Film Studies Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Other library resource(s)
Star Wars from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286The Star Wars saga consists of six feature films, divided into two trilogies (the Original Trilogy and, later, the Prequel Trilogy) and released over twenty-eight years. The Original Trilogy is made up of Star Wars (directed by George Lucas, 1977), The Empire Strikes Back (Irvin Kershner, 1980), and Revenge of the Jedi (Richard Marquand, 1983). Star Wars was given the subtitle Episode IV: A New Hope shortly after its successful release, and the subsequent two films are subtitled Episode V and Episode VI. Whether Lucas mapped out the entire saga from his earliest drafts—and whether he originally planned to make nine films, rather than six—is open to question, as later interviews contradict his earlier statements and notes.
Star wars trilogy: bonus material by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2107Go behind the scenes, and experience the journey from the earliest versions of the script to the blockbuster debut of the films that changed the face of cinema. Explore the creation of the Star Wars films, the development of the classic characters, and the birth of the light saber, through documentaries, featurettes, interviews, rare footage, theatrical trailers, stills collections, poster art, and more.
A quick definition for science fiction films (including Star Wars)
A genre characterized by stories involving conflicts between science and technology, human nature, and social organization in futuristic or fantastical settings, created in cinema through distinctive iconographies, images, and sounds often produced by means of special effects technology. All the technologies of cinematic illusion are displayed at their most cutting-edge state in science-fiction films, and this has been true since the earliest years of cinema, when trick films like Le voyage dans la lune/A Trip to the Moon (Georges Méliès, France, 1902) used stop-motion animation and other effects to create what is in all probability cinema’s first-ever portrayal of space travel: in topic, techniques, and iconography, Le voyage dans la lune was a prototype for the science-fiction cinema to come. The 1920s and 1930s saw portrayals of future and imagined worlds, many of them dystopic, in feature films such as Aelita/Aelita: Queen of Mars (Yakov Protazanov, USSR, 1924); Metropolis (Fritz Lang, Germany, 1926); and Things to Come (William Cameron Menzies, UK, 1936), while many post-World War II science-fiction films offered apocalyptic imaginings of alien invasion and nuclear holocaust. The canonical 2001: A Space Odyssey (Stanley Kubrick, UK/US, 1968) began a new era in science-fiction cinema’s foregrounding of spectacle and impact in moving image and sound by creating a sublime, all-enveloping environment for the viewer. Viewed in cinemas, science-fiction extravaganzas like 2001 offer an encompassing visual, auditory, and bodily experience in which the spectator is invited to succumb to extreme sensory and bodily engulfment (see haptic visuality). Wherever cinema exhibits its own distinctive matters of expression—as it does with science fiction’s displays of state-of-the-art special effects technologies—this is invariably a highly self-conscious, even an exhibitionistic, gesture, eclipsing narrative, plot, and character.
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Science fiction. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 23 May. 2022
Finding library resources for star wars films
To find Star Wars in the Library's collections, you can click on one of the subject headings below:
- star wars filmsThe call number range for Westerns is PN 1995.9 .S695 on Baker Level 4.
- star warsThis is a title search in the online catalog for the actual films.
- science fiction filmsThe call number range for Westerns is PN 1995.9 .S26 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Science fiction, horror and fantasy film and television credits by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S26 L46 1983 v. 1-2ISBN: 9780786409501
Star Wars after Lucas: a critical guide to the future of the galaxy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781517905422A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away--way back in the twenty-first century's first decade--Star Wars seemed finished. Then in 2012 George Lucas shocked the entertainment world by selling the franchise, along with Lucasfilm, to Disney. This is the story of how, over the next five years, Star Wars went from near-certain extinction to what Wired magazine would call "the forever franchise," with more films in the works than its first four decades had produced. ...
Star Wars FAQ: everything left to know about the trilogy that changed the movies by Call Number: Baker/Berry PN 1995.9 .S695 C57 2015ISBN: 9781480360181From the books and movies that inspired George Lucas to imagine the Star Wars universe, to early screenplay drafts that were never filmed, to short biographies of many people who made key contributions to the movies' success, Star Wars FAQ explores every aspect of the original Star Wars trilogy ( Star Wars , The Empire Strikes Back , and Return of the Jedi ).
The unauthorized Star Wars compendium: the complete guide to the movies, comic books, novels, and more by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S695 E38 1999ISBN: 9780316329293For every true fan, this book provides a comprehensive, behind-the-scenes guide to everything in the Star Wars universe (including the original films, novels, comic books, web sites, and more)--plus a preview of the new movie, released in May 1999.
Selected book titles
Finding the force in the Star Wars franchise: fans, merchandise, & critics by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S695 F55 2006ISBN: 9780820488080In 1977 a single film called Star Wars exploded on the consciousness of the world. Since then the franchise, created by George Lucas, has become a global entertainment corporation. The merchandise of the original trilogy was largely confined to toys and games, but those games have since become computerized, the toys more sophisticated, and Star Wars has moved into the multi-media environment of the twenty-first century in ways unimaginable in the long-ago world of 1977. ...
