Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Other library resource(s)
Argentine cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286The field of Argentine cinema studies can be said to have begun in earnest with the publication of film journalist Domingo Di Núbila’s landmark two-volume history of Argentina’s film history in 1959 and 1960, Historia del cine argentino (Buenos Aires: Cruz de Malta). A work of tremendous range and scope, Di Núbila’s history not only provided a synopsis and critique of an abundance of individual films but also examined the influence of professional associations and industry, more broadly speaking.
Digitalia film library. Argentina cinemaCall Number: Streaming videoA collection of select Argentine films.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for a national or regional cinema? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Introduction to Argentinian cinema
Notwithstanding its turbulent history Argentina’s film industry, alongside those of Brazil and Mexico, has been among the most robust in Latin America. Moving images were first seen in Argentina at a screening of the Lumière Cinématographe in Buenos Aires on 18 July 1896. There was a large and cosmopolitan potential audience for films, and local filmmakers soon began producing newsreels, documentaries, and vignettes of local scenes. An early—possibly the earliest—Argentine feature film was a historical epic, El fusilamiento de Dorrego/The Execution of Dorrego (1910); while an early commercial success, and the first of many popular gaucho films, Nobleza gaucha/Gaucho Nobility, appeared in 1915. The most celebrated director of Argentina’s silent period was José Agustín Ferreyra (‘El Negro’), whose films were set in the suburbs and city of Buenos Aires, and highlighted the lives of the poor. ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Argentina, film in. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 28 May. 2021
Searching the online catalog
This page is a library guide to the cinema of Argentina. You can use the subject headings below to find resources in the online catalog. The call number ranges are also included. You can do the same subject search for other countries in South America using the same format, "motion pictures [insert country]."
Please note: these are not the only call numbers, but they have the majority of items. These searches will also lead you to movie titles.
- motion pictures argentinaCall number range PN 1993.5 .A7 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
- motion pictures latin americaCall number range PN 1993.5 .L3 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
Argentina by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A7 A73 2014ISBN: 9781783200078Argentina boasts one of the most popular, diverse, and successful film industries in Latin America. From early films about gauchos and the tango to human rights dramas and groundbreaking experimental documentaries, Argentina s cinematic output has achieved both global influence and international acclaim.
Historias extraordinarias: nuevo cine argentino, 1999-2008 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9788496576971El cine argentino está viviendo uno de los mejores momentos de su historia gracias a una nómina muy amplia de cineastas cuyas carreras arrancan entre finales del pasado siglo y comienzos de este.
New Argentine cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A7 A53 2012ISBN: 9781848854635Argentine film-making from the mid-1990s to the present has enjoyed worldwide success. New Argentine Cinema explores this cinema in order to discover the elements that have made for this success, in relation to the country's profound political, social, and cultural crisis during the same period.
Picturing Argentina: myths, movies, and the Peronist vision by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .P38 T48 2014ISBN: 9781604978797Although Juan Domingo Peron's central role in Argentine history and the need for an unbiased assessment of his impact on his nation's cinema are beyond dispute, the existing scholarship on the subject is limited. In recent decades Argentina has witnessed a revival of serious film study, some of which has focused on the nation's classical movies and, in one case, on Peronism.
South American cinema: a critical filmography, 1915-1994 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .S63 S68 1998ISBN: 9780292708716A distinguished team of contributors has compiled entries on 140 significant South American feature films from the silent era until 1994. The entries discuss each film's subject matter, critical reception, and social and political contexts, as well as its production, distribution, and exhibition history, including technical credits. The entries are grouped by country and arranged chronologically. Both fiction and documentary films (some no longer in existence) are included, as well as extensive title, name, and subject indexes and glossaries of film and foreign terms.
