Film Studies Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Streaming statistics on the internet
- Flixpatrol
FlixPatrol gathers all possible streaming data about movies and TV shows to help producers better understand viewers’ taste and popularity moods to create better and more successful movies and TV shows.
Introduction
This page highlights the streaming video services to which the Library subscribes. The films in these databases are available for viewing, creating clips and making comments. Remember, if you are off-campus, you must run VPN first before viewing any film.
Netflix - Educational Screenings of documentaries
Netflix allows educational viewing of some of its documentaries. To view these documentaries, you must have your own personal Netflix account. The library does not have an account. Please abide by the rules Netflix has set for access to these films.
Some Netflix original educational documentaries are available for one-time educational screenings.
To find out which titles are available for educational screenings, visit media.netflix.com and search for the title or browse our recent and upcoming releases.
Titles that are available for educational screening will display either the following Grant of Permission or an Educational Screenings Permission (ESP) on their details page:
Grant of Permission for Educational Screenings
Netflix is proud to present original programming that speaks to our users in a meaningful way. We know that many of you are as excited about these films and series as we are, and because of their informational aspects, you’d like to show them in an educational setting -- e.g., in the classroom, at the next meeting of your community group, with your book club, etc. Consequently, we will permit one-time educational screenings of any of the titles noted with this information, on the following terms:
The film or series may only be accessed via the Netflix service, by a Netflix account holder. We don’t sell DVDs, nor can we provide other ways for you to exhibit the film.
The screening must be non-profit and non-commercial. That means you can’t charge admission, or solicit donations, or accept advertising or commercial sponsorships in connection with the screening.
Please don’t use Netflix’s logos in any promotion for the screening, or do anything else that indicates that the screening is “official” or endorsed by Netflix.
"One-time screening" means that you can't hold screenings several times in one day or one week - but if, for example, you're an educator who wants to show these films or series once a semester over multiple semesters, that's okay.
We trust our users to respect these guidelines, which are intended to help you share and discuss our content in your community.
To the extent your institution requires you to demonstrate that you have a license for your screening, please show them this page.
[This text is taken from the Netflix Help Center, 01/26/2023]
Streaming services
Before going directly to one of the streaming services below, please check the library's online catalog first. If we have the film on DVD, we will not usually buy access to the film via one of the services (if available). If this is something needed for a course, please list the film(s) on your course reserve list. Baker ReservesThe Center can help you with alternative access or lend you a DVD player.
When completing your Reserves list for a course, include ALL of the films you need including any titles found in one of the streaming services. Not all titles in the various services are available for viewing. This also helps us know what is being used and what is needed.
If you have any questions about the streaming services or what is available from them, please contact your subject librarian or Lucinda M. Hall.
Asian film online: volumes 1 & 2 by Call Number: Electronic resourceAsian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. ...
Asian theatre video by Call Number: Streaming videoAsian Theater Video is a bundle of 27 films and instructional programs for introductory and advanced studies in Asian culture.
AVON: Academic Video Online by Call Number: Streaming videoAVON includes selected content from almost every Alexander Street Press individual video collection, and also many other videos not in those collections. The database covers the following subject areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women's studies.
BroadwayHD by Call Number: Streaming videoAn exclusive collection of recorded live theater plays and musicals. The complete collection includes 25 performances from the New York theater scene for educational streaming.
Classical performance in video by Call Number: Streaming videoThis is a database of video resources for the study of classical music. Users can experience classical music through 1,600 performances, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, as well as masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews.
Criterion collection by Call Number: Streaming videoKanopy includes a large selection of the Criterion Collection. SEE NOTE BELOW ON HOW KANOPY WORKS.
Dance online by Call Number: Streaming videoThis searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Digital theatre+ by Call Number: Electronic resourceDigital Theatre+ provides online access to a streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions, musicals, and operas. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. ...
Digitalia film libraryCall Number: Streaming videoA collection of streaming films and documentaries from Spain, Latin America, the African continent and other countries. The library also contains a collection of classic North American films.- Digitalia film library. North American classic cinemaCall Number: Streaming videoBesides cinema from around the world, this library also contains a collection of classic North American films.
Docuseek2 complete collection by Call Number: Streaming videoThis database provides educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films. Topics covered include business and economics, health care, humanities, performing arts, and social sciences.
This collection includes the Sustainability Collection.
