Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Irish cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286Irish cinema occupied a marginal status in world cinema until the double Oscar success in 1990 of the Irish feature My Left Foot, the directorial debut of Jim Sheridan.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for a national or regional cinema? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Introduction to Irish cinema
The films of the Lumière brothers were shown in Irish musical halls at the turn of the 20th century, with the first dedicated cinema opening in 1909, and local film production beginning in 1910. The first fiction film with an Irish subject, Irish Wives and English Husbands (1907), was directed by an Englishman, Arthur Melbourne-Cooper: the film’s title points towards the binding connection between the two nations. In the early 1910s, the New York-based Kalem Company made a cycle of films set and filmed in Ireland: these were intended for the large Irish-American audience in the US. The first Irish film company, the Film Company of Ireland (FCOI), was set up by James Mark Sullivan in March 1916: emulating the Kalem films, the FCOI released a number of historical melodramas and comedies based in rural settings. ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Ireland, film in. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 13 May. 2021
Searching the online catalog
You can use the subject heading below to find resources in the online catalog. The call number range is also included. The Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland are 2 distinct political entities, but they do share the island. More information about Northern Ireland is also included on the Northern Ireland page.
- motion pictures irelandCall number range PN 1993.5 .I85 on Baker Level 4.
- motion pictures northern irelandCall number range PN 1993.5 .I85 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
The cinema of Britain and Ireland by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .G7 C56 2005ISBN: 9781904764380A fresh, concise, but wide-ranging introduction and overview to British and Irish cinema, this volume contains 24 essays, each on a separate seminal film from the region. Films ranging from 1928 to 2002 are featured from directors such as John Boorman, Nicolas Roeg, Sally Potter and Jack Clayton. As well as discussions of genre and influences, The Cinema of Britain and Ireland includes in-depth studies of films such as Room at the Top (1958), The Italian Job (1969), The Man Who Fell to Earth (1976), Distant Voices, Still Lives (1988), Orlando (1992), and Sweet Sixteen (2002).
Gaelic games on film: from silent films to Hollywood hurling, horror and the emergence of Irish cinema by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781782052470Gaelic games have repeatedly provided filmmakers and producers with a resonant motif through which they have represented 'perceived' aspects of Irish identity, 'perceived' as this representation has been neither straightforward nor unproblematic: in international productions in particular, Gaelic games have provided on occasion a short hand for regressive stereotypes associated with Irish people, including their alleged propensity for violence. ...
Irish national cinema by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415278959From the international successes of Neil Jordan and Jim Sheridan, to the smaller productions of the new generation of Irish filmmakers, this book explores questions of nationalism, gender identities, the representation of the Troubles and of Irish history as well as cinema's response to the so-called Celtic Tiger and its aftermath. Irish National Cinema argues that in order to understand the unique position of filmmaking in Ireland and the inheritance on which contemporary filmmakers draw, definitions of the Irish culture and identity must take into account the so-called Irish diaspora and engage with its cinema. ...
The story of Irish film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .I85 F69 2005ISBN: 9781856079143From the first jerky reelers screened in 1896 to the opening of Ardmore Studios in 1958 to Section 481's tax breaks, This is a comprehensive account of Ireland's relationship with the big screen.
Selected book titles
Film, media and popular culture in Ireland: cityscapes, landscapes, soundscapes by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .I85 M33 2008ISBN: 9780716529354A collection covering a wide variety of media in Ireland, including broadcasting, film, popular music, radio, and popular culture. Together, these essays map out the role various media have played in the process of 're-imagining Ireland' over the last fifteen years, touching on aspects of Irish cultural identity and the (re)construction of notions of Irishness. The book addresses the more contemporary implications of both the peace process in Northern Ireland and the 'Celtic Tiger' phenomenon in the South. ...
Ireland in focus: film, photography, and popular culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry DA 959 .I68 2009ISBN: 9780815632030From an analysis of the Guinness brand's reflection of Irish identity to an exploration of murals and film portrayals of political prisoners, this pioneering collection of essays seeks to present Ireland's relationship to visual culture as a whole. While other works have explored the imagistic history of Ireland, most have restricted their lens to a single form of visual representation. Ireland in Focus is the first book to address the diverse range of visual representations of national and communal identity in Ireland. ...
