Other library resource(s)
-
African cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286The term “African cinema” generally refers to film production in Sub-Saharan African countries. Compared to the other national cinemas in the world, African cinema can be said to be a recent phenomenon that for many countries within this region only began to materialize after independence in the 1960s. ... -
Dictionary of North African film makers = Dictionnaire des cinéastes du Maghreb byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A35 A76 1996ISBN: 9782950998507
-
Library of African cinema
by
Call Number: Streaming video - there are other formats in the Jones Media CenterFilms from Africa made by Africans offer restorative images and a new film language. The beautiful and sometimes challenging films in this collection not only showcase the works of master filmmakers but also innovative new talents who are embracing video technology. To see Africa through African eyes will break stereotypes and enlighten viewers about life in Africa.
Internet resource(s)
Introduction to Northern African cinema
Morocco, Tunisia, and Algeria, along with Egypt, Libya, and Mauritania, form the Maghreb (meaning ‘west’ in relation to the Middle East). This region is heavily populated, thoroughly modernized, and has established a thriving and relatively independent film culture, with a strong influence from Western Europe, especially France. The countries in the region share a common language, Arabic, and are strongly influenced by Islamic cultural traditions (see arab cinema). Geographical and cultural connections with Sub-Saharan Africa ensure that the cinemas of North Africa also remain tied to wider African cinemas (see africa, film in; sub-saharan africa, film in). ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). North Africa, film in. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 13 May. 2021
Searching the online catalog
North Africa is defined as containing the countries of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt and Western Sahara. You can use the subject headings below to find resources in the online catalog. The call number ranges are also included.
Please note: these are not the only call number ranges, but they contain the majority of items.
-
motion pictures africa northCall number range PN 1993.5 .A35 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
-
motion pictures moroccoCall number range PN 1993.5 .M6 on Baker Stacks Level 4.
-
motion pictures tunisiaCall number range PN 1993.5 .T75 on Baker Stacks Level 4..
-
motion pictures egyptCall number range PN 1993.5 .E3 on Baker Stacks Level 4..
Introductory reading(s)
-
Arab film and video manifestos: forty-five years of the moving imae amid revolution
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A65 D54 2018ISBN: 9783319998008Arab Film and Video Manifestos presents, in their entirety, five key documents that have fundamentally shaken up and helped change the face of image culture in the Middle East and beyond. The book collects together, for the first time, these influential, collectively written calls and directives that span a fifty-year period and hail from a range of different countries. ... -
The cinema of North Africa and the Middle East
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A35 C523 2007ISBN: 9781905674114The Cinema of North Africa and the Middle East contains twenty-four essays, each concerning an individual film from Morocco all the way to Iran. The volume explores not only the established film cultures of Turkey, Egypt, and Israel, but also the nascent cinemas of Palestine and Syria. ... -
Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415187039The Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film is a unique, one volume work which illuminates a fascinating variety of cinema which is little known outside its own area. The Encyclopedia is divided into nine chapters, each written by a leading scholar in the field. Each chapter covers the history and major issues of film within that area, as well as providing bibliographies of the leading films, directors and actors. ... -
Film in the Middle East and North Africa: creative dissidence
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .M53 F55 2011ISBN: 9780292723276This is the first study to cover cinemas from Iran to Morocco. Nine essays present the region's major national cinemas, devoting special attention to the work of directors who have given image and voice to dissent from political regimes, from patriarchal customs, from fundamentalist movements, and from the West. These country essays are complemented by in-depth discussions of eighteen films that have been selected for both their excellence and their critical engagement with pressing current issues.
