Film Studies Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Other library resource(s)
-
Detective films from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286The “detective film” can be defined as a film that focuses on a detective-hero’s investigation into the mystery surrounding a crime; however, detective films vary in terms of content and themes, and often cross over into other genres, including science fiction (e.g., Blade Runner [1982]), the western (e.g., Tall in the Saddle [1944]), and even the musical (e.g., The Singing Detective [2003]). This makes defining the genre difficult, and, in fact, many scholars and critics place the “detective film” into the broader category of “film noir” (along with criminal-heroes) or the “crime film” (along with the gangster). This tendency to generalize is reflected in the sources listed in this article: while there will be some books and articles devoted solely to the detective film, many—even influential sources—may only discuss the genre specifically in a brief section. The majority of scholarship in English that addresses the genre tends to focus on American—specifically Hollywood—films.
A quick definition for detective films
The criminal act in the crime film is usually approached via a focus on criminals and their criminal act, the experiences of the victim of a crime, or the process of detection and investigation. The latter—often labelled the detective film—is a mainstay of the crime film and has attracted considerable attention within film studies. Indeed, the formulaic, quest-driven, nature of the detective film has been a central point of interest for scholars working on narrative and narrativity within the critical paradigms of structuralism, neoformalism, and cognitivism. The wider theoretical and philosophical question of how to seek and establish knowledge (via a process of investigation) has also made the detective film central to case studies using Foucauldian and psychoanalytic frameworks. Given this, it is perhaps unsurprising that a sophisticated orchestration of point of view and filmic time is central to many crime films, as seen in the complex narrative design of films as diverse as Mildred Pierce (Michael Curtiz, US, 1945), Rashomon (Akira Kurosawa, Japan, 1950), and Pulp Fiction (Quentin Tarantino, US, 1994).
Kuhn, A. and Westwell, G. (2012). "Crime film." In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 11 Jul. 2017
Finding library resources for detective & mystery films
To find what we have in the Library's collection, you can do a subject search for "detective and mystery films" in the online catalog. That search will show you what film titles are classified as detective films as well as books and other items about them.
As you look at the list under specific headings, those headings which include "history and criticism" talk about the genre itself. The headings which also include a country name are specifically talking about detective films in that country.
-
detective and mystery filmsBooks and other items are scattered throughout call number range PN 1995.9 .D4 on Baker Level 4.
-
crime filmsBooks and other items are scattered throughout call number range PN 1995.9 .C66 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Hollywood's detectives: crime series in the 1930s and 1940s from the whodunnit to hard-boiled noir
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .D4 M38 2012ISBN: 9780230578357The study of Hollywood detectives has often overlooked the B-Movie mystery series in favour of hard-boiled film. Hollywood's Detectives redresses this oversight by examining key detective series of the 1930s and 1940s to explore their contributions to the detective genre. -
Mystery movie series of 1930s Hollywood
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .D4 B325 2012ISBN: 9780786469758This volume focuses on 22 series and 167 individual films, primarily released during the 1930s. It was a decade that featured some of the most famous cinema detectives of all time, among them Charlie Chan, Nick and Nora Charles, Philo Vance, Nancy Drew, and such lesser known but equally entertaining figures as Hildegarde Withers, Torchy Blane, Mr. Moto, Mr. Wong, and Brass Bancroft. -
Resisting arrest: detective fiction and popular culture
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 3448 .D4 R87 2007ISBN: 9781590512418Detective fiction, a category that, broadly defined, runs the gamut from Oedipus Rex to "The Purloined Letter," continues to draw a range of fans and scholars, and to play a pivotal role in popular entertainment, contemporary literature, and psychoanalytic theory. But how do we derive pleasure from reading about or watching a detective's exploits? Is our enjoyment in the vicarious experience of genius? Or in witnessing the commission of a crime, an equally vicarious experience of violence? Resisting Arrest looks at the detective genre in its many different cultural manifestations, from popular fiction (Christie) to high literature (Eco), from art films (Antonioni) to popular television series (Monk). -
Silent mystery and detective movies: a comprehensive filmography
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.75 .W53 2009ISBN: 9780786443505The silent film era was known in part for its cliffhanger serials and air of suspense that kept audiences returning to theaters week after week. Icons such as Douglas Fairbanks, Laurel and Hardy, Lon Chaney and Harry Houdini were among those who graced the dark and shadowy screen. This reference guide to silent films with mystery and detective content lists more than 1,500 titles in one of entertainment's most popular and enduring genres. While most of the films examined are from North America, mystery films from around the world are included.
