Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Introduction
The Cinema of Wales (Welsh: Sinema Cymru) comprises the art of film and creative movies made in Wales or by Welsh filmmakers either locally or abroad. Welsh cinema began in the late-19th century, led by Welsh-based director William Haggar. Wales continued to produce film of varying quality throughout the 20th century, in both the Welsh and English languages, though indigenous production was curtailed through a lack of infrastructure and finance, which prevented the growth of the industry nationally. Despite this, Wales has been represented in all fields of the film making process, producing actors and directors of note. ...
[Source: Wikipedia, 08/18/2022]
In the library's collections/Searching the online catalog
Selected book title(s)
After Raymond Williams: cultural materialism and the break-up of Britain by Call Number: Baker-Berry PR 8958 .D59 2008ISBN: 9780708321539A book which applies the Welsh academic writer and novelist Raymond Williams's theory of cultural materialism to a series of readings of literature and film produced in the years since Williams's death in 1988. Williams argued that literary texts do not only reflect what is happening in a society; they also cause changes to occur.
John Ormond's organic mosaic: poetry, documentary, nation by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1998.3 .O755 S65 2019ISBN: 9781786834881John Ormond, Welsh poet and BBC documentary filmmaker, led a uniquely multifaceted creative career spanning five decades. He made major, if under-acknowledged, contributions both to English-language poetry and realism in documentary form. ...
Wales on screen by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .G7 W24 2000ISBN: 9781854112484Eight essays concerning the depiction of Wales on television and in the cinema by Welsh and non-Welsh producers, and on conditions for practitioners from Wales. Includes chapters on animation, securing backing for a project, the impact of digitalisation and an interview with the writer and the producer of House of America. ...
Other library resource(s)
British cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Before the 1960s, much historical and critical writing on British cinema was generated outside of the academy—for instance, a multivolume, largely economic history of the silent period, subsequently republished in the 1990s, was commissioned by the British Film Institute and sought extant personnel as consultants. With the introduction of film courses to British universities came an unfortunate prejudice against the homegrown product, largely inherited from European commentators.
Finding scholarly articles and journals
You can find scholarly literature for Welsh film studies in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Media history digital library by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
The Collection feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie titles
Find more Welsh films in the library's online catalog.
How green was my valley by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2834A man looks back on his life as a boy in a small Welsh mining town. His reminiscences reveal the disintegration of his closely knit family while capturing the sentiments and issues of their time.
The old dark house by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5946A group of travelers on a mountain road, overtaken by a thunderstorm and torrential rains, seek shelter in a mysterious old mansion. It is full of eerie characters and uncanny happenings.
Pride by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18300U.K. gay activists work to assist miners during their extended strike of the National Union of Mineworkers in the summer of 1984.
Under milk wood by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #7461This ambitious film, based on a radio play by poet Dylan Thomas, tells of the lives of several colorful characters living in a small Welsh town. Throughout, a background voice (native Welshman Richard Burton), narrates the day-in-the-life action.
Internet resource(s)
- Creative WalesTheir aim is to build on our success of promoting Wales as a top global destination for film and TV production. They are committed to supporting and developing their production companies, talented crew and supply chain. ...
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.