Selected book titles
Che, qué bueno que vinisteis: el cine argentino que cruzó el charco by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 2451 .G66 2005ISBN: 9788493399726
Confronting the 'Dirty War' in Argentine cinema, 1983-1993: memory and gender in historical representations by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A7 B875 2009ISBN: 9781855661806The systematic illegal persecution and annihilation of political opponents of the 1979-1983 Argentine military dictatorship, commonly known today as the "Dirty War", became one of the main themes of the nation's cinema after the regime's fall.- El país del cine: para una historia política del nuevo cine argentino by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A7 P75 2014ISBN: 9789874502315
The film industry in Argentina: an illustrated cultural history by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A7 F56 2004ISBN: 9780786416288Argentina fell in love with movies as soon as they were first exhibited in 1896. Even before World War I, Argentina was one of the biggest film markets in the world and continues to be a major film market today. This history of the Argentine film industry--starting with the earliest film exhibitions in 1897--covers film music, broadcasting, the introduction of film with sound, the impact of the American film industry on the Argentine, the industrialization of Argentine film, Hollywood films in Spanish, the tango in film and local stars. ...
Masculinities in contemporary Argentine popular cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .M46 R63 2012ISBN: 9780230338180Interdisciplinary and engaging, Masculinities in Contemporary Argentine Popular Cinema is the first scholarly work to link visual representations of heterosexual masculinities to the neo-liberal transformations in Argentina.
Other worlds: new Argentinean film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A7 A5813 2008ISBN: 9780230606593Respected film critic Gonzalo Aguilar offers a lucid and sophisticated analysis of Argentine films of the last decade. This is the most complete and up-to-date work in English to examine the 'new Argentine cinema' phenomenon. Aguilar looks at highly relevant films, including those by Lucrecia Martel and Sergio Rejtman.
Finding journal articles
Articles and other writings about Argentine films can be found in many publications. Our collection includes one journal which looks exclusively at Argentine cinema and several other journals which look at Spanish language films. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
Studies in Spanish & Latin American cinemas by Call Number: Electronic journalThis peer-reviewed journal explores the cinemas of Spain and Spanish-speaking South, Central and North America, including the Caribbean and Brazil.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about Argentine cinema.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) online by Call Number: Electronic resourceHAPI is a source for worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, with coverage from 1970 to the present.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie titles
Find more Argentinian films in the online catalog.
Ceremonias de barro: la historia de un pueblo by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15059Candelario Gerónimo, a 79-year old Diaguita Indian, lives in the Tucumán Province in northwestern Argentina, and reflects on his life, the soon-to-be lost traditions of the Quilmes people, and the fight to reclaim their land.
De caravana by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #15025In Cordoba to take a picture of La Mona Jiménez, Juan Cruz meets and falls in love with Sara and discovers another world of adventures.
El arreglo by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #19402In a suburb of Buenos Aires, construction is underway to pipe in water. Unfortunately, only some of the inhabitants will benefit; the rest will be forced to continue relying on their worn-out pumps that constantly break down. The neighbors decide they will bribe the overseerer of the project; only housepainter Luis Bellamo refuses to go along with the plan, arguing that honesty is the greater good.
Jauja by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18879Captain Dinesen takes a job with the Argentine army and brings his fifteen-year-old daughter, Ingeborg, along. Being the only female in the area, she causes quite a stir among the men. She falls in love with a young soldier, and one night they run away together. When Dinesen realizes what happened, he decides to venture into enemy territory to find them.
Liverpool by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #10524A man employed on a massive cargo ship requests shore leave to visit his sickly mother, who lives in a remote logging town in Tierra del Fuego. He depends on booze and the unkindness of strangers to make the grueling journey southward, hinting at unspeakable tragedies beneath the surface.
Internet resource(s)
- Five Faces of Contemporary Argentine Cinema from The Culture Trip
Argentinian film production was severely curtailed under the 1970s military junta. More recently, the directors associated with the New Argentine Cinema have propelled the national cinema back into the spotlight. ... - Latin American Studies (Spanish): CinemaJill Baron, the Spanish Language librarian, has put together resources under the Latin America LibGuide.