Selected book titles
The BFI companion to crime by Call Number: Library Depository PN 1995.9 .D4 B23 1997bISBN: 9780520215382Robbers, gangsters, murderers, and criminals of every description have long been a staple of popular entertainment. Movies are no exception, and film buffs and scholars alike now have a complete guide to the vast array of films that make up the fascinating world of crime cinema. The BFI Companion to Crime offers detailed information on the sub-genres and motifs of movies dealing with criminals and their behavior: prison dramas, heist stories, kidnappings, the exploits of serial killers, juvenile delinquents, and hired guns. ...
Detecting men: masculinity and the Hollywood detective film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .D4 G38 2006ISBN: 9780791468142Looks at how detective films have reflected and shaped our ideas about masculinity, heroism, law and order, and national identity.
The Devil himself: villainy in detective fiction and film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 830 .D4 D45 2002ISBN: 9780313316555This study of the villain in detective fiction and film examines such questions as what the villains reflect about the heroes, what they reflect about society, and what defines villainous activity. The texts discussed span the end of the 18th through the 20th century and range from Charles Brockden Brown's Weiland (1798) to the film Se7en (1995). As the villains reflect the changing ethics of society, the shift in such nebulous moral boundaries can be traced through the changing depictions of these dark characters. ...
The gay male sleuth in print and film: a history and annotated bibliography by Call Number: Baker-Berry Z 1231 .D47 G86 2005ISBN: 9780810856813Gunn examines representations of the gay male sleuth in print and film, beginning with the 1953 publication of Rodney Garland's The Heart in Exile. He goes on to analyze pulp novels of the 1960s and 1970s and more recent mainstream works. The second part of the volume is an annotated bibliography describing over 600 books.
Finding articles & using SUMMON
Articles and other writings about movies can be found in many publications. Our collection does not include a journal or magazine which looks exclusively at detective films. Other film journals within our collection will cover this genre. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find relevant articles.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about detective films.
Selected movie titles
For more detective and mystery titles, search the library's online catalog.
-
Cry of the city
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16661A police detective doggedly pursues a cop-killing gangster, whose devotion to his girlfriend could prove his downfall. -
Gone baby gone
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #6434ISBN: 9780788875618Amanda McCready is a 4-year-old who has disappeared from her Boston home. The police make little headway in solving the case, so the girl's aunt hires Patrick Kenzie and Angie Gennaro, private detectives. They freely admit that they have little experience with this type of case, but the family wants them for two reasons: they're not cops and they know the tough neighborhood in which they all live. As the case progresses, Patrick and Angie must face area drug dealers, gangs and pedophiles. When they finally solve the case, they are faced with a moral dilemma that tears them apart. -
Gone girl
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18319On the occasion of his fifth wedding anniversary, Nick Dunne reports that his wife, Amy, has gone missing. Under pressure from the police and a growing media frenzy, Nick's portrait of a blissful union begins to crumble. Soon his lies, deceits and strange behavior have everyone asking the same dark question. Did Nick Dunne kill his wife? -
Mr. Holmes
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #19316In 1947, an aging Sherlock Holmes returns from a journey to Japan, where, in search of a rare plant with powerful restorative qualities, he has witnessed the devastation of nuclear warfare. Now, in his remote seaside farmhouse, Holmes faces the end of his days, with only the company of his housekeeper and her young son, Roger. Grappling with the diminishing powers of his mind, Holmes comes to rely upon the boy as he revisits the circumstances of the unsolved case that forced him into retirement. -
Philo Vance murder case collection
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #19070The Bishop murder case; The Kennel murder case; The Dragon murder case; The Casino murder case; The Garden murder case; Calling Philo Vance.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.