Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website
Film annuals
These are books which look at motion pictures and the film industry yearly.
-
The Film Daily year book of motion pictures byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.3 .F5 1937-1969 (with gaps)Older volumes are in the Storage Library under the same call number.
The volumes are an annual accounting of films and the business of film making. -
Film review annualCall Number: Baker/Berry PN 1995 .F54 1981-2001ISBN: 0737-9080This annual reprints reviews from major news sources and lists other reviews as a short bibliography.
-
Magill's cinema annualCall Number: Baker-Berry Ref. PN 1993.45 .M35 1982-Each yearbook includes an entry for every film released that year. The entry includes an in-depth synopsis and review, major credits and a list of reviews. The annual also has lists of awards, obituaries and lists of selected film books. They also includes cumulative indexes for directors, performers, editors, cinematographers, screenwriters, art directors, music directors, titles and subjects.
-
The motion picture guide byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995 .N346 1985-1999This is another annual which looks at all of the films released the previous year. Each volume also has an opening essay, "The Year in Review" which looks at film in general for that year.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Article indexes
Except for the Screen Studies Collection and the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, this list highlights resources that may not have citations prior to 1970. If you need information for movies made before 1970, look at the tab above called Researching early films.
-
Entertainment industry magazine archiveCall Number: Electronic resourceAn archival resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
-
Film & television literatureCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
-
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
FIAF: international index to film periodicals
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe International Index to Film Periodicals, offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. -
MLA international bibliography
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceMLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
-
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC)
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media. -
Performing arts periodicals database
Call Number: Electronic resourcePerforming Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Popular literature
Readers' Guide Retrospective does provide early film coverage, but only for popular publications. Popular publications include Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone, Cosmopolitan, Instyle, etc. The film indexes listed above also include non-academic publications.
-
Readers' guide retrospective, 1890-1982
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe regular Readers' Guide Abstracts covers popular literature from 1983 to the present. This retrospective version covers that same literature from 1890 to 1982. Because this is historical material, remember to search using the terms that were used during a particular time period. For example, early Black films would use the subject "Negro" or "Colored" rather than Black or Afro-American (African-American). You can also limit your searching to film reviews when looking for a particular title. -
allAfrica.com
Call Number: Electronic resourceContains over 700,000 articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other news makers, inside and outside of Africa. -
LexisNexis AcademicCall Number: Electronic resourceLexisNexis gives you access to popular publications both foreign and domestic.
A short list of journal title(s)
For other journal and magazine titles, click here. This is a subject search for "motion pictures periodicals."
-
Celebrity studies
Call Number: Electronic journalCelebrity Studies addresses key issues in the production, circulation and consumption of fame, and its manifestations in both contemporary and historical contexts. Alongside the primary articles, the journal includes the Celebrity Forum section devoted to shorter observations, debates or issues in celebrity culture, ... -
-
-
Film quarterly
by
Call Number: Electronic journalFilm Quarterly publishes substantial, peer-reviewed writing on cinema and media. -
-
JCMS: Journal of cinema and media studies
Call Number: Electronic journalJCMS: Journal of Cinema and Media Studies is the peer-reviewed, scholarly publication of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS). JCMS's basic mission is to foster engaged debate and rigorous thinking among humanities scholars of film, television, digital media, and other audiovisual technologies. ... -
Journal of e-media studies
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of e-Media Studies is a blind peer-reviewed, on-line journal dedicated to the scholarly study of the history and theory of electronic media, especially Television and New Media. -
Open screens byCall Number: Electronic journalOpen Screens is the open-access online journal of the British Association of Film, Television and Screen Studies. The scope of the journal is international and its vision is inter-disciplinary. It encourages innovative contributions from scholars of film, television and other screen-based media, publishing research articles, reviews and audio-visual research-by-film-practice. ...
-
The Velvet Light Trap
Call Number: Electronic journalThe Velvet Light Trap (VLT) is a journal devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media. While VLT maintains its traditional commitment to the study of American film, it also expands its scope to television and other media, to adjacent institutions, and to other nations' media.
Newspapers
- Major metropolitan newspapers are a good source for movie reviews and information.
- You can also limit your searching to "reviews" in most of this group of databases.
- Note that the Historical newspapers do not cover the present but the Expanded version does.
- LexisNexis and Library Pressdisplay give you more current coverage of films.
-
Proquest historical newspapers
by
Call Number: Electronic resourcesA collection of major regional and ethnic newspapers from their beginning date to a date in the near past. The New York Times goes until 3 years ago, while the Boston Globe only goes to 1989. The Chicago Defender goes from 1905 to 1975. -
U.S. Newsstream byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database lets you search a collection of current newspapers. Coverage varies from 1980 to the present. You can search a few or all of the newspapers in the collection.
-
Los Angeles sentinel
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and it's readers. Its a highly regarded paper that significantly influences the perceptions, attitudes and buying decisions of it's readership. -
LexisNexis AcademicCall Number: Electronic resourceLexisNexis gives you access to current newspapers. However, some newspapers go back several years while others only have the last 6 months. Your best search may be in "Major Papers" under the "General News" category in a Guided News Search.
-
PressReader
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA database of regional, national and international newspapers. The time limit is the last 60 days. Many countries are represented in the archive. -
-
Media history digital library
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
The Collection feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines. -
Menus for Movieland: newspapers and the emergence of American film culture
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520286788At the turn of the past century, the main function of a newspaper was to offer "menus" by which readers could make sense of modern life and imagine how to order their daily lives. Among those menus in the mid-1910s were several that mediated the interests of movie manufacturers, distributors, exhibitors, and the rapidly expanding audience of fans. This writing about the movies arguably played a crucial role in the emergence of American popular film culture, negotiating among national, regional, and local interests to shape fans' ephemeral experience of movie going, their repeated encounters with the fantasy worlds of "movieland," and their attractions to certain stories and stars.
