ottawa festival helps them achieve both artistic excellence and commercial success.
- Richard's Animated DivotsThis site has a Chronology of Animation, animation filmographies, a Bibliography of Animation and other links. No longer current.
- Society for Animation StudiesThe Society for Animation Studies (SAS) has supported the study of animation since 1987.
- UCLA's Preserved Silent AnimationThe collection of animation at UCLA Film & Television Archive from the years 1930-1950 is practically without peer. Nitrate prints of classic cartoons abound, as do original negatives or best-surviving printing elements for many of the films from animation’s “golden era.”
Find new books in the library's collections
Find new books on animated films. Starting from 2022 to the present.
Introduction
Resources about Animation and Animated films are split between two libraries. Sherman Art Library has a wide range of books about animation and the art of drawing animation. Most books would be in the call number range NC 1765 through NC 1766. Baker-Berry Library has books on animated films, their history and criticism with the call number of PN 1997.5 on Baker Level 4.
The Jones Media Center, in Baker-Berry Library, has a collection of short and feature length animated films. The Subject heading "animated films" in the online catalog will show you lists of films, lists of films from various countries and books about those films in general.
Finding library resources about Animation
If you are looking for a specific animated film title, do a search in the online catalog. If we have it, a record will display. If we do not have a particular title, and it is something you think the library's collection should have, you can always "Request a purchase" for the library to buy the title. Making a request does not guarantee the purchase, but it lets us know about our users' interests.
Suggested subject headings to search the online catalog:
- animated films [... name of country ...]You can narrow this search by added the name of a country. See the link below.
- animated films history and criticismThis subject search finds works which discuss and critique this particular genre.
- animation (cinematography)You can narrow this search by added the name of a country.
Introductory reading(s)
The animation bible: a practical guide to the art of animating, from flipbooks to Flash by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1765 .F86 2008bISBN: 9780810995451The Animation Bible is the first book any aspiring animator will want to own--and with increasingly affordable tools for digital animation and the vast forum of the Internet for free distribution, animation is becoming more popular than ever. Animation authority Maureen Furniss covers every aspect of production, from finding a concept, choosing a medium, and creating characters all the way to getting the end result screened and distributed. ...
The animation studies reader by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1765 .A544 2019ISBN: 9781501332616The Animation Studies Reader brings together both key writings within animation studies and new material in emerging areas of the field. The collection provides readers with seminal texts that ground animation studies within the contexts of theory and aesthetics, form and genre, and issues of representation. ...
The A to Z of animation and cartoons by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780810876231Animation was once a relatively simple matter, using fairly primitive means to produce rather short films of subjects that were generally comedic and often quite childish. However, things have changed, and they continue changing at a maddening pace. One new technique after another has made it easier, faster, and above all cheaper to produce the material, which has taken on an increasing variety of forms. The A to Z of Animation and Cartoons is an introduction to all aspects of animation history and its development as a technology and industry beyond the familiar cartoons from the Disney and Warner Bros. Studios. ...
Cartoons and animated films from the Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780123876706Cartoons, usually with a political or humorous content reproduced in periodicals on some topical subject, are associated primarily with the United States, where their presence has been most pronounced. The earliest, the political cartoon, became an integral part of general circulation newspapers. Newspapers provided the medium for the development of the comic strip. ...
David Ehrlich: citoyen du monde = citizen of the world by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .U52 E47 2002ISBN: 9782910027803David Ehrlich is an independent animator teaching at Dartmouth College. Whether teaching animation workshops to children in Havana and Karachi or by headlining the First Animated Hologram Symposium in Zagreb, Yugoslavia, he is peerless in his field. In the last twenty years, he has made primarily independent abstract, animated films, garnering praise and recognition from all corners of the international film world. This bilingual text is divided into four parts: a short, amusing biography of Ehrlich; a deep analysis of his filmography and style; a dialogue between Ehrlich and the author; and anecdotes and commentary from other directors and animators throughout the world. ...