Ethnographic video online: volumes 1 & 2 by Call Number: Streaming videoEthnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.- Ethnographic video online: volume 3: Indigenous voices by Call Number: Streaming videoThe role of the traditional ethnographer is changing as the perspectives and epistemologies of Indigenous peoples have taken on central significance in the discipline, challenging earlier representations and implicit “us versus them” constructs. In order to create a platform for indigenous voices to address issues from indigenous perspectives, they have dedicated the third volume of the ethnographic film series to Indigenous filmmakers.
Global environmental justice film collection by Call Number: Streaming videoThis is a curated collection of 35 documentaries that cover a wide range of subject areas, from Asian, environmental, and Indigenous studies to law, geography, anthropology, global health, policy, conservation biology, and more.
Meet the Press by Call Number: Streaming videoThis database includes over 1,500 hours of footage for the news program 'Meet the Press.' Programs are dated from 1947 to the present for surviving shows.- Met Opera on Demand byCall Number: Streaming mediaStream hundreds of opera productions on video from the Metropolitan Opera in New York City. Video recordings feature side by side English translations and allow you to quickly jump to your favorite arias and scenes with a simple click. You can also access radio broadcasts from the Met dating back to 1936.
New world cinema: independent features & shorts, 1990-present by Call Number: Streaming videoThe collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative. The narratives provide a window into a wide range of cultures and sociological issues around the world.
PBS video collection by Call Number: Streaming videoPublication Date: 4th ed.This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
Projectr by Call Number: Streaming video collectionProjectr calls itself a platform for watching independent films. Projectr partners with educational institutions and public libraries throughout North America to present a curated and ever-expanding collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world.
Silent film online by Call Number: Streaming videoSilent Film Online contains more than 1,000 streaming online titles. These films represent the foundation of modern cinematic technique and film theory.
Swank digital campus by Call Number: Streaming videoWe now offers access to streaming movies for academic use, obtained through Swank Digital Campus. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, documentary providers, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of more than 1,000 film titles. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms.
Theatre in video: volumes 1 & 2 by Call Number: Streaming videoThis database contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays are presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and the technical and cultural differences among the presentations.
How Kanopy works
An Explanation of How Kanopy Works
The Kanopy service has a distinctive business model which is based on setting up an account at the beginning of the financial year. The service is patron-driven and draws down from that annually budgeted account as films are selected by our patrons. This “patron driven” model is really rather different than an annual subscription model such as you might find with Netflix or Amazon. When using Kanopy, after the third view of a film (defined as 30 seconds or more) we are charged a license activation fee which supplies all patrons unlimited access to that particular film (not all films) for 1-year. When the 1-year license expires then the process repeats, and we potentially pay again for that same film for another year. However, a new account is set up at the beginning of each new financial year.
[Text courtesy of Kenneth Peterson, Associate Librarian for Access and Collections Strategies, 5/2019]
For another perspective on Kanopy, please see Chris Cagle's commentary in Film Quarterly.
PLEASE NOTE: Kanopy films are not available for casual viewing. Please check the online catalog to see if we have the film available in another streaming service or on DVD. If we have the film on DVD, contact the Jones Media Center about access to the film.
Kanopy streaming by Call Number: Streaming videoKanopy Streaming is a media streaming service to which Dartmouth subscribes. There are several collections in this service including Criterion, the DEFA Library, foreign language films and many documentaries.
Internet resource(s)
These internet sites help you determine what is available for streaming and where you can find it. It does not mean the Library has access to a specific film title. It will help you determine if something is streaming. Not everything on video is available on a streaming platform.
- Cinema Series from Kanopy
The new monthly film club from Kanopy, the Kanopy Cinema Series, is designed to connect faculty, students, and clubs with filmmakers, activists, and experts through a monthly spotlight of Kanopy films. Each month they highlight a film meant to encourage discussion and dialogue among faculty and students. ... - Black Film Archive
Black Film Archive celebrates the rich, abundant history of Black cinema. They are an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context. - Decider
Decider is the first entertainment and pop culture destination site created to help today’s on-demand generation discover the best streaming content through a unique blend of pop culture expertise and hilarious insight. ... - JustWatch
Want to watch a movie or TV show on a streaming service and don't know where it's available? JustWatch lets you search for content and see where that content is available. You can see where the content streams or is available for rent or purchase. - Reelgood
Reelgood is an extensive streaming guide showing all of the movies and television shows available through streaming services. - Telescope Film
Telescope Film promotes viewership of international film through its website. Users can search to see the online availability of movie titles.
