Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Selected movie titles
Find more Indigenous films in the library's collections.
Once were warriors by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15498ISBN: 9780780643383In a poor suburb of Auckland, Jake and Beth Heke live a life defined by drunken parties, unstable friendships, and confrontations with authorities. Jake, a complex man with a rascal's charm, is weighted down by a quick temper, alcoholism, and an evil streak of male entitlement. Beth's beauty has been scarred by broken dreams and Jake's beefy fists. Yet her inner strength and desire to save her family make her the solid center around which this story of tragedy and hope is constructed.
Standing on sacred ground. Islands of sanctuary by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #17319ISBN: 9781937772970Native Hawaiians and Aboriginal Australians resist threats to their sacred places in a growing international movement to defend human rights and protect the environment. In Australia's Northern Territory, Aboriginal clans maintain Indigenous Protected Areas and resist the destructive effects of a mining boom. In Hawaii, indigenous ecological and spiritual practices are used to restore the sacred island of Kahoolawe after 50 years of military use as a bombing range.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Introduction to Indigenous films
Films made by, for, and about indigenous and aboriginal peoples in various parts of the world. Among the earliest known indigenous films are those made by Navajo people as part of an experiment in indigenous image production conducted in the 1960s by US visual anthropologists Sol Worth and John Adair in an attempt at understanding ‘native’ ways of seeing the world (see ethnographic film). Indigenous peoples across the Americas soon became actively involved in self-representation through film and video production. In 1969, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) started producing films by native people as part of its ‘Challenge for Change’ training programme for indigenous filmmakers. Since the late 1960s in Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, and elsewhere in Latin America, documentary and political filmmaking has included work with and by native communities, often through the activities of grassroots video collectives (see politics and film). Many of these initiatives have involved setting up local independent arrangements for broadcasting, distributing, and exhibiting films and videos; while the work is also screened for international audiences at festivals devoted to indigenous films from around the world. The majority of indigenous films have been non-fictions, with influential examples including Yawar Mallku/Blood of the Condor (Jorge Sanjinés, 1968), a film by the Ukamau group in Bolivia about the forced sterilization of native women by US aid agencies; and NFB-based Abenaki filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin’s Kanensatake: 270 Years of Resistance (1993), documenting a standoff between native peoples and the government over a land dispute. Obomsawin is regarded as a key figure in the development of indigenous media in North America; as is Hopi filmmaker Victor Masayevsa, Jr, whose films and videos include Itam Hakim Hopiit (1980), featuring Hopi storytelling. Among indigenous filmmakers working in Australasia are Essie Coffey (My Survival as an Aboriginal (Australia, 1979)) and Tracey Moffatt (Nice Coloured Girls (Australia, 1987)). Films by Sami, the indigenous people of the Scandinavian Arctic, include Ofelaš/Pathfinder (Nils Gaup, Norway, 1987), which was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film; and Kautokeino-opprøret/The Kautokeino Rebellion (Nils Gaup, Denmark/Norway/Sweden, 2008), a feature film about an ethnic-religious Sami revolt in 1852. ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Indigenous film. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 10 Jan. 2021
In the library's collections/Searching the online catalog
- indigenous filmsYou can add a country's name to the search to see what we may have in the collections.
- indigenous peoples in motion picturesCall number range is PN 1995.9 .I49 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Global Indigenous media: cultures, poetics, and politics by Call Number: Baker-BerryISBN: 9780822343080In this exciting interdisciplinary collection, scholars, activists, and media producers explore the emergence of Indigenous media: forms of media expression conceptualized, produced, and created by Indigenous peoples around the globe. Whether discussing Maori cinema in New Zealand or activist community radio in Colombia, the contributors describe how native peoples use both traditional and new media to combat discrimination, advocate for resources and rights, and preserve their cultures, languages, and aesthetic traditions. ...
Native features: indigenous films from around the world by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .I49 W66 2008ISBN: 9780826428455Native Features is the first book to look at feature films made by Indigenous people, one of the world's newest and fastest growing categories of cinema. The book provides easy to understand guidelines to help viewers appreciate the more than 50 Indigenous features now in circulation. Native Features shows how movies made by Native peoples throughout the world often strengthen older cultures while they simultaneously correct stereotypes found in non-Indigenous films. ...
