Reference Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Introduction to Yugoslav and Former Yugoslav Republics cinema
The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes was formed in 1918 (called Yugoslavia from 1929 until 2003). Some Lumière films were shown in Belgrade, Serbia on 6 June 1896; and in the 1910s, Karol Grossman in Slovenia and Milto and Yannakis Manaki in Macedonia/Greece produced a number of short actualities films. The earliest feature-length film made in the region was a Serbian production, Zivot i dela besmrtnog vozda Karadjordja/The Life and Work of the Immortal Leader Karadjordja (Čiča Ilija Stanojević, 1911). During World War II, communist partisans, under the leadership of half-Slovene half-Croat communist Josip Broz—also known as Tito—established a film policy and made a number of anti-Nazi propaganda films. With the formation of the communist Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia in 1946 the film industry was nationalized under the aegis of the National Film Company (DFJ), and film companies were established in Ljubljana, Zagreb, and Belgrade, the latter the site of an archive and film academy from 1949. Slavica (Vjekoslav Afric, 1947), a eulogy to the partisan resistance movement, typified the popular nation-building fare of the postwar period. Around fifteen or so films per year were released in the 1950s and early 1960s. ...
[Source: Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2012). "Yugoslavia, film in." In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 23 Sep. 2020]
Searching the library's collections
For now, the subject heading below covers motion pictures in Yugoslavia as a whole and all of the Former Republics of Yugoslavia (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Macedonia). The subject points to the same books in our collection no matter the republic name you use in the search.
- motion pictures (yugoslavia OR former yugoslav republics)The call number range is PN 1993.5 .Y8 on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
A companion to Eastern European cinemas by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781444337259A Companion to Eastern European Cinemas showcases twenty-five essays written by established and emerging film scholars that trace the history of Eastern European cinemas and offer an up-to-date assessment of post-socialist film cultures. ...
Past for the eyes: East European representations of communism in cinema and museums after 1989 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789639776036How do museums and cinema shape the image of the Communist past in today's Central and Eastern Europe? This volume is the first systematic analysis of how visual techniques are used to understand and put into context the former regimes.
Post-Yugoslav cinema: towards a cosmopolitan imagining by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .Y8 M87 2015ISBN: 9781137520340Drawing primarily on selected filmic texts from former-Yugoslavia, the book examines key social and political events that triggered the Yugoslav wars in the 1990s. Yugoslav politics and society are set within the broader artistic and cinematic strategies that helped stabilise post-Yugoslav territories strategies that were part of the national desire of looking forward to a time of 'perpetual peace' and its subsequent cosmopolitan norms. It argues that filmic texts demonstrate the degree to which nationalism was at the heart of the violent disintegration of Yugoslavia. ...
Selected book title(s)
The cinema makers: public life and the exhibition of difference in south-eastern and central europe since the 1960s by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781783200696The Cinema Makers investigates how cinema spectators in southeastern and central European cities became cinema makers. Drawing on interviews with cinema activists in Germany, Austria and the former Yugoslavia, Anna Schober illuminates the differences and similarities in the development of political culture and cinema's role in that development.
Media discourse and the Yugoslav conflicts representations of self and other by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780754676294In spite of the growing literature on discourse analysis, the relationship of discourse to violent/non-violent outcomes of conflict is an under-researched area. This book combines theories on ethnic conflict, identity construction and discourse analysis with a comprehensive and inclusive survey of the countries of the former Yugoslavia. It presents an understanding of the interrelationship between 'words' and 'deeds' grounded through an extensively close analysis of film, television and newspapers samples taken from the period. This combination of ground-breaking applications of theory with detailed empirical case studies will make Media Discourse and the Yugoslav Conflicts of key interest to scholars across a range of social sciences including sociology, discourse analysis, media, conflict and peace studies as well as those concerned with ethnopolitical conflict.
A portrait of the artist as a political dissident: the life and work of Aleksandar Petrović by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781841505459In the liberal West as in socialist Yugoslavia, the films of Aleksandar Petrovic dramatize how enforced dogmatism can corrode any political system. A case study of the oft-overlooked Yugoslav director's colorful and eventful career, A Portrait of the Artist as a Political Dissident explores how Petrovic developed specific political and social themes in his films. ...