Frame by frame: a materialist aesthetics of animated cartoons by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520972773In this beautifully written and deeply researched study, Hannah Frank provides an original way to understand American animated cartoons from the Golden Age of animation (1920-1960). In the pre-digital age of the twentieth century, the making of cartoons was mechanized and standardized: thousands of drawings were inked and painted onto individual transparent celluloid sheets (called "cels") and then photographed in succession, a labor-intensive process that was divided across scores of artists and technicians. In order to see the art, labor, and technology of cel animation, Frank slows cartoons down to look frame by frame, finding hitherto unseen aspects of the animated image. ...
Voice-over for animation by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .V63 W75 2009 textISBN: 9780240810157Voice Over for Animation takes animation and voice-over students and professionals alike through the animated voice-over world. The book provides information, exercises, and advice from professional voice-over artists. Now you can develop your own unique characters, and learn techniques to exercise your own voice gain the versatility you need to compete. ...
Selected book title(s)
Animating culture: Hollywood cartoons from the sound era by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .U5 S66 1993ISBN: 9780813519494Long considered "children's entertainment" by audiences and popular media, Hollywood animation has received little serious attention. Eric Smoodin's Animating Culture is the first and only book to thoroughly analyze the animated short film. Usually running about seven or eight minutes, cartoons were made by major Hollywood studios--such as MGM, Warner Bros., and Disney--and shown at movie theaters along with a newsreel and a feature-length film. Smoodin explores animated shorta and the system that mass-produced them. ...
Art in motion: animation aesthetics by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1765 .F87 1998ISBN: 9781864620399A comprehensive examination of the aesthetics of animation in its many forms. This work is a useful resource for researchers, students and anyone with a serious interest in animation. It provides analyses of animation produced throughout the world. It overviews the relationship between animation studies and media studies.
The art of Pixar short films by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .U52 P5833 2009ISBN: 9780811866064While Pixar Animation Studios was creating beloved feature-length films such as Monsters Inc., Ratatouille, and WALL-E, it was simultaneously testing animation and storytelling techniques in dozens of memorable short films. Andre and Wally B proved that computer animation was possible; Tin Toy laid the groundwork for what would become Toy Story; and Mike's New Car exposed Pixar's finely tuned funny bone. In The Art of Pixar Short Films, animation expert and short film devotee Amid Amidi shines a spotlight on these and many more memorable vignettes from the Pixar archive.
The art of Ray Harryhausen by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766 .U52 H37 2006ISBN: 9780823084005Profiling the works of the greatest animator in movie history, this lavishly illustrated volume is an enlightening follow-up to Ray Harryhausen: An Animated Life. 286 illustrations, 211 in full color.- Between genius & utter illiteracy: a story of Estonian animation byCall Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766.E75 R63 2003ISBN: 9789985307229
Cartooning in Latin America by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 6790 .S645 C37 2005ISBN: 9781572735606Cartoons and comics have played important roles in the political and social processes of Latin America for more than a century. This book coalesces, for the first time in one volume, aspects of comic art of the entire region, capturing historical backgrounds, documenting trends, problems and situations of comic art in contemporary settings, and profiling cartoonists, comics characters, titles and genres. ...
Hollywood flatlands: animation, critical theory and the avant-garde by Call Number: Baker-Berry TR 897.5 .L47 2002ISBN: 9781859846124With ruminations on drawing, color and caricature, on the political meaning of fairy-tales, talking animals and human beings as machines, Hollywood Flatlands brings to light the links between animation, avant-garde art and modernist criticism. Focusing on the work of aesthetic and political revolutionaries of the inter-war period, Esther Leslie reveals how the animation of commodities can be studied as a journey into modernity in cinema. ...- The Illusion of life: essays on animation byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1997.5 .I45 1991ISBN: 9780909952181
Living life inside the lines: tales from the golden age of animation by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1766.U5 S54 2005ISBN: 9781578067497Martha Sigall worked with all the classic cartoon characters-Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Tom & Jerry, Droopy Dawg, Beany & Cecil, Tweety, and Porky Pig-and the madcap artists who created them-Chuck Jones, Tex Avery, Bob Clampett, Frank Tashlin, Friz Freleng, William Hanna and Joseph Barbera, Bill Melendez, and Ben (Bugs) Hardaway. As a teenager Sigall became an apprentice painter working in the Golden Age of Hollywood at the Leon Schlesinger studio, making $12.75 per week coloring animation cels that would introduce Bugs Bunny and Elmer Fudd to the world. She recounts her wild and wonderful experiences with the Warner Bros. cartoon crew, working and laughing all day with the animators, partying all night with the Looney Tunes gang on the bowling and baseball teams, and participating in weekend scavenger hunts. ...
