Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Other library resource(s)
-
Scandinavian film from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286This bibliography covers the cinemas of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. These are usually called the Nordic countries, while Scandinavia is sometimes defined more narrowly, with reference to geography or linguistics. Here, however, Scandinavian and Nordic are used as synonyms. While the Nordic countries certainly share parts of their film histories with each other, there are also notable differences.
Introduction to Scandinavian cinema
This guide includes resources for Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. You can use the subject headings below to find resources in the online catalog. The call number ranges are also included. Please note: these are not the only call number ranges, but they have the majority of items.
"Northern Europe: Political Map." World Geography and Culture Online. Facts On File, Inc. Web. 31 Mar. 2017
Film in Scandinavia
Scandinavia (which, strictly speaking, comprises Sweden, Denmark and Norway but is commonly taken to include the other Nordic countries, Finland and Iceland) played a major role in the early development of cinema, with exchanges of personnel between countries, as well as throughout wider Europe, especially Germany and Russia, being commonplace into the 1920s. Some very old established production companies still survive: for example Nordisk Films Kompagni (Denmark, founded 1906), Svensk Filmindustri (Sweden, founded 1907), and Norway’s Norsk Film, founded in 1935. From the 1930s through the 1950s, all the Scandinavian national cinemas tackled issues surrounding the modernization and urbanization of what were until lately rural societies: these concerns are worked over, for instance, in Finland’s peasant melodramas and in the Swedish rural melodrama. In the 1960s, all the Scandinavian cinemas showed the influence of European new waves, while some (especially those of Denmark and Sweden) gained an international reputation for sexual explicitness (see pornography). The unexportable popular genres of comedy and farce, though showing considerable national differences in style and content, have been consistently popular in their home countries. Cinema is widely regarded in Scandinavia as an art form rather than, or as well as, simple entertainment; and a distinctive element of film production throughout the region has been an aspiration to quality and/or social responsibility, often supported by government funding measures and through national film institutes (these latter being renowned in particular for their support of children’s films). During the 1960s these conditions gave rise to radical social cinemas that challenged censorship institutions, especially around issues of sexual freedom (as in Jörn Donner’s Sixtynine (Finland, 1969) and Mac Ahlberg’s Jeg—en kvinde/I, a Woman (Denmark, 1965)). ...
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Scandinavia, film in. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 30 May. 2021
See also Film in Denmark; Film in Finland; Film in Iceland; Film in Norway or Film in Sweden in A Dictionary of Film Studies.
-
motion pictures scandinaviaThe call number range is PN 1993.5 .S2 located on Baker Level 4.
-
motion pictures denmarkThe call number range is PN 1993.5 .D4 located on Baker Level 4.
-
motion pictures finlandThe call number range is PN 1993.5 .F5 located on Baker Level 4.
-
motion pictures swedenThe call number range is PN 1993.5 .S8 located on Baker Level 4.
-
scandinavia in motion picturesThe call number range is PN 1993.5 .S2 located on Baker Level 4.
-
dogme 95 groupThe call number is PN 1995.9 .E96 located on Baker Level 4.
Introductory reading(s)
-
The cinema of Scandinavia
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .S2 C564 2005ISBN: 9781904764229A new volume in the Twenty-Four Frames series that focuses on twenty-four key films from Scandinavia - Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Finland. Each of these national cinemas is able to boast directors of worldwide renown. This book looks at the impact that film-makers from this region have had on their national cinema and the world of film. This book explores in detail their styles, movements and influences. -
Evaluating the achievement of one hundred years of Scandinavian cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780773411487This collection of twelve articles and one interview probes the historical evolution and cultural diversity of cinema from the Nordic countries: Iceland, Norway, Denmark, Sweden and Finland. The studies variously address cinematic schools and national traditions on one hand or individual films or filmmakers on the other. Cinematic modernism, censorship, and globalization are among the themes explored; the collection also addresses the aesthetic, moral, and social preoccupations of the great northern filmmakers ... -
Nordic explorations: film before 1930
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.75 .N67 1999ISBN: 9781864620559Nordic Explorations: Film before 1930 examines early cinema from Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and Finland. The book includes 20 original essays written for the 1999 retrospective of Nordic cinema at Le Giomate del Cinema Muto in Italy. The anthology brings together some of the leading current research on early cinema in Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden, and includes essays on such major figures in Nordic cinema as Dreyer, Christensen, Sjostrom, and Stiller. ... -
Northern constellations: new readings in Nordic cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .S2 N67 2006ISBN: 9781870041638An anthology of essays on film from Denmark, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.
Selected book titles
-
Beyond Eastern noir: reimagining Russia and Eastern Europe in Nordic cinemas
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474418102Addressing representations of Russia and neighbouring Eastern Europe in post-1989 Nordic cinemas, this ground-breaking book investigates their hitherto overlooked transnational dimension. Departing from the dark stereotypes that characterise much of 'Eastern noir', the book presents Russia and Eastern Europe as imagined spaces depicted with a surprisingly rich, but previously neglected cinematic diversity. ... -
Crime and fantasy in Scandinavia: fiction, film, and social change
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780295988047Scandinavian popular novels and films have flourished in the last thirty years. In Crime and Fantasy in Scandinavia, Andrew Nestingen argues that the growth and visibility of popular culture have been at the heart of the development of heterogeneous 'publics' in Scandinavia, in opposition to the homogenizing influence of the post-World War II welfare state. Novels and films have mobilized readers and viewers, serving as a preeminent site for debates over individualism, collectivity, national homogeneity, gender, and transnational relations. ... -
The politics of nordsploitation: history, industry, audiences
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .S34 K33 2021ISBN: 9781501327339The Politics of Nordsploitation takes a transnational approach to exploring Nordic 'exploitation' films in their industrial contexts, exploring them as not only political manifestations of domestic considerations but also to position Nordic film cultures in a global context. Incorporating a wide range of films, from international cult classics like They Call Her One Eye (1974), homegrown martial arts films like The Ninja Mission (1984) to contemporary crowd-sourced fan productions like Iron Sky (2012), this volume examines the remarkable diversity of genre-based, commercially and culturally exploitative film production throughout the Nordic countries emphasized here through the term 'Nordsploitation'. ...
Finding journal articles
You can find many publications which feature articles on Scandinavian cinema. Our collection does not have journals which cover the Scandinavian countries exclusively. You can use Film & Television Literature Index to find articles or use the search box at the top of the page.
-
Film & television literature index
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about this regional cinema. -
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
The web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Danish Film InstituteThe Danish Film Institute is the national agency for funding and promoting Danish film and cinema culture.
-
Finnish Film FoundationThe Finnish Film Foundation supports Finnish film and ensures its vitality, diversity and accessibility.
-
Icelandic Film CentreThe Icelandic Film Centre is a publicly funded organization that provides funding for Icelandic films, promotes them abroad and nurtures the film culture in Iceland by supporting festivals, seminars, workshops and other networking opportunities for film professionals. ...
-
Swedish Film InstituteThe Swedish Film Institute promotes film from the initial idea to the finished product, during launch in Sweden and around the world, and by preserves films for posterity in their archives.
-
Why Nordic Countries Are the New Hollywood of Europe from Culture TripWith dwindling box office returns and the threat of Chinese cinema looming large on the horizon, has Hollywood overlooked an even greater contender to film-making dominance? Here’s why everyone in the movie business needs to take the Nordics seriously. ... {2/22/2019, Looch}
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for a national or regional cinema? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.