Other library resource(s)
Australian cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286The cinema of Australia has been the subject of continual, complex, and interdisciplinary scrutiny since the revival of feature film production in that country in the 1970s. Although limited academic and populist writing on Australian cinema predated the film revival, a wealth of contemporary and retrospective studies have appeared since the reemergence of Australian film-making on the national and international stages. ...- History of Australian cinemaCall Number: Streaming videoThis is a three part series looking at the early years of the film industry and motion pictures in Australia.
Internet resource(s)
- Screen AustraliaTheir goal is to develop, produce, promote, distribute and provide access to diverse Australian programs, and support the development of the Australian screen production industry, so that Australian screen content is accessible nationally and internationally.
Aussiewood by Call Number: Streaming videoPublication Date: Aired: 11/17/2024For the record: it's iron ore. But it's easy to make the case that Australia's leading export is… acting talent. How has an island of only 27 million people minted Nicole Kidman, Hugh Jackman, Cate Blanchett, Mel Gibson, Margot Robbie, Chris Hemsworth… we can keep going here… Sarah Snook, Russell Crowe, Heath Ledger, Naomi Watts… to say nothing of so many Oscar-winning directors, designers and crew? ...
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for a national or regional cinema? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Find new items in the library's collections
Find new items on Australian cinema in the library's collections.
Introduction to Australian cinema
Australia’s earliest commercial exhibition of projected films, using British films and equipment, took place on 22 August 1896; and in the same year local filmmakers began shooting topical events and scenes, including Passengers Alighting from the Paddle Steamer ‘Brighton’ at Manly. Another very early film, The Early Christian Martyrs (1899), was sponsored by the Salvation Army, which founded Australia’s first film studio and organized travelling film shows across the country. The 1906 Story of the Kelly Gang was a pioneering four-reeler whose success prompted the production of longer films well before this became commonplace elsewhere (see early cinema). Domestic film production remained healthy during World War I, and film historians regard the postwar feature The Sentimental Bloke (1919) as a groundbreaking contribution to Australian national cinema, introducing distinctive Antipodean themes and character types which were to resurface in many later films. However, by the time The Sentimental Bloke appeared, US feature films were dominating Australian screens; and in 1927 a Commission of Inquiry investigated the influence of Hollywood, recommending protectionist measures, with quota legislation following in the 1930s. ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Australia, film in. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 28 May. 2021
In the library's collections
There are several subject headings you can use to find resources in the online catalog. The call number ranges are also included. These can be found on Baker Stack Level 4.
- motion pictures australiaThe call number range is PN 1993.5 .A3 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Directory of world cinema. Australia and New Zealand by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A8 D57 2010ISBN: 9781841503738This addition to Intellect's Directory of World Cinema series turns the spotlight on Australia and New Zealand and offers an in-depth and exciting look at the cinema produced in these two countries since the turn of the twentieth century. Though the two nations share considerable cultural and economic connections, their film industries remain distinct, marked by differences of scale, level of government involvement and funding, and relations with other countries and national cinemas. ...
Directory of world cinema. Australia and New Zealand 2 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781841506340Building on and bringing up to date the material presented in the first installment of Directory of World Cinema: Australia and New Zealand, this volume continues the exploration of the cinema produced in Australia and New Zealand since the beginning of the twentieth century. Among the additions to this volume are in-depth treatments of the locations that feature prominently in the countries' cinema. Essays by leading critics and film scholars consider the significance of the outback and the beach in films, which are evoked as a liminal space in Long Weekend and a symbol of death in Heaven's Burning, among other films. ...
Historical dictionary of Australian and New Zealand cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A8 M66 2005ISBN: 9780810854598Whether it was Jane Campion's The Piano, Mel Gibson in Mad Max, Paul Hogan in Crocodile Dundee, or The Lord of the Rings saga, we have all experienced the cinema of Australia and New Zealand. With entries on many exceptional producers, directors, writers and actors, as well as the films indicated above and many others, it also presents the early pioneers, the film companies and government bodies, and much more in its hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries. ...
Kicking down the doors: a history of Indigenous Australian filmmaking, 1968 - 1993 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .A835 S97 2007ISBN: 9781847993649The history of Australian Indigenous filmmaking from 1968 to 1993 by Indigenous director Brian Syron and Media Ethicist Briann Kearney, funded by an Australian Literary Fellowship from Australia Council the Australian federal government's Arts funding body.
The Oxford companion to Australian film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A8 O96 1999ISBN: 9780195537970This eagerly awaited companion will become the primary reference for film professionals and movie buffs seeking information about any facet of Australian cinema.