Unsung heroes of animation by Call Number: Sherman Art Library NC 1765 .R62 2005ISBN: 9780861966653When future cinema archaeologists dig deep into the history of the art form that was animation, and its artists, during the late 20th and early 21st centuries, this excellent collection of insightful biographical essays by Chris Robinson, a modern Vasari, will provide invaluable illumination.... Robinson is the perfect guide, viewing as he does over 1,000 animated films a year. His book focuses on a world of little-known, fiercely independent contemporary animators. ...
The world history of animation by Call Number: Sherman Art Library TR 897.5 .C38 2011ISBN: 9780520261129Lavishly illustrated and encyclopedic in scope, The World History of Animation tells the genre's 100-year-old story around the globe, featuring key players in Europe, North America, and Asia. ...
Yellow crocodiles and blue oranges: Russian animated film since world war two by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .R8 M33 2005ISBN: 9780773528710Yellow Crocodiles and Blue Oranges is a comprehensive history that reveals the revolutionary spirit and philosophical underpinnings of Russian animation.
A selected list of Animated titles in the library's collections
Find more animated films in the library's collections.
75th annual Academy Awards short filmsCall Number: Jones Media DVD #2099ISBN: 9781594640391A collection of short films nominated for the 2003 75th Annual Academy Awards. Includes an extra feature on how to submit a short film to the Academy.
Allegro non troppo by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4013ISBN: 9780780027916Master animator Bruno Bozzetto offers his irreverent tribute to Disney's Fantasia. Transcending parody, this erotic, satiric, and delirious animated film featuring six classical music pieces represents Bozzetto's vision of the world. Humorous live action scenes of the animator and an elderly all-women orchestra led by a lively conductor are interspersed with the animated shorts.
Antz by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #453ISBN: 9780783231471Life is no picnic for Z, a small worker ant with some very big ideas, whose chances with the beautiful Princess Bala are literally one in a billion. When Z convinces his soldier ant buddy to switch places with him, his simple life takes a wild turn.
Belleville rendez-vousCall Number: Jones Media DVD #1726ISBN: 9781404948570A bicyclist is kidnapped from the Tour de France by mysterious gangsters; his grandmother travels to the city of Belleville (which has a sardonic version of the Statue of Liberty in its harbor), where she tracks him down with the help of a musical trio gone to seed, the Belleville Triplets.
The best of Betty BoopCall Number: Jones Media DVD #3813 discs 1-2A collection of short films about a curvaceous young woman released between 1933 and 1939.
The brave little toaster to the rescueCall Number: Jones Media DVD #2575ISBN: 9780788845604Toaster and his appliance friends make new friends at the veterinary school hospital where their human Rob works. When they discover that the animals are about to be sent to a testing laboratory they embark on another adventure to rescue their new friends.
Cartoon noir by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #636Abductees (Paul Vester) five tales of alien abduction. Ape (Julie Zammarchi) a grouchy, married couple battle daily over their nightly dinner--a cooked, whole monkey. Club of the Discarded (Jiri Barta) a family of discarded mannequins enjoy a quiet life in an abandoned warehouse until a group of hipster mannequins move in and ruin the neighborhood. Gentle Spirit (Piotr Dumala) depicts the psychological landscape--fraught with entrapment and violence--between a young woman and an ominous male figure. Joy Street (Suzan Pitt) story of a woman's journey from suicidal despair to personal renewal, with the help of an unlikely spirit guide. The Story of the Cat and the Moon (Pedro Serrazina) a Portuguese mini-epic of unrequited love follows a cat who is beguiled by an always out-of-reach moon.