A galaxy here and now: historical and cultural readings of Star Wars by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S695 G33 2016ISBN: 9781476662206Star Wars begins with its famous title sequence, setting the story in the ancient past of a remote galaxy. Yet the phenomenal success of the film, the franchise, and its expanded universe is based upon its reflection of historical and cultural milieus here on modern-day Earth. This collection of new essays examine various ways in which George Lucas's saga touches upon contemporary social and political issues. ...
The gospel according to Star Wars: faith, hope, and the force by Call Number: Baker/Berry PN 1995.9 .S695 M43 2007ISBN: 9780664231422Star Wars is one of the most beloved movie series of all time, and in this book John McDowell explores the many spiritual themes that weave throughout the six films. From the Force to the dark side, the issues discussed in the films have a moral and spiritual complexity that, if paid attention to, can help us better understand our place in the world and our relation to others and to God.
Historical dictionary of science fiction cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S26 B566 2010ISBN: 9780810874626The history of science fiction film now spans more than 100 years, during which time more than 1,000 science fiction films of various kinds have been made. Beginning with the work of pioneering French filmmaker Georges Méliès at the dawn of the 20th century and moving through such silent films as Fritz Lang's classic Metropolis, science fiction film has had a long and eventful history that has taken it in many directions but that has moved the genre inexorably forward into a prominent place at the center of the film industry in the works of big-budget hitmakers like George Lucas, Steven Spielberg, and Michael Bay. The Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Cinema provides broad coverage of the people, films, companies, techniques, themes, and subgenres that have made science fiction cinema such a vital part of world cinema. ...
Star Wars in the public square: the clone wars as political dialogue by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S695 S94 2016ISBN: 9780786477647Speculative science fiction, with its underlying socio-political dialogue, represents an important intersection of popular culture and public discourse. As a pop culture text, the animated series 'Star Wars: The Clone Wars' offers critical commentary on contemporary issues, marking a moment of interplay whereby author and audience come together in what Russian philosopher Mikhail Bakhtin called collaborative meaning making. This book critically examines the series as a voice in the political dialogues concerning human cloning, torture, just war theory, peace and drone warfare.
Finding articles & journals
Articles and other writings about Star Wars can be found in many publications. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find relevant articles.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this genre.
A Selected list of science fiction
Find all of the Star Wars films.
Star Wars. Episode I, the phantom menace by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #997As imminent conflict brews between the powerful Trade Federation and the peaceful planet of Naboo, Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi travel to Naboo to warn the Queen of the galactic fallout which is to follow. Eventually, Naboo is invaded forcing the Jedis to evacuate the planet with the Queen and her court. They travel to the desert planet of Tatooine where they meet a slave boy called Anakin Skywalker who is evidently one with the Force. They enlist his help in fighting the war, while the Jedis confront one of the Dark Jedis behind the invasion, Darth Maul, while his master Darth Sidious continues to lead the invasion as a "phantom" behind the scenes.
Star Wars. Episode II, attack of the clones by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3330Ten years after the events of Phantom menace, Senator Padme Amidala survives an assassination attempt as she returns to Coruscant for an important vote. The Jedi Council send Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker to protect her. After tracking the assassin, but failing to get any information from her, Obi-Wan is sent to Kamino to continue their investigations while Anakin is sent with Amidala to Naboo. While Anakin and Amidala are falling in love on Naboo, Obi-Wan is investigating the connection between the assassination attempt and a growing separatist movement, which could bring the Republic to the brink of civil war.
Star Wars. Episode III, revenge of the Sith by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #13630Torn between loyalty to his mentor, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and the seductive powers of the Sith, Anakin Skywalker ultimately turns his back on the Jedi. This begins his complete journey to the dark side and his transformation into Darth Vader.
Star Wars. Episode IV, a new hope by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #13652A rebel ship is being boarded by the tyrannical Darth Vader. Luke Skywalker, with his new allies, Han Solo, Chewbacca, Ben Kenobi, C-3PO, R2-D2, attempt to rescue rebel leader, Princess Leia, from the clutches of the Empire. The conclusion is culminated as the Rebels, including Skywalker and flying ace Wedge Antilles make an attack on the Empires most powerful and ominous weapon, the Death Star.
Star Wars. Episode V, the empire strikes back by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15956Fleeing the evil Galactic Empire, the rebels abandon their new base on Hoth. Princess Leia, Han Solo, R2-D2 and C-3P0 escape in the damaged Millennium Falcon. Later, on Bespin, they are captured by Lord Darth Vader. Luke Skywalker, meanwhile, follows Ben Kenobi's posthumous command and receives Jedi training by Yoda on Dagobah.
Star Wars. Episode VI, return of the JediCall Number: Jones Media DVD #8588Darth Vader and the Empire are building a new, indestructible Death Star. Meanwhile, Han Solo has been imprisoned, and Luke Skywalker has sent R2D2 and C3PO to try and free him. Princess Leia, disguised as a bounty hunter, and Chewbacca go along as well. The final battle takes place on the moon of Endor, with its natural inhabitants, the Ewoks, lending a hand to the rebels.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.