Selected book title(s)
Apocalypse in Australian fiction and film: a critical study by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 9612.5 .W43 2011ISBN: 9780786460519Australia has been a frequent choice of location for narratives about the end of the world in science fiction and speculative works, ranging from pre-colonial apocalyptic maps to key literary works from the last fifty years. This critical work explores the role of Australia in both apocalyptic literature and film. Works and genres covered include Nevil Shute's popular novel On the Beach, Mad Max, children's literature, Indigenous writing, and cyberpunk. ...
Australian cinema in the 1990s by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A8 A953 2001ISBN: 9780714680347This study is a collection of critical and scholarly analyses of the organisation of the Australian Film Industry since 1990. Particular emphasis is put on globalisation, authorship, national narrative and film aesthetics.
Australian film, 1978-1994: a survey of theatrical features by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A8 A955 1995ISBN: 9780195537772From Crocodile Dundee to Strictly Ballroom, from Breaker Morant to Mad Max, Australian film has delighted and moved audiences the world over. Now in a new edition, Australian Film makes available all the essential statistics on over 340 beloved feature films from leading film writers of the last seventeen years, including Jane Campion, Jocelyn Moorhouse, Keith Connolly, Philippa Hawker, and Adrian Martin. This comprehensive and meticulously edited volume includes at least one superb still for each film covered, revealing a surprising number of local and international movie stars including Mel Gibson, Rachel Ward, Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Mia Farrow, Bryan Brown, Judy Davis, Sam Neill, Greta Scacchi, and Paul Hogan. ...
Diasporas of Australian cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A8 D53 2009ISBN: 9781841501970This volume is the first to focus exclusively on diasporic filmmaking and the rich cultural diversity within Australian cinema, and it contains previously unpublished articles by some of the foremost experts on Australian cinema in the world. Contributors to Diasporas of Australian Cinema discuss a variety of contemporary and historical film-making, encompassing documentaries, features and short films. ...
Film in Australia: an introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A8 M64 2006ISBN: 9780521613279Film in Australia is a groundbreaking book that systematically addresses the wide-ranging output of Australian feature films. Adopting a genre approach, it gives a different take on Australian films made since 1970, bypassing the standard run of historical texts and actor- or character-driven studies of Australian film. Comedy, adventure, horror, science fiction, crime, art films and other types are analysed with clarity and insight so the reader can recognize and understand all kinds of Australian films, whether they are contemporary or older features, obscure gems or classic blockbusters. ...
Imagining Australia: literature and culture in the new new world by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 9609.6 .I43 2004ISBN: 9780674015739Beginning in the last third of the twentieth century, Australian literary and cultural studies underwent a profound transformation to become an important testing ground of new ideas and theories. How do Australian cultural products project a sense of the nation today? How do Australian writers, artists, and film directors imagine the Australian heritage and configure its place in a larger world that extends beyond Australia's shores? Ranging from the country's colonial beginnings to its more globally oriented present, the nineteen essays by distinguished scholars working on the cutting edge of the field present a multi-faceted view of the vast land down under. A central theme is the relation of cultural products to nature and history. ...
Finding journal articles
Articles and other writings about Australian film can be found in many publications. Our collection includes a couple of journals which look exclusively at Australian film. See the titles we have in our Library's collection. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
- Cinema papersCall Number: Baker-Berry Oversize PN 1993.5 .A8 C56 (1984 - 2001) ScatteredISBN: 0311-3639
Studies in Australasian cinema by Call Number: Electronic journalThis journal engages in critical discussion of cinema from the Australian, New Zealand and Pacific region.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about Australian cinema.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie titles
Find more Australian films in the online catalog.
- Candy byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #5037Dan is a poet who falls in love with two kinds of Candy: a woman of the same name and heroin. As Dan goes from a smart-aleck to someone trying to find a vein to inject, Candy changes from an actress to a streetwalker and then a madwoman. Starting in Sydney, the two eventually end up in Melbourne to try and go clean, but they fail. This leads them to turn to finding money and heroin, while other posessions and attachments become unimportant.
The last wave by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5732ISBN: 9780780024601The story of a lawyer defending a group of aboriginals accused of murder. The lawyer feels the pull of magic forces beneath the surface of civilization.
Not quite Hollywood: the wild, untold story of Ozploitation! by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18534Experience the wild and wonderful untold story of 'Ozploitation' films as you take a journey through the Australian genre cinema of the late '70s and '80s - the years when Australia got into gear and blew the world away with what they had to offer.
Picnic at Hanging Rock by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #304ISBN: 9780780021136On Valentine's Day, 1900, a group of Australian schoolgirls set out for a picnic at Hanging Rock. Four of them disappear.- Travelling north byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #5926Crotchety old man Frank (McKern) and younger companion Frances (Blake) travel to Queensland to enjoy their retirement and each other. Unfortunately the idyllic North cannot calm Frank's complex personality and desire to live life to the fullest.