The new media nation: Indigenous peoples and global communication by Call Number: Baker-Berry GN 380 .A45 2010ISBN: 9781845454203Around the planet, Indigenous people are using old and new technologies to amplify their voices and broadcast information to a global audience. This is the first portrait of a powerful international movement that looks both inward and outward, helping to preserve ancient languages and cultures while communicating across cultural, political, and geographical boundaries. ...
Reverse shots: Indigenous film and media in an international context by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .I49 R48 2015ISBN: 9781554583355From the dawn of cinema, images of Indigenous peoples have been dominated by Hollywood stereotypes and often negative depictions from elsewhere around the world. With the advent of digital technologies, however, many Indigenous peoples are working to redress the imbalance in numbers and counter the negativity. The contributors to Reverse Shots offer a unique scholarly perspective on current work in the world of Indigenous film and media. Chapters focus primarily on Canada, Australia, and New Zealand and cover areas as diverse as the use of digital technology in the creation of Aboriginal art, the healing effects of Native humour in First Nations documentaries, and the representation of the pre-colonial in films from Australia, Canada, and Norway.
Selected book title(s)
The fourth eye: Māori media in Aotearoa New Zealand by Call Number: Baker-Berry DU 423 .A1 F67 2013ISBN: 9780816681044From the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi between Indigenous and settler cultures to the emergence of the first-ever state-funded Māori television network, New Zealand has been a hotbed of Indigenous concerns. Given its history of colonization, coping with biculturalism is central to New Zealand life. Much of this "bicultural drama" plays out in the media and is molded by an anxiety surrounding the ongoing struggle over citizenship rights that is seated within the politics of recognition. The Fourth Eye brings together Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars to provide a critical and comprehensive account of the intricate and complex relationship between the media and Māori culture. ...
From filmmaker warriors to flash drive shamans: Indigenous media production and engagement in Latin America by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826522115From Filmmaker Warriors to Flash Drive Shamans broadens the base of research on Indigenous media in Latin America through thirteen chapters that explore groups such as the Kayapó of Brazil, the Mapuche of Chile, the Kichwa of Ecuador, and the Ayuuk of Mexico, among others, as they engage video, DVDs, photography, television, radio, and the internet. ...- Global Indigenous media: cultures, poetics, and politics by Call Number: Baker-BerryISBN: 9780822343080In this exciting interdisciplinary collection, scholars, activists, and media producers explore the emergence of Indigenous media: forms of media expression conceptualized, produced, and created by Indigenous peoples around the globe. Whether discussing Maori cinema in New Zealand or activist community radio in Colombia, the contributors describe how native peoples use both traditional and new media to combat discrimination, advocate for resources and rights, and preserve their cultures, languages, and aesthetic traditions. ...
Native recognition: Indigenous cinema and the western by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781438443973Offers a new interpretation of the century-long relationship between the Western film genre and Native American filmmaking.
The open invitation: activist video, Mexico, and the politics of affect by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822965749The Open Invitation explores the relationship between prefigurative politics and activist video. Schiwy analyzes activist videos from the 2006 uprising in Oaxaca; the Zapatista's Other Campaign, as well as collaborative and community video from the Yucatán. Schiwy argues that transnational activist videos and community videos in indigenous languages reveal collaborations and that their political impact cannot be grasped through the concept of the public sphere. ...
Smoke signals: native cinema rising by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780803219274Smoke Signals is a historical milestone in Native American film-making. Released in 1998 and based on a short-story collection by Sherman Alexie, it was the first wide-release feature film written, directed, co-produced, and acted by Native Americans. The most popular Native American film of all time, Smoke Signals is also an innovative work of cinematic storytelling that demands sustained critical attention in its own right. Embedded in Smoke Signals's universal story of familial loss and renewal are uniquely Indigenous perspectives about political sovereignty, Hollywood's long history of misrepresentation, and the rise of Indigenous cinema across the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. ...
Unsettling sights: the fourth world on film by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780809385737Unsettling Sights: The Fourth World on Film examines the politics of representing Aboriginality, in the process bringing frequently marginalized voices and visions, issues and debates into the limelight. Corinn Columpar uses film theory, postcolonial theory, and Indigenous theory to frame her discussion of the cinematic construction and transnational circulation of Aboriginality. ...
