Other library resource(s)
Digitalia film library. Chilean cinemaCall Number: Streaming videoThis is a small collection of Chilean film.
Latin American cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online by ISBN: 9780199791286How might the term “Latin American Cinema” be defined? The term is not exempt from controversy any more than the concept of Latin America itself, which was first imagined by the French Michel Chevalier in the mid-19th century and later coined by the Colombian José María Torres Caicedo. The question of whether a cinema that is specifically Latin American exists and, furthermore, whether it is productive to conduct research from this broad perspective often appears in prologues to Latin American film studies. ...
Internet resource(s)
- Latin American Studies (Spanish): CinemaJill Baron, the Spanish Language librarian, has put together resources under the Latin America LibGuide.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for a national or regional cinema? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Introduction to Chilean cinema
Although filmmaking in Chile may have begun as early as 1902, feature production did not reach significant levels until after the early to mid 1920s: about eighty feature films were made before 1931, most of them after 1925. The best known film from Chile’s silent cinema era is probably El húsar de la muerte/The Hussar of Death (Pedro Sienna, 1925), and its most celebrated director Alberto Santana, who made fourteen features between 1923 and 1928, including El libro de la vida/The Book of Life (1923). Chile’s budding film industry suffered a setback with the coming of sound, when distribution and exhibition became dominated by US companies. In 1940 Aguirre Cerda’s Popular Front government established Chile Films, a state-owned studio and facilities company servicing independent producers; but domestic film production continued to be erratic. The late 1950s saw renewed attempts to establish a national cinema that could challenge foreign dominance and revitalize local production: in 1958 a cine club, and in 1959 an Experimental Film Centre, were founded at the University of Chile, where a Department of Communications opened in 1960 (see film society). ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Chile, film in. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 27 May. 2021
Searching the library's online catalog
This page is a library guide to the cinema of Chile. There are several subject headings you can use to find resources in the online catalog. The call number ranges are also included. These can be found on Baker Stack Level 4. Please note: these are not the only call numbers, but they have the majority of items. These searches will also lead you to movie titles.
- motion pictures chileCall number range PN 1993.5 .C3 on Baker Level 4.
- motion pictures latin americaCall number range PN 1993.5 .L3 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Chilean cinema in the twenty-first-century world by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814346839Focusing on films from Chile since 2000 and bringing together scholars from South and North America, Chilean Cinema in the Twenty-First-Century World is the first English-language book since the 1970s to explore this small, yet significant, Latin American cinema. The volume questions the concept of "national cinemas" by examining how Chilean film dialogues with trends in genre-based, political, and art-house cinema around the world, while remaining true to local identities. ...Con los ojos abiertos: el nuevo cine chileno y el movimiento del nuevo cine latinoamericano by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .C5 T73 2014ISBN: 9789560005625Huérfanos y perdidos: relectura del cine chileno de la transición, 1990-1999 by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .C3 C38 2007ISBN: 9789568601034- Un cine centrífugo: ficciones chilenas 2005-2010 byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .C3 U77 2013ISBN: 9789562606479
Selected book title(s)
Archivos i letrados: escritos sobre cine en Chile, 1908-1940 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .C65 A73 2011ISBN: 9789562605878
Chile en la pantalla, 1970-1998: cine para escribir y para enseñar la historia by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9788437091808A lo largo de las páginas de este libro, el autor demuestra efectivamente cómo es posible, mediante el análisis e interpretación de los contenidos de las obras que escoge de la producción cinematográfica chilena a lo largo de cerca de medio siglo, conocer algunos de los problemas cruciales de la historia de este país desde la década de los sesenta hasta nuestros días, las diferencias y antagonismos que la han atravesado y las huellas que sus conflictos han dejado en la subjetividad de los chilenos y las chilenas. ...Chile urbano: la ciudad en la literatura y el cine by
Call Number: Baker/Berry F 3058 .C455 2013ISBN: 9789562606219Enfoques al cine chileno en dos siglos by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .C3 E64 2013ISBN: 9789874502315- Películas que escuchan: reconstrucción de la identidad en once filmes chilenos y argentinos byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .N356 D66 2007ISBN: 9789500517126
- Retóricas del Cine Chileno: ensayos con el realismo by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .C3 C67 2012ISBN: 9781855661806
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about Chilean films can be found in many publications. Our collection does not include a journal which looks exclusively at Chilean cinema. However, we do have several other journals which look at Spanish language films. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
Studies in Spanish & Latin American cinemas by Call Number: Electronic journalThis peer-reviewed journal explores the cinemas of Spain and Spanish-speaking South, Central and North America, including the Caribbean and Brazil.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about Chilean cinema.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) online by Call Number: Electronic resourceHAPI is a source for worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, with coverage from 1970 to the present.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie titles
Find more titles of Chilean films in the online catalog.
31 minutos, la película by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18765Based on the 2003 Chilean television series with puppet characters who produce a televison newscast.
Ciudad de papel = paper city by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12186In October 2004, the discovery of hundreds of dead swans in the Cruces River Sanctuary- Valdivia, Chile, due to the pollutants from a cellulose plant, unleashed a grass roots movement that surprised with its strength and diversity of faces and manifestations. In their effort to prevent the disaster, the citizens had to face a sour economical, political and judicial conflict that overflowed the environmental institutions and pushed for the urgent need to reform them. Finally, they understood that their fate and that of Valdivia, "the wetlands city "is akin to the fate of the swans.
The eternal memory by Call Number: Streaming videoThe Eternal Memory tells a profound and moving love story that balances vibrant individual and collective remembrance with the longevity of an unbreakable human bond.
El rey de San Gregorio by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11048Pedro Vargas is a 30 year-old man living in the slum of San Gregorio and has a physical handicap and a certain grade of mental disability. However none of these factors will stop him from being the protagonist of this love story with his 'princess' Cati, a girl who has a severe mental disability. As with any other romantic drama, there are antagonists who do not approve of this love. ...
Five films by Patricio GuzmánCall Number: Jones Media DVD #19190Nostalgia de la luz; Chile, obstinate memory; Battle of Chile; The Pinochet case; Salvador Allende.
Gloria by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18766A story about a middle aged woman who gets caught up in a passionate whirlwind romance with a retired naval officer, whom she meets at a dance club for singles. But when she discovers the truth of their relationship, she takes matters into her own hands and sets forth to change her life.
La buena vida by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12434The story of four characters in modern Santiago.
Les transplantés by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11331About a family of weathly Chilean expatriates living in Paris, in greatly reduced circumstances, during the regime of Salvador Allende.
Violeta went to heavenCall Number: Streaming videoVioleta went to Heaven tells the story of famed Chilean singer and folklorist Violeta Parra, tracing her evolution from impoverished child to international sensation and Chile's national hero, while capturing the swirling intensity of her inner contradictions, fallibilities, and passions.