Irish and African American cinema: identifying others and performing identities, 1980-2000 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .I85 P73 2007ISBN: 9780791470954How these two cinemas portray complex and changing notions of national and racial identity.
Irish film: the emergence of a contemporary cinema by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .I85 M34 2000ISBN: 9780851707921This is an exploration of the representation of Ireland and the Irish in British and US cinemas, as well as Irish made films. The book offers readings of a wide range of key films such as The Butcher Boy (1998), Patriot Games (1993) and Angela's Ashes (2000). ...
The myth of an Irish cinema: approaching Irish-themed films by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .I85 G55 2008ISBN: 9780815631682For the past seventy years the discipline of film studies has widely invoked the term national cinema. Such a concept suggests a unified identity with distinct cultural narratives. As the current debate over the meaning of nation and nationalism has made thoughtful readers question the term, its application to the field of film studies has become the subject of recent interrogation. In The Myth of an Irish Cinema, Michael Patrick Gillespie presents a groundbreaking challenge to the traditional view of film-making, contesting the existence of an Irish national cinema. ...
Women in the Irish film industry: stories and storytellers by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781782053736Women in Irish Film: Stories and Storytellers is an interdisciplinary collection that critically explores the contribution of women to the Irish film industry as creators of culture - screenwriters, directors, producers, cinematographers, editors, animators, film festival programmers and educators. This book will explore the experiences and reflections of Irish women practitioners and, across a range of chapters, will situate them within a very specific historical, social and cultural context and further position them within a male dominated film industry. ...
Finding journal articles
Our collection does not have journals that cover Irish cinema exclusively. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this national cinema.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie titles
Find more Irish film titles in the library's online catalog.
Breakfast on Pluto by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3369ISBN: 9781404989283As foster kid Patrick 'Kitten' Braden grows up, he leaves behind his small-town life in Ireland for London, where he's reborn as a transvestite cabaret singer in the 1960s and 70s.
Five minutes of heaven by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11065ISBN: 9780788612312In 1975, 17-year-old Irish-Protestant Alistair Little assassinated the 19-year-old Catholic, Jim Griffin in his Ulster home. The murder was witnessed by Joe, Griffin's 11-year-old brother. Thirty years later, Alistair has been rehabilitated and released from prison, while Joe remains traumatized and bitter. When a television talk show decides to bring them together for a live on-air reconciliation, the two must come face-to-face with their own worlds of pain, violence and vengeance.
Once by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #6027A Guy lives in Dublin. He is a guitarist/singer-songwriter who makes a living by fixing vacuum cleaners in his Dad's Hoover repair shop by day. By night, he sings and plays for money on the Dublin streets. A Girl from Czechoslovakia loves to play the piano when she gets a chance. During the day she does odd jobs. At night she takes care of her mom and her daughter. Guy meets Girl, and they get to know each other. Girl helps Guy put together a demo disc so he can take it to London in hope of landing a music contract. At the same time, the Guy and the Girl work through their past loves, and reveal their budding love for one another, through their songs.
Song for a raggy boy by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8035William Franklin arrives at St. Judes, the only lay teacher among a staff of Catholic brothers. He is quick to realise that his teaching methods are opposed to those of the brothers. He succeeds in building a trusting relationship with the boys, which enables him to unlock their hidden talents and open their minds to the beauty of poetry. When two boys are severely beaten it is more than Franklin can bear and he goes head-to-head with the brutal Brother John.
The wind that shakes the barley by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #5850ISBN: 9781594446498Driven by a deep sense of duty and a love for his country, Damien abandons his burgeoning career as a doctor and joins his brother, Teddy in a dangerous and violent fight for freedom in Ireland in 1920. As the Irish freedom fighters' bold tactics bring the British to a breaking point, both sides finally agree to a treaty to end the bloodshed. But, despite the apparent victory, civil war erupts and families who fought side by side find themselves pitted against one another, putting their loyalties to the ultimate test.
Internet resource(s)
- Irish Film Festival in BostonThe Boston Irish Film Festival celebrates and promotes global Irish cinema. ...
- Northern Ireland ScreenNorthern Ireland Screen is the national screen agency for Northern Ireland. They are committed to maximising the economic, cultural and educational value of the screen industries for the benefit of Northern Ireland. This goal is pursued through their mission to accelerate the development of a dynamic and sustainable screen industry and culture in Northern Ireland.