Other library resource(s)
In Focus: Indigenous performance networks: media, community, activism by Call Number: Electronic journalMāori writer, director, and performer Taika Waititi’s land acknowledgment at the 2020 Academy Awards ceremony might be the biggest Indigenous moment at the Oscars since 1973, when Marlon Brando declined his award and Sacheen Littlefeather took the microphone in his place to make a statement supporting the American Indian Movement’s occupation of Wounded Knee. ...- Bibliography of Indigenous peoples of North America (BIPNA) byCall Number: Electronic resourceBibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BIPNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Alternative journalism from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Communication by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199756841What constitutes alternative journalism? In the literature the term encompasses a wide range of practices, from a simple description of the marginal (ethnic minorities, amateur publications, dissidents, etc.) to a focus on the type of information presented or the practice of a politically engaged or oppositional journalism. ...
Indigenous media from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineCall Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Publication Date: Pamela Wilson, Joanna Hearne, Amalia Córdova, Sabra ThornerIndigenous media may be defined as forms of media expression conceptualized, produced, and circulated by indigenous peoples around the globe as vehicles for communication, including cultural preservation, cultural and artistic expression, political self-determination, and cultural sovereignty. Indigenous media overlap with, and are on a spectrum with, other types of minority-produced media, and quite often they share a kinship regarding many philosophical and political motivations. Indigenous media studies allow us access to the micro-processes of what Roland Robertson has famously called “glocalization”—in this case, the interpenetration of global media technologies with hyperlocal needs, creatively adapted to work within and sustain the local culture rather than to replace it or homogenize it, as some globalization theorists have long feared. ...- Native Americans from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286What role have fictionalized American “Indians”—and real, living, breathing Native Americans—played in America’s story about itself? Bataille 2001 (cited under Early, Colonial, and Exhibition Images of American Indians) notes that Native Americans have been mythologized by anthropologists, the tourist industry, and popular culture, which have created the “Indian that never was.”
Finding scholarly articles and journals for Indigenous films
You can find literature about Indigenous films in a variety of publications. However, you can use Web of Science to find scholarly or peer-reviewed articles quickly.
AlterNative: an international journal of Indigenous Peoples by Call Number: Electronic journalAlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal. They aim to present scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. ...
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- 30 Indigenous Films from the NFB You Ought to See from Point of View MagazineFor Indigenous history month last June, I posted a title every day from the NFB’s rich and under known collection of films by Indigenous directors. COVID quarantine seems like a good time to bring back that list: [Michelle van Beusekom, 05/04/2020]
- American Indian Film GalleryThe AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest.
- American Indian Film InstituteAIFI recognizes the continuing opportunity and responsibility to empower American Indian voices by weaving the possibilities of film as a transformational storytelling tool into the fabric of Native communities, and by bringing our stories and voices in the mainstream.
- American Indians in Film and TelevisionThe AIIFT is an advocacy group that endeavors to defend and enhance the interests of American Indians in the mediums of film, television and telecommunications.
- American Indians in Silent Film - LoC
This is an annotated list of silent fiction and non-fiction films with substantial American Indian content that are in the collections of the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division of the Library of Congress. - Film & Media from the National Museum of the American Indian
To highlight the creative work of talented Native Americans in film and offer the public insight into contemporary issues and ways of life in Native communities, the National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C., and New York City screens feature films, documentaries, experimental films, and short works by indigenous and independent filmmakers. ... - Indian Country Today
Indian Country Today is a nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. Their digital platform covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is also a public media broadcast carried via public television stations, including FNX: First Nations Experience and Arizona PBS World channel. - Indigenous cinema at the NFB
Their Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. They showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more. - Indigenous Peoples Through Film & DocumentaryThis site was created to show solidarity for all of the indigenous peoples of the world.
- Red Nation Film Festival... The Authentic Voice of American Indian & Indigenous Cinema, is dedicated to breaking the barrier of racism by successfully replacing American Indian stereotype with recognition, new vision, arts, culture and economic prosperity by placing American Indian Filmmakers at the forefront of the entertainment industry and to introduce American Indian Filmmakers to larger, global mainstream audiences while establishing relations between the American Indian community and the entertainment industry.
