Film Studies Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
In the Library's collections
This page highlights resources about the James Bond film series and other spy stories. These subject headings will lead you to resources about the Bond films. If you want to physically browse the shelves, books on the Bond films can be found at PN 1995.9 .J3 on Baker Stack Level 4.
- fleming ian 1908 - 1964This subject heading will take you to books about Ian Fleming and his works.
- fleming ian 1908 - 1964This author search gives you a list of all of his books we have in the collection and also the movies. The movies are based on the character he created and he gets a credit for each movie.
- spy stories, englishThis subject heading includes film adaptations and criticism of this written genre.
Introductory reading(s)
The complete James Bond movie encyclopedia by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .J3 R78 1990ISBN: 9780809241613This is dated but still a good historical starting point.
James Bond: the secret history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .J3 E33 2016ISBN: 9781786060204James Bond entered the world in 1953 with the novel Casino Royale by Ian Fleming. Since then, the British secret agent code named 007 has become the biggest media phenomenon of the modern age, surpassing and outlasting previous cultural icons such as Sherlock Holmes, Tarzan, and The Saint. Bond has conquered all forms of media--from books, films, and radio to comic strips and video games--while inspiring a tidal wave of merchandise and legion of imitators. ...
James Bond phenomenon: a critical reader by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 6056 .L4 Z844 2003ISBN: 9780719065415Sean Connery's tuxedo, Ursula Andress' bikini, Oddjob's bowler hat, and Q's gadgets are just a few defining features of the 007 world examined in The James Bond Phenomenon. Drawn from the fields of literary, film, music, and cultural studies, the essays in this collection range from revitalized readings of Ian Fleming's original spy novels to the analysis of Pussy Galore's lesbianism, Miss Moneypenny's filmic feminism, and Pierce Brosnan's techno-fetishism. ...
Licence to thrill: a cultural history of the James Bond films by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .J3 C49 2000ISBN: 9780231120487The James Bond epic is the most popular film series in silver screen history: it is estimated that a quarter of the world's population has seen a Bond feature. The saga of Britain's best-loved martini hound has adapted to changing times for four decades without ever abandoning its tried-and-true formula of diabolical international conspiracy, sexual intrigue, and incredible gadgetry. James Chapman expertly traces the annals of celluloid Bond from its inauguration with 1962's Dr. No through its progression beyond Ian Fleming's spy novels to the action-adventure spectaculars of GoldenEye and Tomorrow Never Dies. ...
Selected book title(s)
The art of Bond by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .J3 B68 2006ISBN: 9780810954885Published to coincide with the fall 2006 release of the newest Bond film, Casino Royale, and profusely illustrated with exclusive images from the Eon Archive, this book is a visual tribute to an incomparable cinematic icon.
Bond on Bond: reflections on 50 years of James Bond movies by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .J3 M58 2012ISBN: 9780762782819The Bond movies remain the longest continually running film series in movie history, and 2012 marks its fiftieth anniversary. To celebrate these universally adored films, their cultural history, and wide appeal, Sir Roger Moore, KBE, has written a book that features all the Bond movies, along with a wonderfully witty account of his own involvement in them.
James Bond and popular culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S68 J36 2014ISBN: 9780786477937The most recognizable fictional spy and one of the longest running film franchises, James Bond has inspired a host of other pop culture contributions, including Doctor Who (the Jon Pertwee era), the animated television comedy series Archer, Matt Kindt's comic book series Mind MGMT, Japan's Nakano Spy School Films, the 1960s Italian Eurospy genre, and the recent 007 Legends video game.
Spyscreen: espionage on film and TV from the 1930s to the 1960s by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S68 M55 2003ISBN: 9780198159520Spyscreen is a genre study of English-language spy fiction film and television between the 1930s and 1960s. Taking as his focus many well-known films and television series, Toby Miller uses a wide range of critical approaches - from textual interpretation, audience studies, and cultural history, through auteurism, imperial history, class, and governmentality, to genre, cultural imperialism, and gender. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal(s)
Articles and other writings about the James Bond franchise can be found in many publications. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find relevant articles or the search box at the top of the page.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about Bond movies.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
James Bond films in the collection
Find James Bond films in the Library's collections.
Internet resources
- James Bond Box Office History from The-Numbers.comBox office and other data for the James Bond films.
- James Bond from Filmsite.orgIt is also the longest continuing series of English language films. The modern day action-hero - the James Bond '007' character that was employed for Her Majesty's Secret Service - was loosely based on the character in Britisher Ian Fleming's twelve James Bond novels. ...
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.