Die Abenteuer des Prinzen Achmed: ein Silhouetten Film = The adventures of Prince Achmed: a silhouette film by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12645ISBN: 9783898487504An African sorcerer conjures up a flying horse, which he shows to the Caliph. When the sorcerer refuses to sell it for any amount of gold, the Caliph offers any treasure he has. The sorcerer chooses Dinarsade, the Caliph's daughter, to her great distress. Prince Achmed, Dinarsade's brother, objects, but the sorcerer persuades him to try out the horse. It carries the prince away, higher and higher into the sky, as he does not know how to control it. The Caliph has the sorcerer imprisoned. ...
Neither the original negatives nor a full version of the original film survives. This version was restored from an all-but-complete nitrate positive preserved in the BFI's National Film and Television Archive, with German-language intertitles copied from Dulac's original designs, by the Deutsches Filmmuseum, Frankfurt am Main.
Looney tunes by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1748 disc 1-4ISBN: 9780790781761Featuring some of the very earliest, ground-breaking on-screen appearances of many all-time Looney Tunes favorites, it's an unprecedented celebration for cartoon-lovers eager to re-live the heady, hilarious, golden age of Warner Bros. animation. Fifty-six landmark animated marvels, including Bugs Bunny, in a dazzling assortment of his very best toons. Also highlighted: the ever-flustered Daffy Duck and eternal straight-man Porky Pig. ...
Madagascar by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9206ISBN: 9781417073535A lion and zebra and two other of their pampered friends, from New York's Central Park Zoo, accidentally find themselves on a ship heading for Africa. When their vessel is hijacked, they become shipwrecked on the exotic island of Madagascar where they discover it really is a jungle out there!
Mary and Max by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #10357ISBN: 9780788613012Mary is a lonely eight-year-old in the suburbs of Melbourne. Struggling with questions that no one can answer, she writes to Max, an obese 44-year-old Jewish man with Asperger's Syndrome living in New York City, which starts a friendship that spans 20 years and two continents.
Sala samobójców = Suicide room by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #14838A series of humiliating events 100 days before his graduation pushes privileged Dominik into the virtual world for comfort. He begins spending all his time as an avatar in the 'Suicide Room', but soon his online adventures begin to dangerously bleed into his real life. Breathtaking animated sequences draw the viewer into the virtual world portrayed in this psychological drama of a teenager trying to escape the torment of bullying.
The secret of Kells by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #14812ISBN: 9781422992371Young Brendan lives in a remote medieval outpost under siege from barbarian raids. But a new life of adventure beckons when a celebrated master illuminator arrives from foreign lands carrying an ancient but unfinished book, brimming with secret wisdom and powers. To help complete the magical book, Brendan has to overcome his deepest fears on a dangerous quest that takes him into the enchanted forest where mythical creatures hide. It is here that he meets the fairy Aisling, a mysterious young wolf-girl, who helps him along the way. But with the barbarians closing in, will Brendan's determination and artistic vision illuminate the darkness and show that enlightenment is the best fortification against evil?
Tekkonkinkreet by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7934ISBN: 9781424857210In Treasure Town, life can be both gentle and brutal. This is never truer than for our heroes, Black and White, two street urchins who watch over the city, doing battle with an array of old-world Yakuza and alien assassins vying to rule the decaying metropolis. When foreign investors want to destroy the town and turn it to an amusement park, they face their greatest adversaries yet.
Toki o kakeru shōjo = The girl who leapt through time by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12793ISBN: 9781594099854Something strange has happened to Makoto Konno. Time has suddenly stopped and moved her backwards. Unfortunately, her carefree time-traveling has adverse effects on the people she cares for.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about movies can be found in many publications. Our collection does include a couple of journals looking at animation in film. Other film journals within our collection will cover animation in film. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find relevant articles or the search box at the top of the page.
Animation studies: peer reviewed online journal for animation history and theory by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Society for Animation Studies published Animation Studies.
Animation magazine by Call Number: Electronic journalThis is a trade publication the covers all aspects of the animation industry.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this film genre.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