Selected book titles
-
-
Maghrebs in motion: North African cinema in nine movements
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190262587Exploring films made in Tunisia, Morocco, and Algeria from 1985 to 2009, Suzanne Gauch illustrates how late post-independence and early twenty-first century North African cinema prefigured many of the transformations in perception and relation that stunned both participants and onlookers during the remarkable uprisings of the 2011 Arab Spring. -
Post-Beur cinema: North African émigré and Maghrebi-French filmmaking in France since 2000
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780748640041Since the early 1980s and the arrival of Beur cinema filmmakers of Maghrebi origin have made a key contribution French cinema's representation of issues such as immigration, integration and national identity. However, they have done so mostly from a position on the margins of the industry. In contrast, since the early 2000s, Maghrebi-French and North African émigré filmmakers have occupied an increasingly prominent position on both sides of the camera, announcing their presence on French screens in a wider range of genres and styles than ever before. ... -
Postcolonial images: studies in North African film
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .A35 A76 2005ISBN: 9780253344441Postcolonial Images is a comprehensive introduction to and resource for cinema of the Maghreb. In clear and accessible prose, Roy Armes examines the political and cultural context of the films and the film industry in the post-independence era. Since the birth of cinema, North Africa has been the site of countless European and U.S. film productions. This book, however, focuses on the postcolonial period, when indigenous filmmaking in each of the three Maghreb countries--Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia--arose with the newly independent nations. ... -
Screens and veils: Maghrebi women's cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253356680Examined within their economic, cultural, and political context, the work of women Maghrebi filmmakers forms a cohesive body of work. Florence Martin examines the intersections of nation and gender in seven films, showing how directors turn around the politics of the gaze as they play with the various meanings of the Arabic term hijab (veil, curtain, screen). Martin analyzes these films on their own theoretical terms, developing the notion of "transvergence" to examine how Maghrebi women's cinema is flexible, playful, and transgressive in its themes, aesthetics, narratives, and modes of address. ...
Finding journal articles
You can find many publications which feature articles on North African cinema. Our collection does not have journals that cover North African cinema exclusively. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
-
Film & television literature index
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about North African cinema. -
-
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
The web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Selected movie titles
-
Barakat! = Enough!
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD # 8272The story of two women. Emel is a Westerner whose husband, a journalist, is missing - perhaps kidnapped or even killed. Khadija is an older woman who has lived through the country's decades-long struggle. Together they search for Emel's husband. -
L'enfant endormi
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD # 5336In the northeast of contemporary Morocco a pregnant young wife watches her husband leave the country to go underground the day after their wedding. Time goes by and the husband does not come back. -
Madinat bab el-oued = Bab el-Oued City
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD # 7251ISBN: 9781565805910Bab el-Oued is a working class district of Algiers. A young worker commits an act which puts the entire district in turmoil. -
Miel et cendres
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4465ISBN: 9781892649881Three women in contemporary North African Islamic country are caught between tradition and modernity as they try to take control of their lives. Youngest of the women is twenty-something Leila who's love for Hassan must be kept hidden from her strict father. A successful doctor in her mid' 40's, Naima studied medicine in Moscow where her hopes for settling with her Russian love were crushed by pressure from her family to enter an arranged marriage. Amina suffers from constant abuse by her husband. The lives of the three women weave together in unexpected ways portraying a society where patriarchal authority gets in the way of love, sexual expression and individual freedom. -
Omaret Yakobean = ʻImārat Yaʻqūbiyān = Yacoubian building
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD # 5965We meet the residents of the Yacoubian building and through them learn something about the city of Cairo, albeit the more disturbing side of corruption, fundamentalism, prostitution, sexuality, and drugs. -
Poupées d'argile = Clay dolls
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD # 7591Omrane, 40, a former domestic, feels liberated when he sets up a modest housekeeping business. He transports "maids of all work" in his delivery van from his native village -- renowned for the women's know-how in the arts of Berber pottery -- to the nouveau riche families recently settled in the posh part of town. He vouches for the women's safety and for their salaries to their parents. Rebeh, rebellious and beautiful, is his most exuberant employee. Although submerged by harsh housework, she gets caught on the breeze of freedom and the joys of life and takes off. She remains on Omrane's conscience and he sets out to look for her in the city. He's accompanied by Fedah, 9, one of his new girls who has yet to find a job.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for a national or regional cinema? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.