Remembering cold days: the 1942 massacre of Novi Sad and Hungarian politics and society, 1942-1989 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822965459Between three and four thousand civilians, primarily Serbian and Jewish, were murdered in the Novi Sad massacre of 1942. Hungarian soldiers and gendarmes carried out the crime in the city and surrounding areas, in territory Hungary occupied after the German attack on Yugoslavia. The perpetrators believed their acts to be a contribution to a new order in Europe, and as a means to ethnically cleanse the occupied lands. In marked contrast to other massacres, the Horthy regime investigated the incident and tried and convicted the commanding officers in 1943-44. Other trials would follow. During the 1960s, a novel and film telling the story of the massacre sparked the first public open debate about the Hungarian Holocaust. ...
Truth and fiction: notes on (exceptional) faith in art by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780615647104Reflecting upon his experience making his 2010 feature film Mothers, a cinematic triptych interweaving three narratives that are each, in their own way, about the often tenuous lines between truth and fiction, and one of which actually morphs into a documentary about the aftermath in a small Macedonian town where three retired cleaning women were found raped and killed in 2008 and the murderer turned out to be the journalist covering the story for a major Macedonian newspaper, the Oscar-nominated Macedonian-born and New York-based writer-director Milcho Manchevski writes that "Most of us look at films differently or accept stories in a different way if we believe that they are true. We watch a documentary film in a different way from the way we watch a drama. We read a magazine article in a different way from the way in which we read a short story. Sometimes, we even treat a film that employs actors differently than a regular drama because we were told that it is based on something that really happened. We treat these works based on truth or reporting on the truth in different ways."Why? "What is it in our relation to reality or in our relation to what we perceive to be reality that makes us value a work of artifice (an art piece) differently depending on our knowledge or conviction of whether that work of artifice is based on events that really took place?""
Other library resource(s)
Digitalia film library. Former Yugoslav RepublicsCall Number: Streaming video serviceDigitalia Film Library includes a few titles from a couple of the former Yugoslav republics.
Yugoslav and post-Yugoslav cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis bibliographical collection offers a selection of works that reflect both the major historical developments in Yugoslav and Post-Yugoslav Cinema, as well as some of the central themes that have dominated the robust body of scholarly work on this particular cinematic tradition. Yugoslav cinema was in its nascent form in the early parts of the 20th century (in what was then the Kingdom of Yugoslavia) and received its most ambitious development during the socialist period after the end of World War II. Throughout the length of Yugoslavia’s existence, its film industry saw the development of several endemic cinematic styles and trends: from the World War II epics to Yugoslav New Film and its radical strain, the Black Wave, to a rich tradition of socially engaged documentary filmmaking, to Animated Film, to radical avant-garde and neo avant-garde cinema—as discussed in Levi 2012 and Daković 2003 (cited under Yugoslav Experimental and Avant-Garde Cinema)—to late socialism’s cinema, whose emphasis was on the personal as covertly political. ...
Finding scholarly articles and journals for Yugoslav cinema
You can find scholarly literature for Yugoslav film in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
East European film bulletinCall Number: Electronic journalThe East European Film Bulletin is a journalistic and literary project dedicated to the criticism of films related to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe. The project aims to publish articles regarding the films that originate from these regions, films that address them as subject matter or meaningful setting, and international films made by Eastern European directors. ...
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie title(s)
Find more Yugoslav cinema titles in the library's online catalog.
Nevinost bez zaštite: novo izdanje jednog dobrog starog filma = Innocence unprotected by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #9147ISBN: 9781604651959Makavejev uses Dragoljub Aleksić (an acrobat, locksmith, and escape artist) as the center-piece for this look at the history of his country.
No man's land by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #926ISBN: 9780792852421Set during the height of the Bosnian War in 1993, a group of Bosnian soldiers are advancing on Serb territory under the cover of a foggy night. At daybreak, the fog lifts, and the Serbs open fire. Soon there is only one Bosnian survivor because he was able to dive into a trench in no man's land. He then watches as two Serbian soldiers use the body of a fallen Bosnian to bait a land mine. He fires on them, killing one, and taking the second hostage. Now both are alone and equally armed, so they are forced to share a wary trust as they try to attract help from either side.
Internet resource(s)
- 20 Essential Films for an Introduction to Yugoslavian FilmOnce upon a time there was a country, and that country made films. The films produced in the former Yugoslavia, both before and after its violent breakup in the 90s amidst escalating nationalist tensions from within and political stagnation and confusion across the rest of Europe and beyond, remain fascinating for anyone interested in the country or in films. ...